Update On Hoose Rice

1 minute ago, TxRover said:

YW, and your perseverance and insight make me think my situation, which is nothing on yours, is something I CAN handle, even when it seems a steep slope ahead.

You ever need a chat mate you know where I am.  

48 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Thanks Johnny.  Still have the Intense home treatment guys coming every couple of days and although that is coming to an end it has helped.

What I was discussing today was my complete irrational dislike and jealousy of people being happy be it the children down the stairs playing on the trampoline and missing my kids to folk having parties in the garden, really upsets me and I never used to be like that.  Used to be happy for people being happy.  It isnt me.  Even on the phone to the Universal Credit people yesterday shouting down the phone to them because they haven't heard back from my work so cancelled a top up/sick pay payment until they hear back from them was shouting that isnt my fault and was dependent on that money until my payday next week asking to speak to managers etc - I feel like a different person ready to snap at times, on the phone I always put myself in the person speaking to positions but just lost it and broke down.   its actual radge and they where kind enough to refer a foodbank and wasnt the persons fault but genuinely at times felt on call it wasn't me then felt crap for a couple hours when  I calmed down for the shit I gave them.

If there is any UC experts out there is this correct?  Despite my wage slip and doctor note confirming my wage and circumstances they can stop payment until employment actually confirm it 3 days before confirmed payment leaving people dependent rooked?  They said it will be backdated but not really the point.  Sorry for the random rant.

Hoosey/Ricey/Hoose Rice, I get, in a way, what you mean. There are certain songs I can't hear any longer because they remind me too much of a time when I was happy. It's too painful to hear them and realise what I lost. Obviously not the same, and obviously things differ from person to person, but I get where you're coming from. It's a process and will take time.

Have you considered speaking to your GP about medication? I hated the idea for years, but then did it (fluoextine) and it made a difference. 

2 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Thanks Johnny.  Still have the Intense home treatment guys coming every couple of days and although that is coming to an end it has helped.

What I was discussing today was my complete irrational dislike and jealousy of people being happy be it the children down the stairs playing on the trampoline and missing my kids to folk having parties in the garden, really upsets me and I never used to be like that.  Used to be happy for people being happy.  It isnt me.  Even on the phone to the Universal Credit people yesterday shouting down the phone to them because they haven't heard back from my work so cancelled a top up/sick pay payment until they hear back from them was shouting that isnt my fault and was dependent on that money until my payday next week asking to speak to managers etc - I feel like a different person ready to snap at times, on the phone I always put myself in the person speaking to positions but just lost it and broke down.   its actual radge and they where kind enough to refer a foodbank and wasnt the persons fault but genuinely at times felt on call it wasn't me then felt crap for a couple hours when  I calmed down for the shit I gave them.

If there is any UC experts out there is this correct?  Despite my wage slip and doctor note confirming my wage and circumstances they can stop payment until employment actually confirm it 3 days before confirmed payment leaving people dependent rooked?  They said it will be backdated but not really the point.  Sorry for the random rant.

@Day of the Lords I might be talking nonsense, but can you give Hoose advice here?

1 hour ago, DA Baracus said:

Hoosey/Ricey/Hoose Rice, I get, in a way, what you mean. There are certain songs I can't hear any longer because they remind me too much of a time when I was happy. It's too painful to hear them and realise what I lost. Obviously not the same, and obviously things differ from person to person, but I get where you're coming from. It's a process and will take time.

Have you considered speaking to your GP about medication? I hated the idea for years, but then did it (fluoextine) and it made a difference. 

Yeah I get that 100%.  And its not the same but just as painful.  Its why I listen to podcasts - cant even bare the Alexa voice as it reminds me of putting songs on for the kids or my 2 year old shouting Lexa play glory glory to the hibees :lol: 

Im on meds mate but just one just now for anxiety and sleep they dont want to lumber me with much since my suicide bid (s).   

14 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Yeah I get that 100%.  And its not the same but just as painful.  Its why I listen to podcasts - cant even bare the Alexa voice as it reminds me of putting songs on for the kids or my 2 year old shouting Lexa play glory glory to the hibees :lol: 

Im on meds mate but just one just now for anxiety and sleep they dont want to lumber me with much since my suicide bid (s).   

Aye, it's things that 'trigger' memories/emotions, even if they're 'historic'. It's hard to partition your emotions and your memories to avoid being hurt, but it can be necessary and can work. The trick of course is working back from that, but that's a process and there isn't a timescale on that. It is possible too.

Meds are tricky. Some work for some things, some don't for other things. Takes a while to tell what works for what too. Good that what you're on seems to be doing good.

Glad you can have a laugh on here with folk in general. Seen your posts acorss a few threads and it's sound to be able to just discuss things and have some banter about football. This site is good for that.

7 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Aye, it's things that 'trigger' memories/emotions, even if they're 'historic'. It's hard to partition your emotions and your memories to avoid being hurt, but it can be necessary and can work. The trick of course is working back from that, but that's a process and there isn't a timescale on that. It is possible too.

Meds are tricky. Some work for some things, some don't for other things. Takes a while to tell what works for what too. Good that what you're on seems to be doing good.

Glad you can have a laugh on here with folk in general. Seen your posts acorss a few threads and it's sound to be able to just discuss things and have some banter about football. This site is good for that.

Yeah.  Exactly.  

Aye this place and my team being utter gang and taking it in a humerous way has helped massively.  Cheers Hibs :lol: 

3 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

1 hour ago, Moomintroll said:

@Day of the Lords I might be talking nonsense, but can you give Hoose advice here?

That sounds to be like they're waiting on RTI (Real Time Information) to confirm your earnings. Basically whatever earning your employer reports to HMRC through the PAYE system are picked up electronically by UC and used to calculate your entitlement. 

Re the wage slip - if you've posted them a copy recently they probably won't have it yet - it takes roughly 10 working days for mail to work it's way through the DWP sorting centre at Wolverhampton. If you've uploaded it to your journal it seems a bit arsey that they aren't accepting it as evidence of earnings. 

The Doctor's note doesn't affect the payment as such, it's just part of the WCA (Work Capability Assessment process) - basically you keep submitting fit notes until your assessed and grouped.

Your UC is basically worked out as (obvs i don't fully know your circs but...)

• £334.91 Standard single Person Allowance (assuming you're over 25)
  • Your housing costs (dependent on type of let, local authority area etc) 

From this they will deduct:

• earnings at a 55% taper rate (so if you get £1000 a month in wages, the will use £550 as income)
  • any unearned income £ for £ (eg contributions based benefits, SSP etc) 

Whatever's left is your monthly UC payment (things are calculated differently if you've been through the WCA process and awarded either Limited Capability for Work, or Limited Capability for Work Related Activity). 

2 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

That sounds to be like they're waiting on RTI (Real Time Information) to confirm your earnings. Basically whatever earning your employer reports to HMRC through the PAYE system are picked up electronically by UC and used to calculate your entitlement. 

Re the wage slip - if you've posted them a copy recently they probably won't have it yet - it takes roughly 10 working days for mail to work it's way through the DWP sorting centre at Wolverhampton. If you've uploaded it to your journal it seems a bit arsey that they aren't accepting it as evidence of earnings. 

The Doctor's note doesn't affect the payment as such, it's just part of the WCA (Work Capability Assessment process) - basically you keep submitting fit notes until your assessed and grouped.

• earnings at a 55% taper rate (so if you get £1000 a month in wages, the will use £550 as income)

Whatever's left is your monthly UC payment (things are calculated differently if you've been through the WCA process and awarded either Limited Capability for Work, or Limited Capability for Work Related Activity). 

Cheers mate.  They gave me a decision based on information given and just took it away i put in a query or something they sad they would contact the inland revenue but then got back saying my work hasn't replied and i have to be patient maybe apply for a crisis grant and nothing they can do with advance because im still fully employed but long term leave?  Seems unfair they can send a journal thing saying money will be there, budget for it for them to say sorry until my work get back.  I work for a massive company/college/uni too. im not going to call and chase it when it takes all my mental ability to empty my bin only when its pitch black at night to avoid everyone.   

On here weirdly seem like my friends/family and I trust here and although out of reality probably its my wee world just now - I know that wont make any sense at all but it helps me. 

1 minute ago, Day of the Lords said:

If you've not already done so, here's a link to Edinburgh City's Welfare Rights service (looks like they can assist with UC) - assuming of course you live in Edinburgh 😂

Embra WR Service

Even the UC Woman thats on my case is from Dundee and not local. 

2 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Cheers mate.  They gave me a decision based on information given and just took it away i put in a query or something they sad they would contact the inland revenue but then got back saying my work hasn't replied and i have to be patient maybe apply for a crisis grant and nothing they can do with advance because im still fully employed but long term leave?  Seems unfair they can send a journal thing saying money will be there, budget for it for them to say sorry until my work get back.  I work for a massive company/college/uni too. im not going to call and chase it when it takes all my mental ability to empty my bin only when its pitch black at night to avoid everyone.   

On here weirdly seem like my friends/family and I trust here and although out of reality probably its my wee world just now - I know that wont make any sense at all but it helps me. 

RTI is all well and good in theory but a pile of shite if the employer isn't on the ball. Only thing i can suggest is an email to your HR dept at work when you feel up to it to chase it along, maybe also put a note on your journal stating it's for your Case Manager, state you're in severe hardship and ask if you can upload your payslip until RTI is sorted out. 

This kind of pain in the arse might be something your local Welfare Rights team can help out with, give them a try if you feel up to it mate. 

Just now, Hoose Rice said:

Even the UC Woman thats on my case is from Dundee and not local. 

Yeah there's a UC call centre there. Most of our phone queries to UC are picked up there. 

Hoose Rice, great that you're back contributing on here.  I understand you're not back to your pre-issues situation, but keep attending the P & B surgery on the site, like the rest of us, and take all the positives from the good people of this parish and the positive advice given.

Stay strong brother and call on those who have made themselves available to you any time you feel you need to.  We're all here for you  👍

1 minute ago, Day of the Lords said:

RTI is all well and good in theory but a pile of shite if the employer isn't on the ball. Only thing i can suggest is an email to your HR dept at work when you feel up to it to chase it along, maybe also put a note on your journal stating it's for your Case Manager, state you're in severe hardship and ask if you can upload your payslip until RTI is sorted out. 

This kind of pain in the arse might be something your local Welfare Rights team can help out with, give them a try if you feel up to it mate. 

Yeah there's a UC call centre there. Most of our phone queries to UC are picked up there. 

My HR guys where the ones that sent the letter saying I had to contact the UC.  Granted after the last wee while it was the last thing on my mind but you would think after the letter they sent saying work based or some kind of sick pay was ending that they would hopefully be on the ball. I tried that with my case manager mate she called me and said there’s nothing they can do until my work reply to them and to contact for a crisis grant and that’s the woman from Dundee.  Seems shite that they put a stop to my award because my work hasn’t got back because they now have to investigate instead of investigating then stopping any future pay if it was incorrect of which it isn’t.  

2 minutes ago, hearthammer said:

Hoose Rice, great that you're back contributing on here.  I understand you're not back to your pre-issues situation, but keep attending the P & B surgery on the site, like the rest of us, and take all the positives from the good people of this parish and the positive advice given.

Stay strong brother and call on those who have made themselves available to you any time you feel you need to.  We're all here for you  👍

Thanks mate.  Like I said in my post above it might not be complete reality but in genuinely feel people are friends on here because of what’s happened and opening up to this thread really does help a lot in general stuff I can’t do yet in person.   Really really appreciated and it might be the saddest thing for someone to read me being like that but it makes sense to me at the moment so thank you. 

1 minute ago, Hoose Rice said:

My HR guys where the ones that sent the letter saying I had to contact the UC.  Granted after the last wee while it was the last thing on my mind but you would think after the letter they sent saying work based or some kind of sick pay was ending that they would hopefully be on the ball. I tried that with my case manager mate she called me and said there’s nothing they can do until my work reply to them and to contact for a crisis grant and that’s the woman from Dundee.  Seems shite that they put a stop to my award because my work hasn’t got back because they now have to investigate instead of investigating then stopping any future pay if it was incorrect of which it isn’t.  

Aye it's a strange one, usually they would just pay out then generate an overpayment if your earnings were way more than expected. 

I would honestly try to get help to navigate this clusterfuck mate. The likes of CAB and WR services are generally pretty good at escalating queries for stuff like this. I know contacting folk you don't know for help will be pretty daunting, but it could make a massive difference. 

10 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

Aye it's a strange one, usually they would just pay out then generate an overpayment if your earnings were way more than expected. 

I would honestly try to get help to navigate this clusterfuck mate. The likes of CAB and WR services are generally pretty good at escalating queries for stuff like this. I know contacting folk you don't know for help will be pretty daunting, but it could make a massive difference. 

Ok will try Monday morning.  The woman I spoke to said it will be backdated regardless but can’t assure when I’ll be paid it.  I get my actual wage end of next week regardless and have a little help from good people so hopefully won’t struggle until then :) thanks very much though. 

1 minute ago, Hoose Rice said:

Ok will try Monday morning.  The woman I spoke to said it will be backdated regardless but can’t assure when I’ll be paid it.  I get my actual wage end of next week regardless and have a little help from good people so hopefully won’t struggle until then :) thanks very much though. 

No probs man. 

ATB

14 hours ago, Day of the Lords said:

Thanks for helping, m9.

On 22/07/2022 at 18:54, Hoose Rice said:

Thanks again for all your worry, help and hope on here again by the way.

I'm 100% legit when saying you don't know how much it means and has helped and also 100% when saying if it wasn't for this wonderful forum I wouldn't be here any longer.

x

As much as this website has played it’s part in helping you, don’t forget that everything that you have overcome/achieved in the past few months has been because of you.

It’s good to see you posting regularly on here again, and please remember that no matter how you are feeling at any given time, those feelings will pass. That goes for the highs as well as the lows, nothing is permanent in life, and being able to accept these ups and downs without judgement or reaction will stand you in good stead for the future. 

Edit - I’ve just caught up with the rest of the thread. Fair play to some of the guys on this site going above and beyond, and giving genuinely helpful advice to someone they will more than likely never meet. I’ve never used this forum as anything other than a source for my own entertainment at times, but it’s good to see that when a serious matter arises that there is characters on here that are willing to help. 

Edited by IrishBhoy