Darvel FC Thread

23 minutes ago, catakoom said:
2 hours ago, Darvel legend said:
That’s good and to be fair I did tell u what was going to happen when I got mick in so at least u were expecting it ,
some honours board u have and safe to say that will never be equalled by anyone , unbelievable success for a village club and u should be proud of what they have done 

Serious question DL ..Ok you did your homework and got Mick in but do you honestly think Darvel would be where they are right now without the financial backing from Gall, and FWIW i think Darvel are a cracking team to watch as every single player is comfortable on the ball including your goalkeeper.

Mate I think without the money he would have a team very competitive no matter what the budget was , he’s just a winner , would they win the league ? Probably no , but is that a bad thing ? This  town is not big enough to be a Scottish league club ,but being licensed and hoping to have a big pay day in big Scottish cup is what you can dream about ! and as for gall Ive no time for him but he’s done some good work doon the brae and that needs to be applauded , I and the boys who left wanted to run it as a mini Talbot and have the club self sustainable and be very competitive in every competition we played in , would that have kept mick happy ? Im No so sure but the club needs to be run correctly to make sure when gall walks away it can still be competitive , right now if that happens I fear the worst as I don’t know what would happen as their is no fund raising being done or has been done last few years , That’s my honest opinion 

31 minutes ago, Darvel legend said:

Mate I think without the money he would have a team very competitive no matter what the budget was , he’s just a winner , would they win the league ? Probably no , but is that a bad thing ? This  town is not big enough to be a Scottish league club ,but being licensed and hoping to have a big pay day in big Scottish cup is what you can dream about ! and as for gall Ive no time for him but he’s done some good work doon the brae and that needs to be applauded , I and the boys who left wanted to run it as a mini Talbot and have the club self sustainable and be very competitive in every competition we played in , would that have kept mick happy ? Im No so sure but the club needs to be run correctly to make sure when gall walks away it can still be competitive , right now if that happens I fear the worst as I don’t know what would happen as their is no fund raising being done or has been done last few years , That’s my honest opinion 

If it wasn't for the money you are not even in the top divison, you would be Division 2 at best even with Mick as manager

Don't try and hit us with the pish that the players are there for Mick and not the money. They don't give a f**k about Mick or Darvel. Meggat proved that last season when he went on a stag do rather than play in the most important game in your clubs history,

As for what happens when Gall pulls out his money, that's an easy one. Your club dies

1 hour ago, Darvel legend said:

Mate fitba is all about banter , only thing im Disappointed about is I always praise the Talbot and what they have done , yesterday all I hear is it’s all about money , it would be good for someone to say darvel are a right good team , only person I hear saying that is Tucker who always conducts himself brilliantly , not one supporter I spoke to said that , it’s all about the money is all I got but that’s only part of it 

Your right it's all about the banter so if your club is bankrolled you expect the jip. Darvel are a good side theres no taking it away from them, but you would expect that considering the money they offer to players. Yesterday had the makings of a great game but a deserved red card finished it as a contest. Graham's penalty might have given the game a wee edge but it wasn't our day. Good to see your support is nearly as big as your backroom staff.

12 minutes ago, Wile E Coyote said:

If it wasn't for the money you are not even in the top divison, you would be Division 2 at best even with Mick as manager

Don't try and hit us with the pish that the players are there for Mick and not the money. They don't give a f**k about Mick or Darvel. Meggat proved that last season when he went on a stag do rather than play in the most important game in your clubs history,

As for what happens when Gall pulls out his money, that's an easy one. Your club dies

If it wasn't for money none of the teams in the premier would be there?

As for darvel it's obvious they spend the most and that's why they are where they are if they were the darvel of old then we wouldn't be even talking about them just like from the past it was hurlford, medda , glenafton and the buffs who have all had business men who have put money into all these club's at various times some have had more success than others then moved on . I going to ask you the same question would talbot have had the same success if it wasn't for money all being it comes from different sources fans and businesses.

19 minutes ago, wow-wee said:

If it wasn't for money none of the teams in the premier would be there?

As for darvel it's obvious they spend the most and that's why they are where they are if they were the darvel of old then we wouldn't be even talking about them just like from the past it was hurlford, medda , glenafton and the buffs who have all had business men who have put money into all these club's at various times some have had more success than others then moved on . I going to ask you the same question would talbot have had the same success if it wasn't for money all being it comes from different sources fans and businesses.

Of course money helps but Talbot have been challenging for more than 40 years. If one money source goes it will only have a small effect.

What have the clubs you mentioned got in common. They had a relatively small window of success and then slipped back including a few relegations for some of them. Without the artificial income they couldn't sustain it. Talbot don't work to this model.

I also disagree that its just the rich teams in the top division. Since the amalgamation in 2002 about half the teams spent at least one season in the top league. Teams like Ashfield had a good manager and a good group of players at the same time and spent a few seasons in the top league without spending a lot of money. When the team started to break up they couldn't sustain it. Opportunities were there and teams took advatage of it but its very hard to sustain without artificial income. Other teams like Bellshill and Maryhill spent to challenge in the top division but again slipped back when the money went

Edited by Wile E Coyote

1 minute ago, Wile E Coyote said:

Of course money helps but Talbot have been challenging for more than 40 years. If one money source goes it will only have a small effect.

What have the clubs you mentioned got in common. They had a relatively small window of success and then slipped back including a few relegations for some of them. Without the artificial income they couldn't sustain it. Talbot don't work to this model.

I also disagree that its just the rich teams in the top division. Since the amalgamation in 2002 about half the teams spent at least one season in the top league. Teams like Ashfield had a good manager and a good group of players at the same time and spent a few seasons in the top league. When the team started to break up they couldn't sustain it. Opportunities were there and teams took advatage of it but its very hard to sustain without artificial income. Other teams like Bellshill and Maryhill spent to challenge in the top division but again slipped back when the money went

Your right it's artificial it never lasts but the teams who benefited from the short term funding are hardly going to turn it down and going to enjoy the success it brings. I've still great memories of the buffs in our era of mid 90s to 2004 which your management team were part of but it's history and darvel will be the same many memories to tell their kids . As for talbot they have been steady for years now had the odd blip but always recovered to be the club they are today but it took a lot of hard work and money ! 

Great to have Darvel in the league again this season. Irrespective of what the spend is or what they propose to spend. They add great value to the league in terms of their set up and playing style which has been achieved in a relatively short time.

All the while remaining magnanimous whether they win, lose or draw. The challenge is for the rest of us to clip their wings.

4 minutes ago, Nock10 said:

Great to have Darvel in the league again this season. Irrespective of what the spend is or what they propose to spend. They add great value to the league in terms of their set up and playing style which has been achieved in a relatively short time.

All the while remaining magnanimous whether they win, lose or draw. The challenge is for the rest of us to clip their wings.

Got to agree with what you are saying it's up to the rest to put up a challenge and like yourselves who beat them last week even though they are the biggest spenders it doesn't guarantee success. 

John Gall has attracted other sponsor that wouldn’t be there bar for him.That apart where would Talbot be without the cup money. The Hearts game must have took as much in as the pieman has spent at Darvel.The pieman has taken Darvel into the modern game all be it with his financial backing and with a lot less than he throws at his own team 

1 minute ago, Bheaten Castard said:

John Gall has attracted other sponsor that wouldn’t be there bar for him.That apart where would Talbot be without the cup money. The Hearts game must have took as much in as the pieman has spent at Darvel.The pieman has taken Darvel into the modern game all be it with his financial backing and with a lot less than he throws at his own team 

Imagine comparing money earned from being successful in a national cup competition with money pumped in by an egomaniac. Oh dear!

1 hour ago, Bheaten Castard said:

What team is that? Darvel are his team now. He wasn’t at Ibrox yesterday watching Killie and I doubt he’ll be at many Killie games this season. He’ll be back as a regular at Killie games when the ego driven project comes to an end. 

The whole project is only made relevant by the other longer established teams they play in the league. How many Darvel fans were at the game yesterday. Less than 100 and that is for one of the biggest games of the season. The Chairman, manager and players don’t care about Darvel. The club is simply a convenient vehicle for their collective egos. I don’t find anything about the set up commendable. 

Having played and watched this level of football for close on half a century, I have to say that the present Darvel team compares favourably with anything I have seen. The transformation at Recreation park is nothing short of incredible and will be attractive to anyone who might in time replace the people currently running the club. Players, management and fans apart, they lack class, and if I was to make one other criticism it is the lack of Ayrshire players currently in the squad 

5 minutes ago, Glenbuck Nosepicker said:

Having played and watched this level of football for close on half a century, I have to say that the present Darvel team compares favourably with anything I have seen. The transformation at Recreation park is nothing short of incredible and will be attractive to anyone who might in time replace the people currently running the club. Players, management and fans apart, they lack class, and if I was to make one other criticism it is the lack of Ayrshire players currently in the squad 

I wouldn’t say the players or management have class either. They are like the Harry Enfield Loadsamoney character from the top down. Nothing commendable about anything at that club. 

2 minutes ago, Rugbyroader said:

I wouldn’t say the players or management have class either. They are like the Harry Enfield Loadsamoney character from the top down. Nothing commendable about anything at that club. 

Kennedy has the team playing some outstanding football and I think the players conduct themselves pretty well considering the stick they get. It’s not their fault the club attract so much negativity because of the way the club behave. The money thing is interesting as most clubs would be delighted to have the backing Darvel currently have, so jealousy apart, it seems to me the main criticism comes from the the way the club presents itself.  In my humble opinion they would do well to attract more players with a local or at least Ayrshire connection. That and a bit of humility would go a long way. 

18 minutes ago, Glenbuck Nosepicker said:

Kennedy has the team playing some outstanding football and I think the players conduct themselves pretty well considering the stick they get. It’s not their fault the club attract so much negativity because of the way the club behave. The money thing is interesting as most clubs would be delighted to have the backing Darvel currently have, so jealousy apart, it seems to me the main criticism comes from the the way the club presents itself.  In my humble opinion they would do well to attract more players with a local or at least Ayrshire connection. That and a bit of humility would go a long way. 

You clearly don't know what you are talking about as I guess you have never looked at the players social media.

Darren Miller's lack of class is only matched by his lack of brain cells

3 minutes ago, Wile E Coyote said:

You clearly don't know what you are talking about as I guess you have never looked at the players social media.

Darren Miller's lack of class is only matched by his lack of brain cells

I’m only interested in what he does on the park and he would get into any team at this level. He’s a player. 

7 minutes ago, Glenbuck Nosepicker said:

I’m only interested in what he does on the park and he would get into any team at this level. He’s a player. 

We'll disagree on that. If/when Darvel go up the leagues he will be one of the first to be jettisoned.

You were the one who said the players conduct themselves well. Wanting to fight people on social media is not conducting yourself well

1 minute ago, Wile E Coyote said:

We'll disagree on that. If/when Darvel go up the leagues he will be one of the first to be jettisoned.

You were the one who said the players conduct themselves well. Wanting to fight people on social media is not conducting yourself well

Why would I follow a player on social media  from a team I don’t support? I was talking about how the players conduct themselves on the pitch. Now if he went about challenging people to a fight on the park I might have a different opinion. 

6 hours ago, Wile E Coyote said:

I also disagree that its just the rich teams in the top division. Since the amalgamation in 2002 about half the teams spent at least one season in the top league. Teams like Ashfield had a good manager and a good group of players at the same time and spent a few seasons in the top league without spending a lot of money. When the team started to break up they couldn't sustain it. Opportunities were there and teams took advatage of it but its very hard to sustain without artificial income. Other teams like Bellshill and Maryhill spent to challenge in the top division but again slipped back when the money went

A footnote, from the 18 seasons of the two top Super Leagues in the West, only something like 8 teams out of 64 clubs never played in one of the two top West Divisions.

Out of the 8 non Super League clubs there was a few questions on whether they were interested in travelling outside of their District League areas.

That of course is open to question.

The above was posted on the Junior forum about 4 years ago.

Edited by PossilYM