Darvel FC Thread

Talbot supporters getting themselves into a frothing mess here is strange, Mick comes across as a decent guy on twitter and on here, indeed one of the only managers in the Scottish game to interact directly with his supporters and rival fans, does so with a bit of humour too. Do we all cringe a bit at Gall? Aye. Was the team talk a wee bit ‘mighty ducks’ or disney underdog, definitely, but i suppose it worked. I think the exposure for our league has been great and even Mr Gall managed to big up a few other clubs in his media tour. Im not a darvel fan and i hope they get pumped for the rest of the season but they deserve their moment. 
That said ‘i read somewhere that men live 40 million minutes, im asking for 90’ gold, real gold, Mick must have been an uncredited script writer on a shot at glory, or the porn version a shot at gloria. 

Edited by Inanimate Carbon Rod

17 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

More than happy with it. Was a scream. Like a Stone Island version of Any Given Sunday.

Bill shankly

matt busby

jock stein

Walter smith

mick Kennedy 

all top managers and a few of them Got knighted , no sure mick will be but must be due an award off the king for this for his services to wosfl for this result and putting us on the map all over the world 

34 minutes ago, Darvel legend said:

Bill shankly

matt busby

jock stein

Walter smith

mick Kennedy 

all top managers and a few of them Got knighted , no sure mick will be but must be due an award off the king for this for his services to wosfl for this result and putting us on the map all over the world 

u forgot tommy sloan!

1 hour ago, Darvel legend said:

Bill shankly

matt busby

jock stein

Walter smith

mick Kennedy 

Tbf Mick might no be happy receiving anything fae the king😂😂

13 hours ago, Darvel legend said:

Bill shankly

matt busby

jock stein

Walter smith

mick Kennedy 

A commemorative Empire Biscuit and up the road with ye!! lol 

I just don’t know why we can’t be the Friday night or the weekend game , we have did our Monday night shift so surely we were due a weekend game 😡

im hearing not only the beeb who will be in dressing room the prime minister and wee sturgeon want to Listen in and learn how to motivate the country 

39 minutes ago, Darvel legend said:

I just don’t know why we can’t be the Friday night or the weekend game , we have did our Monday night shift so surely we were due a weekend game 😡

im hearing not only the beeb who will be in dressing room the prime minister and wee sturgeon want to Listen in and learn how to motivate the country 

Apparently the Monday night is considered the flagship spot for BBC Scotland so stop moaning 😁

Cannae imagine Rishi and wee Nippy with that haircut. Make sure there's a blackboard handy so they can scrape their nails down it to de-stress afterwards.

10 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

Apparently the Monday night is considered the flagship spot for BBC Scotland so stop moaning 😁

Cannae imagine Rishi and wee Nippy with that haircut. Make sure there's a blackboard handy so they can scrape their nails down it to de-stress afterwards.

It’s Pish pal no one interested in watching st mirren on telly at the weekend when we are still in competition , I can see why the rangers are on as viewing figures are great 🤷‍♂️

15 hours ago, Darvel legend said:

It’s Pish pal no one interested in watching st mirren on telly at the weekend when we are still in competition , I can see why the rangers are on as viewing figures are great 🤷‍♂️

It would definitely better at weekend. Although knowing you, you'd make a case for Rangers being shown supposing it was at the same time as WC final.

Edited by jimbaxters

4 hours ago, funky monkey said:

Darvel raking up the bucks on this run. Might make the pie mans investment cost neutral? Speculate to accumulate?🤔

Pies and spicy chicken to celebrate?

Was saying that on Monday. Got no idea how much he has spent (although according to DL the club was self-sufficient selling advertising boards before his demise) but surely the cup draws, the money for progression + the TV money must’ve generated enough income to pay for at least a season or two.

7 hours ago, Darvel legend said:

Giro day in Darvel is a monday

On 24/01/2023 at 12:59, jimbaxters said:

Nice but your original response to me was that the chairman and manager had said what they did to benefit the WoSFL. That whole story you have just typed would not have occurred if Darvel had lost. Ok, the tactics were right and the manager has to take credit for that but his plastic soliloquy had no part in it. Nor did the half time splutter from the chairman.

On another point, it shouldn't be forgotten that Mick Kennedy was a baw hair away from the Pollok job a few weeks ago. Community hub my ding-a-ling. It's all self promoting bluster.

Just catching up here and wondering if you've considered putting this catchy sounding number on a 7" vinyl, jimbo. After all, Chuck Berry's ding-a- ling took him to number 1 in the charts.

Anyhoo, I don't know if it's been posted elsewhere, but this is an interesting wee read: https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/man-who-saved-giant-killers-29050431

23 minutes ago, tommyboy said:

Just catching up here and wondering if you've considered putting this catchy sounding number on a 7" vinyl, jimbo. After all, Chuck Berry's ding-a- ling took him to number 1 in the charts.

Anyhoo, I don't know if it's been posted elsewhere, but this is an interesting wee read: https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/man-who-saved-giant-killers-29050431

Great to see you posting TB. Been ages. Hope you're well pal. As for your suggestion, that was merely an expletive redaction and one which when I read it back is almost as cringe as the subject of the post.

The article will go down well with the current and recent incumbents...or not.

Neil seemed a right character, Can’t mind the story but sure he was in the paper running about a Darvel game in his underwear? Remember it because the first comment on the story was someone saying “that’s my lawyer..” lol! Also some memory of Hurlford perhaps trying to sign a relation of Galls but think he went to darvel instead. Gall then took over some time after that?

Edited by Killiepiyo

18 hours ago, Sortmeout said:

Was saying that on Monday. Got no idea how much he has spent (although according to DL the club was self-sufficient selling advertising boards before his demise) but surely the cup draws, the money for progression + the TV money must’ve generated enough income to pay for at least a season or two.

It was posted somewhere on here the prize money breakdown and I think if Darvel had gone out the other night there  money would have been around the £45k mark not counting tickets etc v Aberdeen. I believe the ground improvements to host the game were in the region of 40-50k so even although they will pocket a few quid unless they beat Falkirk I wouldn’t think the prize money will be enough for 2 seasons with the outgoings that the club has.