Dog Kills Man

6 hours ago, alta-pete said:

Hmmm, okay….but you didn’t answer my question.

Why would you want dogs that behave like that? 

Akitas are quirky and stubborn,  to the point of extreme hilarity  , but with a guiding hand they're great dogs . They're generally healthy and good in a domestic environment.  They're also pretty low energy and rarely bark . With a decent lifespan  , 10 to 12 years , what's not to like . My akita is absolutely brilliant with people , including strangers , and is more careful around old people for some reason.  

She's my fourth akita since 97 and three of the four have all been the same , to slightly varying degrees. 

If you've never experienced an akita you won't understand the dominance "thing" . It doesn't always manifest as aggression but it's not to be tested . As an add on , I've introduced dogs to all of them , under the right conditions and they've accepted them to the extent that I used to holiday-sit my friends Siberian Husky and they all slept and ate together.  They're not maniacs  , akitas , just don't poke them with a stick . 

The caucasian shepherd.  Well , I first came across the breed about six years ago. My friend had got one despite  , at the time , being in the market for a Tibetan Mastiff. I saw his , did a bit of research into the breed , then decided to get one . 

I'd had four akitas and as you've probably guessed  , those lifespans would overlap and more often than not  , I'd have two akitas at any given time . You'll appreciate the joy of dog ownership but having two akitas also added an element of safety . 17 years of that 26 of akita ownership was spent living in Edinburgh and I could list , well into double figures  , the amount of times it was "fortunate " I had two akitas when faced with run ins with pit bulls , staffies,  rottweilers  , English mastiffs etc . 

Recently  , as in the last twenty years, but only as recently as five years ago in the UK , we've been swamped by the American Bully and the American Bulldog  , as legal and more lethal alternatives to the banned American Pit Bull Terrier. 

These dogs , to me , are now encroaching on the size division that akitas are in (large breeds) and the prospect of facing them  , instead of say rottweilers , on the walk , fills me with dread . I just want to walk my dog(s) in peace and not to be intimidated by twats with 8st penis extensions that have neither the skeletal structure or respiratory system to support their savagery  , adding to their frustrated madness. 

So , I looked at livestock guardians. The 11st repellent to the 8st problem  , like the 7 & 1/2 stone Akita is the solution to the 5st pit bull problem. Three in particular stood out . The Kangal  , the Central Asian Shepherd (Alabai) and the Caucasian Shepherd. These dogs are bred to to deal with the apex of the canine world , the wolf . They're also very pack orientated  , as you'd expect  , so protection training is a waste of money . It's in their DNA (which is a story for another time 🤣

At the time , there was only one kangal breeder in Britain (who had a waiting list) , one Alabai breeder (an even longer waiting list) and two caucasian shepherd breeders (neither reputable enough) . So I imported my dog from Romania after months of negotiations for purchase and travel arrangements  , it wasn't an off the cuff decision or on a whim , so to speak. A lot of serious thought was put into it and we , Mrs Dugbhoy and I,  decided that it wasn't a bad idea . 

Ultimately  , it boils down to this . We enjoy dogs but they serve a variety of purposes for us . Some guard  , some guide and some are just there for the giggles  . 

I own the dogs I do because I know I'm safe when I take them out and I know they're coming home ....

..will you be taking your Lab home if he runs into an American Bulldog  , a raging American Bulldog , when he's/she's off leash at the park ?

I don't think so . 

(My apologies for the length of this nonsense  , but you did ask 😏)

👍

5 hours ago, Dugbhoy said:

Akitas are quirky and stubborn,  to the point of extreme hilarity  , but with a guiding hand they're great dogs . They're generally healthy and good in a domestic environment.  They're also pretty low energy and rarely bark . With a decent lifespan  , 10 to 12 years , what's not to like . My akita is absolutely brilliant with people , including strangers , and is more careful around old people for some reason.  

She's my fourth akita since 97 and three of the four have all been the same , to slightly varying degrees. 

If you've never experienced an akita you won't understand the dominance "thing" . It doesn't always manifest as aggression but it's not to be tested . As an add on , I've introduced dogs to all of them , under the right conditions and they've accepted them to the extent that I used to holiday-sit my friends Siberian Husky and they all slept and ate together.  They're not maniacs  , akitas , just don't poke them with a stick . 

The caucasian shepherd.  Well , I first came across the breed about six years ago. My friend had got one despite  , at the time , being in the market for a Tibetan Mastiff. I saw his , did a bit of research into the breed , then decided to get one . 

I'd had four akitas and as you've probably guessed  , those lifespans would overlap and more often than not  , I'd have two akitas at any given time . You'll appreciate the joy of dog ownership but having two akitas also added an element of safety . 17 years of that 26 of akita ownership was spent living in Edinburgh and I could list , well into double figures  , the amount of times it was "fortunate " I had two akitas when faced with run ins with pit bulls , staffies,  rottweilers  , English mastiffs etc . 

Recently  , as in the last twenty years, but only as recently as five years ago in the UK , we've been swamped by the American Bully and the American Bulldog  , as legal and more lethal alternatives to the banned American Pit Bull Terrier. 

These dogs , to me , are now encroaching on the size division that akitas are in (large breeds) and the prospect of facing them  , instead of say rottweilers , on the walk , fills me with dread . I just want to walk my dog(s) in peace and not to be intimidated by twats with 8st penis extensions that have neither the skeletal structure or respiratory system to support their savagery  , adding to their frustrated madness. 

So , I looked at livestock guardians. The 11st repellent to the 8st problem  , like the 7 & 1/2 stone Akita is the solution to the 5st pit bull problem. Three in particular stood out . The Kangal  , the Central Asian Shepherd (Alabai) and the Caucasian Shepherd. These dogs are bred to to deal with the apex of the canine world , the wolf . They're also very pack orientated  , as you'd expect  , so protection training is a waste of money . It's in their DNA (which is a story for another time 🤣

At the time , there was only one kangal breeder in Britain (who had a waiting list) , one Alabai breeder (an even longer waiting list) and two caucasian shepherd breeders (neither reputable enough) . So I imported my dog from Romania after months of negotiations for purchase and travel arrangements  , it wasn't an off the cuff decision or on a whim , so to speak. A lot of serious thought was put into it and we , Mrs Dugbhoy and I,  decided that it wasn't a bad idea . 

Ultimately  , it boils down to this . We enjoy dogs but they serve a variety of purposes for us . Some guard  , some guide and some are just there for the giggles  . 

I own the dogs I do because I know I'm safe when I take them out and I know they're coming home ....

..will you be taking your Lab home if he runs into an American Bulldog  , a raging American Bulldog , when he's/she's off leash at the park ?

I don't think so . 

(My apologies for the length of this nonsense  , but you did ask 😏)

👍

What a load of shite. Outdugging the neds!

🤣 

The responses , as expected  , are the homeopathic disdain I'm used to . It's quite comforting  , to be honest . 

I picked up my phone before I came on here , to find my news feed telling me the police have acquired north of a dozen XL Bullys  , in Manchester  , after a man was mauled to death by one of them .  Can you imagine the carnage if that animal had got off property  ?  

Just killed a human with no consequences  ? 

Now imagine that it's got onto your street  , as you return home from your walk with your Springer spaniel  . It clocks your dog . It descends on your dog , what are you going to do  ? 

Seriously  , what are you going to do  ? 

You're going to witness your dog being mauled . That's the unfortunate truth .  It's also a truth that's appearing almost weekly in the UK media. 

I've taken a precautionary approach to this problem (you buy a burglar alarm to prevent burglars  , right ?) and chosen my dog appropriately.  I was asked why I chose a "dog like this " and gave an honest answer.  I didnt appear like a Charlie big potatoes  , blowing off nonsense. 

The event reported in the media earlier about the XL Bullys , only confirms further that the choices I've made concerning my dogs is correct for my situation  . 

If one of these horrible effers gets loose , im safer than 99% of dog owners , although I recognize that doesn't mean I'm 100% safe  , maths n that .

So , in a nutshell  , I'd rather be an outdugging potential Daily Record headline with alive pets than whatever the alternative is. 

You mourn your pet , I'll feed , walk n groom mine , thank you very much 👍

(Remember , we all own dogs for different reasons  . Guide dogs  , guard dogs and shits for giggles dogs . Why I own dogs may be alien to you , that fact should make you realise that why you , or anyone else  , owns dogs  , may be alien to anyone else. )

Here's a question to  , I'll be polite  , my detractors.  What's the solution  ? Legislation that might take a decade  ? How does that help you or me on tomorrows walk, when one's loose? 

A March to parliament with 100,000 signatures  ? My dogs need a shit in the morning  , like yours , when one's loose. 

I've have not the power , money or influence to affect change  , all I have is the ability to look after me n mine . I own my dogs for their ability to look after me n mine , like millions  of others do and have done for millennia. 

It might be an uncomfortable read for some but it's the stark reality of 21st century dog ownership . People are breeding land sharks and your neighbour wants a £15,000 one with canine equivalent of narcissistic bipolar disorder.  You cry to the police and your lawyer about how its killed "wee benji" and devastated your family , while I do a "no comment " interview and go home to two beloved pets 👌

I thought Dugbhoy entered into this thread quite sensibly, but has now descended into a devil dug version of the American Gun Lobby. 

The only thing that can stop a bad guy wi a big dug is a good guy wi a bigger dug 🤣🤣🤣

10 hours ago, Dugbhoy said:

🤣 

The responses , as expected  , are the homeopathic disdain I'm used to . It's quite comforting  , to be honest . 

I picked up my phone before I came on here , to find my news feed telling me the police have acquired north of a dozen XL Bullys  , in Manchester  , after a man was mauled to death by one of them .  Can you imagine the carnage if that animal had got off property  ?  

Now imagine that it's got onto your street  , as you return home from your walk with your Springer spaniel  . It clocks your dog . It descends on your dog , what are you going to do  ? 

You're going to witness your dog being mauled . That's the unfortunate truth .  It's also a truth that's appearing almost weekly in the UK media. 

I've taken a precautionary approach to this problem (you buy a burglar alarm to prevent burglars  , right ?) and chosen my dog appropriately.  I was asked why I chose a "dog like this " and gave an honest answer.  I didnt appear like a Charlie big potatoes  , blowing off nonsense. 

The event reported in the media earlier about the XL Bullys , only confirms further that the choices I've made concerning my dogs is correct for my situation  . 

If one of these horrible effers gets loose , im safer than 99% of dog owners , although I recognize that doesn't mean I'm 100% safe  , maths n that .

So , in a nutshell  , I'd rather be an outdugging potential Daily Record headline with alive pets than whatever the alternative is. 

(Remember , we all own dogs for different reasons  . Guide dogs  , guard dogs and shits for giggles dogs . Why I own dogs may be alien to you , that fact should make you realise that why you , or anyone else  , owns dogs  , may be alien to anyone else. )

Here's a question to  , I'll be polite  , my detractors.  What's the solution  ? Legislation that might take a decade  ? How does that help you or me on tomorrows walk, when one's loose? 

A March to parliament with 100,000 signatures  ? My dogs need a shit in the morning  , like yours , when one's loose. 

I've have not the power , money or influence to affect change  , all I have is the ability to look after me n mine . I own my dogs for their ability to look after me n mine , like millions  of others do and have done for millennia. 

It might be an uncomfortable read for some but it's the stark reality of 21st century dog ownership . People are breeding land sharks and your neighbour wants a £15,000 one with canine equivalent of narcissistic bipolar disorder.  You cry to the police and your lawyer about how its killed "wee benji" and devastated your family , while I do a "no comment " interview and go home to two beloved pets 👌

giphy (1).gif

Edited by RuMoore

Good to see all the responsible dog owners on the beach at the weekend completely ignoring the “no dogs-£500 fine” signs and letting the wee shites run around lead free and shit on the sand. To be fair, they were mostly reasonable looking breeds and the ones I saw shitting had most of their shit picked up. But there will still be piss and shit all over the place and people in bare feet or lying in it. The far bigger beach where dogs are allowed is five minutes walk away.

Now that might sound petty and all the dog lovers are probably going “but but but” but it’s part of a continuum of lack of consideration and selfishness that only differs in degree, not nature, from the guy that goes round the park with no shirt on and four bull terriers off leads. 

The current softly softly approach isn’t working and we need to start cracking down on dogs before they attack people, not after. 

Dog off lead where it shouldn’t be ? Shoot it. Banned breed? Shoot it. Dog looks a bit off? Shoot it.

On 20/05/2023 at 17:05, Dugbhoy said:

The akita has to be on a lead as they are a dominant breed and she doesn't tolerate high energy dogs and true to breed , she's also same sex aggressive. If your dog is laid back and respectful on approach  , she will be fine , if it tears up like a maniac  , it's not going home .

'm well aware that doesn't sound very nice but that's akitas and at 110lbs  , she will be more than capable of it . You fancy that off leash 

Why are you saying your dog has a high probability of mauling other dogs to death like its a point of pride? You sound like an absolute w**k.

Your dog sounds like a vicious animal that should be put down for the safety of humans and other dogs alike

8 hours ago, Dugbhoy said:

🤣 

This is truly bizarre stuff. I don't own a dog but if I was to ever get one I would never in a million years factor in the very slim possibility that it might get mauled by another dog when deciding on the breed. 

32 minutes ago, jamamafegan said:

This is truly bizarre stuff. I don't own a dog but if I was to ever get one I would never in a million years factor in the very slim possibility that it might get mauled by another dog when deciding on the breed. 

More fool you. Applying the same principle, I live in a castle and drive a tank. (At least, I think it's a tank)

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

11 hours ago, Dugbhoy said:

🤣 

What a bizarre take! 
You’re saying your dogs are more than capable of inflicting the same if not worse damage than the breeds you are using them as “protection” against. 
I get the point that yours are never off lead, but you must be some size of a guy if you think that you could control dogs with a combined weight of rugby league player if they decided to flip. You’re just making the problem worse, if everyone had your attitude there’d be c***s walking about with lions, brown bears or Orcas on leads.