Darvel FC Thread

19 minutes ago, andy25 said:
2 hours ago, Lurcer said:
You could say they bottled it. A wee bit of pressure over the last few games and their ar5es collapsed. 

Just like Darvels in the play-off...

You are right

This is an argument no one will really win
My own view

Darvel against Tranent, to be honest I didn't give Tranent a hope even as the EOSFL winners but give them their due, they were superb. IN the first half, Darvel had more possession but kept giving away possession when they forced the ball but Tranent were really quick on the break. Second half, there was a bit of a stramash were if Darvel had scored it might have been different but all in all, Tranent were superb and Darvel disappointed me as I expected more of a game.

Auchinleck whom I thought were playing crap and lots of long ball stuff at the end of a season played Bonnyrigg in the South Challenge cup final and were, i felt at the start of the season, hands down Bot would be the winners against the Lowland League champions, (I actually was hoping for a Bot - Bonnyrigg final) but even though they deserved the win I didn't think they would be as convincing due to their recent league form,.

If Auchinleck had played Tranent in the playoff, who knows the score but again I would have expected Auchinleck to win.

Did Darvel bottle it, I dont know, I do know I expected more after seeing them a couple of times during the season.
They had a few players missing for the playoff so im sure that had an effect but i did think they would win

3 hours ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

This is an argument no one will really win
My own view

Darvel against Tranent, to be honest I didn't give Tranent a hope even as the EOSFL winners but give them their due, they were superb. IN the first half, Darvel had more possession but kept giving away possession when they forced the ball but Tranent were really quick on the break. Second half, there was a bit of a stramash were if Darvel had scored it might have been different but all in all, Tranent were superb and Darvel disappointed me as I expected more of a game.

Auchinleck whom I thought were playing crap and lots of long ball stuff at the end of a season played Bonnyrigg in the South Challenge cup final and were, i felt at the start of the season, hands down Bot would be the winners against the Lowland League champions, (I actually was hoping for a Bot - Bonnyrigg final) but even though they deserved the win I didn't think they would be as convincing due to their recent league form,.

If Auchinleck had played Tranent in the playoff, who knows the score but again I would have expected Auchinleck to win.

Did Darvel bottle it, I dont know, I do know I expected more after seeing them a couple of times during the season.
They had a few players missing for the playoff so im sure that had an effect but i did think they would win

Thank goodness you're here.

10 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

Thank goodness you're here.

Remember, the guy who said he doesn't go onto other threads, hmmm, i wonder what post he said that on 🤣  but he does and does not contribute a thing to the post excepts tries to wind people up or be nasty. Just tries to be a windup keyboard warrior but always shuts up when the pish is ripped right out of him, (oh forgot to add, and what's worse, he doesn't even realize people are reading his stuff and laughing at him) 🤗.   I'm actually wondering if he ever thinks before he posts condensing, trolling remarks.  As certain people contribute to a post positive aspects and debates without putting people down but he usually replies to them in his usual manner.  Lets see if he replies to this or goes back in the background again from this post.  I'm sure he wont make a fool of himself again 😀

And again most folks are laughing at him because he's usually finishes with a wee daft image when its all backfired on him. Wonder what snidy comment he will make to someone else as he knows if its me, it will be rip the pish out of him time again. 

Hopefully everyone can get back to the thread and genuine debate, questions etc.....  

Edited by Bestsinceslicebread
Adding the forgot bit in brackets

8 hours ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Remember, the guy who said he doesn't go onto other threads, hmmm, i wonder what post he said that on 🤣  but he does and does not contribute a thing to the post excepts tries to wind people up or be nasty. Just tries to be a windup keyboard warrior but always shuts up when the pish is ripped right out of him, (oh forgot to add, and what's worse, he doesn't even realize people are reading his stuff and laughing at him) 🤗.   I'm actually wondering if he ever thinks before he posts condensing, trolling remarks.  As certain people contribute to a post positive aspects and debates without putting people down but he usually replies to them in his usual manner.  Lets see if he replies to this or goes back in the background again from this post.  I'm sure he wont make a fool of himself again 😀

backing up homer simpson GIF

What a day , first 20 minutes like a basketball game going end to end and could have been 2-2 at that stage but once Armstrong got sent off it was men against boys , fwiw I don’t think it was a red card but he gave the ref a decision to make , very professional Performance and once Graham misses the penalty it was only going to be how many ,  some great performances but special shout out to Andy Stirling , thought he was magnificent 

7 minutes ago, Darvel legend said:

What a day , first 20 minutes like a basketball game going end to end and could have been 2-2 at that stage but once Armstrong got sent off it was men against boys , fwiw I don’t think it was a red card but he gave the ref a decision to make , very professional Performance and once Graham misses the penalty it was only going to be how many ,  some great performances but special shout out to Andy Stirling , thought he was magnificent 

Only bit of this I disagree with is the 2-2. Talbot should have been 2-0 up, maybe 3 as they had clear cut chances. I don’t recall anything more than half chances for Darvel. Third goal was a thing of beauty. Great run from Stirling and the movement of McKenzie to open the space for him was top drawer. 

The ref ruined it with the sending off , was a great game before that

14 minutes ago, Talbot supporter said:
25 minutes ago, Darvel legend said:

The ref ruined it with the sending off , was a great game before that

The ref applies the laws. Ruining it would be not applying the laws. 

33 minutes ago, BigBo10 said:

Only bit of this I disagree with is the 2-2. Talbot should have been 2-0 up, maybe 3 as they had clear cut chances. I don’t recall anything more than half chances for Darvel. Third goal was a thing of beauty. Great run from Stirling and the movement of McKenzie to open the space for him was top drawer. 

Got to agree with you as Samson should have scored two, one was a good block by the keeper, the other he dallied on the ball too long to give the keeper a chance to set up his stance. Why Park didn't shoot with only the keeper in front of him I will never know. Sending off the referee had it made easy for him, that and woeful defending cost us two goals. The real logic to the game is you can't play 50 minutes with ten men against a team like Darvel, you can't miss penalties when your thrown a life line, and you can't win games by gifting the ball constantly to the opposition.

On 02/08/2022 at 09:40, Shanner said:

Talbot were 3 points ahead and the title was theirs for the taking after the second match against Darvel so your logic here doesn't stack up.

Talbot merely ran out of steam. 

Second game of the season, did they “merely run out of steam” again?

No he didn't Armstrong ruined it with his crazy challenge.
Andy it's about time u found another team or even apply for the managers job cause all u do is slate talbot when they lose or happy when they win ur never in between 2nd game in and u and a few others are having ago just drop it and Gareth will know he made a mistake today but don't criticise him when was the last time talbot had a guy sent off it been a while but he will come back stronger and know what to do

11 minutes ago, allyg1977 said:
3 hours ago, andy25 said:
No he didn't Armstrong ruined it with his crazy challenge.

Andy it's about time u found another team or even apply for the managers job cause all u do is slate talbot when they lose or happy when they win ur never in between 2nd game in and u and a few others are having ago just drop it and Gareth will know he made a mistake today but don't criticise him when was the last time talbot had a guy sent off it been a while but he will come back stronger and know what to do

This guy Andy is a complete bell end never a Talbot supporter all he does is criticise the team no matter what they do.