The Big Queen's Park FC Thread

49 minutes ago, Spidersmad said:

Well said. Sums it up perfectly. Can't have the high heid yins getting too close to the community for which they care so much. I got angry when I saw the architects' drawings posted by BYOS. The contrast between the elevated position for the few and the miserable worm's eye view to be enjoyed by the many (?) in a stand which the club can't even build is startling. This whole stadium farce is going to hinder the growth of the club big time, not only with the team's continued peripatetic existence but also in the event of the stadium actually being completed. It can be classed as an act of self sabotage.

Not to mention the East stand has all the worst weather driving into it. Notice the difference in roof projections. 

What’s the saying - absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Utterly ludicrous and out of touch in this day and age to have a “special stand for special people”. All very elitist and just imagine the vitriol directed towards it/them if and when things start going badly for QP.

Just have a wee section in the centre of the main stand with comfy seats like pretty much every other team on the planet.

Our former chairman often stands on the terrace behind the goals with the proles.

15 hours ago, an86 said:

Those questions will become louder when it’s actually been built. The absurdity of it has sort of been lost among the desperation of wanting to see literally anything built.

A huge chunk of one side of a stadium, with limited room for expansion, being set aside so that suits don’t have to sit next to the proles is certainly another belter of an aspect to this utter circus. 

image.png.69f5563a15d2e5d47190c8f443cca58c.png

Good to see they have found room for a Kitchen at the back of the Empero Director's Stand. 

Wouldn't want them going without their half time canapés!!

39 minutes ago, Arachnophile said:

Good to see they have found room for a Kitchen at the back of the Empero Director's Stand. 

If I remember right, I think the talk was about using it as meeting rooms or similar during the week in order to bring money in. It remains to be seen whether that’s an effective money maker in the age of Teams and Zoom, or whether it’s like building a printing press in the age of new media. 

38 minutes ago, Arachnophile said:

More than just a kitchen…with both teams Directors, Executives and our key sponsors/donors it’s pretty much a closed shop. I can only assume that the current themed days will be happening in the Pavillion, hence the major overhaul. But wait, surely this suite will be ideal for functions, weddings etc.? Recurring revenue so we can “stand on our own two feet”. Oddly, this section below was part of the original Design Statement by Arka dated Aug 21. It was superseded in Sep 21 and the only change was the deletion of this clause.

“9.4 The only change will see the hospitality operation within the Directors Stand operating outwith match-days but within the Licensing hours currently established with regard to the stadium i.e. 7 days per week, from 12 noon until 11pm.” Does Kieran know about this?

The designers chosen by our CEO for the West stand aren’t architects, they’re interior designers. They specialise in fit-outs and their earlier projects were mostly in the food and beverage sector. Interior designers don’t understand how to build things, they just know how to make them pretty.    https://www.arka.co/home

One other interesting detail. Arka submitted their planning application in August 21. It was granted on the 6th March 22. A week after the CEO addressed the members and said it was on track for the new season. Really Leeann? I think it’s also a very strong indicator that 10 months have passed with no sign of anything like a building. Once again, the blind are leading the blind. Only the New blind tell porkies too.

image.thumb.png.4eb24e1bbaf1dbf637ffa2f7e76c6fbf.png

30 minutes ago, an86 said:

. It remains to be seen whether that’s an effective money maker in the age of Teams and Zoom, or whether it’s like building a printing press in the age of new media. 

It could and should be; there are many business networking groups in and around the Southside area; groups such as the BNI and Chamber of Commerce always looking for venues that are different. Their attendees in turn are the very ones the club want to sell hospitality and advertisement packages to.  

Additionally, local charities / NFP organisations need venues.     

9 minutes ago, Bring Your Own Socks said:

More than just a kitchen…with both teams Directors, Executives and our key sponsors/donors it’s pretty much a closed shop. I can only assume that the current themed days will be happening in the Pavillion, hence the major overhaul. But wait, surely this suite will be ideal for functions, weddings etc.? Recurring revenue so we can “stand on our own two feet”. Oddly, this section below was part of the original Design Statement by Arka dated Aug 21. It was superseded in Sep 21 and the only change was the deletion of this clause.

“9.4 The only change will see the hospitality operation within the Directors Stand operating outwith match-days but within the Licensing hours currently established with regard to the stadium i.e. 7 days per week, from 12 noon until 11pm.” Does Kieran know about this?

The designers chosen by our CEO for the West stand aren’t architects, they’re interior designers. They specialise in fit-outs and their earlier projects were mostly in the food and beverage sector. Interior designers don’t understand how to build things, they just know how to make them pretty.    https://www.arka.co/home

One other interesting detail. Arka submitted their planning application in August 21. It was granted on the 6th March 22. A week after the CEO addressed the members and said it was on track for the new season. Really Leeann? I think it’s also a very strong indicator that 10 months have passed with no sign of anything like a building. Once again, the blind are leading the blind. Only the New blind tell porkies too.

image.thumb.png.4eb24e1bbaf1dbf637ffa2f7e76c6fbf.png

I don’t understand, surely they understand the difference between an interior designer and an architect? 

I wonder if any thought has been or is being given to levelling the JB McAlpine to make more use of space. The fact that hospitality has been allowed to open for some considerable time and it’s been left on the back burner makes me wonder if that was ever part of the consideration. Perhaps it’s a health and safety issue with the surrounding works? Feels like it could feasibly have been used, though. Just musing rather than having actually heard anything to that effect.

Not sure how big a stand we could get round that end or whether a social club/offices could be incorporated into it. If we knew what we know now a decade ago, I doubt we’d have built what we built in the location we did, but such is life. Still, as long as the directors stand is up and running before any social space for paying punters, then that’s all that really matters. 

3 hours ago, an86 said:

I wonder if any thought has been or is being given to levelling the JB McAlpine to make more use of space. The fact that hospitality has been allowed to open for some considerable time and it’s been left on the back burner makes me wonder if that was ever part of the consideration. Perhaps it’s a health and safety issue with the surrounding works? Feels like it could feasibly have been used, though. Just musing rather than having actually heard anything to that effect.

Not sure how big a stand we could get round that end or whether a social club/offices could be incorporated into it. If we knew what we know now a decade ago, I doubt we’d have built what we built in the location we did, but such is life. Still, as long as the directors stand is up and running before any social space for paying punters, then that’s all that really matters. 

Just spread the word it was originally 14 freeholds on the Clincart estate and it’ll be gone in a week.

3 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

I don’t understand, surely they understand the difference between an interior designer and an architect? 

We have both. The original, for all sides of the stadium, was Holmes Miller. HM have a portfolio of testimonials way beyond Lesser. They were too rich for us in the first place. And as a top player they are also very contract savvy and used to swimming with sharks. If that wasn’t challenging enough, they decided to employ Gleeds as Project Manager who are the Great White of the building industry (other than London developers of course). So after the first contract collapsed and cost us a fortune at arbitration,  they decided it would be much easier to have two design teams. HM are still employed to build the south and east stands and associated works and Arka were introduced for the West. There was some logic in this at the time as the Clubhouse was essentially a refit. And then somebody said let’s scrap the Home stand with 950 seats and build a new social club for Members of the Lords and Knights of the Realm. And let’s not rush it so we can continue to torment Riff Raff. 

Here’s HM’s proposal for one of the new stadia in Qatar. In the end they lost out to a competitor but you can see how their designers think. They also just refurbed Meadowbank at a cost of £47m. Our original contract was let at £1.5m It’s like buying a Rolls Royce to go for the messages.

image.jpeg.a984a013d2f4ed1fade8493cba405fb0.jpeg

12 minutes ago, Scotty Tunbridge said:

Michael Doyle any cop?

Won’t get a more committed player. Good pro, who’ll give everything. Good enough to play consistently in the Champ? Not sure.

21 minutes ago, Scotty Tunbridge said:

Michael Doyle any cop?

Loads of effort, seems like a great character in the dressing room but don’t think he’s championship quality tbh. Others may of been surprised he was released but i personally wasn’t. He’s not the greatest on the ball and his crossing is fairly erratic. I actually think he‘d have a longer career in full time football if he’s utilised at centre back more instead of right back. 

Edited by qpfc

1 hour ago, Bring Your Own Socks said:

We have both. The original, for all sides of the stadium, was Holmes Miller. HM have a portfolio of testimonials way beyond Lesser. They were too rich for us in the first place. And as a top player they are also very contract savvy and used to swimming with sharks. If that wasn’t challenging enough, they decided to employ Gleeds as Project Manager who are the Great White of the building industry (other than London developers of course). So after the first contract collapsed and cost us a fortune at arbitration,  they decided it would be much easier to have two design teams. HM are still employed to build the south and east stands and associated works and Arka were introduced for the West. There was some logic in this at the time as the Clubhouse was essentially a refit. And then somebody said let’s scrap the Home stand with 950 seats and build a new social club for Members of the Lords and Knights of the Realm. And let’s not rush it so we can continue to torment Riff Raff. 

Here’s HM’s proposal for one of the new stadia in Qatar. In the end they lost out to a competitor but you can see how their designers think. They also just refurbed Meadowbank at a cost of £47m. Our original contract was let at £1.5m It’s like buying a Rolls Royce to go for the messages.

image.jpeg.a984a013d2f4ed1fade8493cba405fb0.jpeg

For anyone on LinkedIn it’s not difficult to find some of the other companies involved in the build (civils, electrics and the pitch)

Jack Thomson signs a new deal until 2025. Definitely a player there but admittedly surprised at the contract length. Be interesting to see how he does with a full season under Coyle cause they must rate him very highly