Update On Hoose Rice

49 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Can’t stop crying today.  No way to even explain it, just so sad and upset and wish I didn’t feel the way I do.  Can’t sleep panic attacks and been sick.  Any tips on how to get through a day like this would be appreciated.

ta.

The explanation is it's an illness and through everything that's happened to you your body chemistry is all to f**k. It's not a failing on your part or anything weird or unusual. You are ill.

The good news is like the vast majority of illnesses the symptoms will pass and you'll feel better again. 

If you are having panic attacks and being sick you can go to A&E. A lot of stuff about mental health seems to be about self care but you are allowed to seek immediate help too.

Look up EFT Tapping videos on YouTube. It sounds nuts but it helped me with anxiety attacks and is used with people with PTSD. 

Edited by invergowrie arab

17 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

The explanation is it's an illness and through everything that's happened to you your body chemistry is all to f**k. It's not a failing on your part or anything weird or unusual. You are ill.

The good news is like the vast majority of illnesses the symptoms will pass and you'll feel better again. 

If you are having panic attacks and being sick you can go to A&E. A lot of stuff about mental health seems to be about self care but you are allowed to seek immediate help too.

Look up EFT Tapping videos on YouTube. It sounds nuts but it helped me with anxiety attacks and is used with people with PTSD. 

Thanks mate, that's actually helping just now. 

Today is a disaster man.  My wee ones birthday that I've not spoken to let alone spent the day with, it's couple by the family down the stairs having a birthday party for the wee guy with a bbq in the garden :lol: if anyone- is in South Edinburgh and fanices a broken 46 tv it will be in my garden thrown through the window by around 22:00 tonight. 

I didn't even want to get up today get kept trying to sleep but had to eventually for medication reasons. 

Edited by Hoose Rice

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

Thanks mate, that's actually helping just now. 

Today is a disaster man.  My wee ones birthday that I've not spoken to let alone spent the day with, it's couple by the family down the stairs having a birthday party for the wee guy with a bbq in the garden :lol: if anyone- is in South Edinburgh and fanices a broken 46 tv it will be in my garden thrown through the window by around 22:00 tonight. 

I didn't even want to get up today get kept trying to sleep but had to eventually for medication reasons. 

It takes time for the medication to settle in and do what it does, I have had a few episodes when being prescribed different meds & it is bloody horrible but you will get through it & better times are coming. KTF Hoose, you're getting there.

12 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

It takes time for the medication to settle in and do what it does, I have had a few episodes when being prescribed different meds & it is bloody horrible but you will get through it & better times are coming. KTF Hoose, you're getting there.

Thanks mate.  Today is the equivalent to Hibs being relegated for me.  If not worse.  Hopefully I wake up tomorrow, know I've been not only shat on for years but to treat it as a new beginning. 

7 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Thanks mate.  Today is the equivalent to Hibs being relegated for me.  If not worse.  Hopefully I wake up tomorrow, know I've been not only shat on for years but to treat it as a new beginning. 

It might not happen tomorrow, I hope it does but, if not, that day is coming soon. Just keep on keeping on 'til it does.

Hoose, my internet friend, as many know on here I’ve been through a wee bit in my time.
The fact you are still posting on here should let you know a couple of things,
a) you’re still posting = you haven’t HAVE NOT given up!
b) you know you’re going to get healthy replies and advice here
c) if people are inviting you to pm them (myself included 100%) then contact them. Biggest mistakes I ever made in recovery were not contacting people, not calling people, not texting people, not emailing people, not pming people.
This is not like the “pish” you get at a funeral “I’ll be in touch/call you”, these are people with a genuine “fellowships” willing to listen.

Biggest step I’ve made this time is calling at least one contact I have (mostly recovery folk) every night and not one has refused my call- they give you “permission” to contact them for a reason.

Even if all you think you’re doing is burdening others it, 99+% of the time is helping them too!

PM Me anytime ( damn phone at is short at alerts, but I will reply)

7 hours ago, Raidernation said:

Hoose, my internet friend, as many know on here I’ve been through a wee bit in my time.
The fact you are still posting on here should let you know a couple of things,
a) you’re still posting = you haven’t HAVE NOT given up!
b) you know you’re going to get healthy replies and advice here
c) if people are inviting you to pm them (myself included 100%) then contact them. Biggest mistakes I ever made in recovery were not contacting people, not calling people, not texting people, not emailing people, not pming people.
This is not like the “pish” you get at a funeral “I’ll be in touch/call you”, these are people with a genuine “fellowships” willing to listen.

Biggest step I’ve made this time is calling at least one contact I have (mostly recovery folk) every night and not one has refused my call- they give you “permission” to contact them for a reason.

Even if all you think you’re doing is burdening others it, 99+% of the time is helping them too!

PM Me anytime ( damn phone at is short at alerts, but I will reply)

I’ll pm you tomorrow mate thanks I’m back in the hospital just now kicking about waiting to be told I’m okay again 😂🙈

29 minutes ago, ParsJake said:

Raidernation has absolutely nailed it HR, but if you're feeling like Hibs have been relegated then I bring you this...

Hibs fan selling badges of iconic four-armed fan for charity - Edinburgh  Live

General Kenobi... You ARE a bold one.

22 hours ago, RH33 said:

Yes. I'll not jade you with my opinion.

Went okay today but I do feel it's the same questions just different people saying I need to take my mind off stuff by doing activities, it's hard as though when it's gotten so bad I even empty my bin at night I don't want to the leave the house.

Anyone any suggestions for a non TV/Laptop pass time in the flat? I'm thinking of something like go fresh or something when I finally get paid next week (woohoo).

Been an amazingly tough month or so but this place has helped me get through really dark times.  There really are amazing people on here.  

13 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Went okay today but I do feel it's the same questions just different people saying I need to take my mind off stuff by doing activities, it's hard as though when it's gotten so bad I even empty my bin at night I don't want to the leave the house.

Anyone any suggestions for a non TV/Laptop pass time in the flat? I'm thinking of something like go fresh or something when I finally get paid next week (woohoo).

Been an amazingly tough month or so but this place has helped me get through really dark times.  There really are amazing people on here.  

I quite like reading travel books, especially about people going to places I don't expect to go to - where I would not know the language, it is too hot or too cold or there are other difficulties.  I can read the book in the comfort of my own home regardless of what discomfort they had to endure.  It makes me feel warm and cosy.

Actually it doesn't have to be a travel book.  There are lots of other books that can achieve the same goal.

Just an idea.

20 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Re-watch the 2016 Cup final over and over again. 

The best final ever. The East Fife family were shitting themselves that the Ibrox mob were going to be the second lower division side to lift the trophy. 

40 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Go out the house and into the garden do some weeding. See all the small creatures. Get in touch with nature.