Heart of Midlothian v Rangers Scottish Cup final 2022

Darren

15 hours ago, Empty It said:

Hearts have received an extra 600 tickets which will go on sale on friday, in person ticket office purchases only and need to meet the requirements of phase 2 (120LP, ST or attended semi) for anyone that may have missed out but I'd be there very early for anyone wanting one of these tickets.

AKA camped out overnight.

Our games against the old firm in the latter half of this season are an indicator of how this game will likely go - defeats, some of which were on the heavy side.

A day oot wi' the lads, and no expectations - would like to avoid an absolute horsing, if at all possible. 

On 14/05/2022 at 17:28, paranoid android said:

Our games against the old firm in the latter half of this season are an indicator of how this game will likely go - defeats, some of which were on the heavy side.

A day oot wi' the lads, and no expectations - would like to avoid an absolute horsing, if at all possible. 

I'm in two minds about this.

I think the 'Rangers will be knackered' angle is being over-done. They haven't shown much sign of leg-weariness recently, and have generally risen well to big games. They rested their entire team at the weekend, so in reality their first-team are playing two games in a week after having a decent rest. It's their last 90 minutes of the season and I think they'll be fine physically.

There is the possibility that they'll be a bit mentally done in if Seville goes badly for them. This is probably our best hope. If they win on Wednesday, I think we're fucked as the wave will just carry them through.

So, I think we're a relative long-shot here. But at the same time, we're capable of beating them one-off and I do think we're the kind of team that has a big performance in us at some point. We just need everything to go right.

Really looking forward to the day. After all the covid shite it's an amazing feeling to be going to the cup final in a big day out with a big group of folk I really like.

Edited by VincentGuerin

1 hour ago, VincentGuerin said:

I'm in two minds about this.

I think the 'Rangers will be knackered' angle is being over-done. They haven't shown much sign of leg-weariness recently, and have generally risen well to big games. They rested their entire team at the weekend, so in reality their first-team are playing two games in a week after having a decent rest. It's their last 90 minutes of the season and I think they'll be fine physically.

There is the possibility that they'll be a bit mentally done in if Seville goes badly for them. This is probably our best hope. If they win on Wednesday, I think we're fucked as the wave will just carry them through.

So, I think we're a relative long-shot here. But at the same time, we're capable of beating them one-off and I do think we're the kind of team that has a big performance in us at some point. We just need everything to go right.

Really looking forward to the day. After all the covid shite it's an amazing feeling to be going to the cup final in a big day out with a big group of folk I really like.

I don't think rangers will be tired on Saturday either.

I was reading an online piece on Halkett yesterday - reading between the lines, I now reckon Neilson is planning to start Smith, Souttar and Halkett, which would be risky.

It's kind of a damned if you do/don't situation, imo - start with Moore/Sibbick, and you risk them being not good enough - start with Smith, Souttar and Halkett, and you risk them not being fit/sharp enough.

On 14/05/2022 at 18:28, paranoid android said:

A cup final is always different. Your record away to the OF isn't great but at home it's fairly decent. Better at Ibrox than at Celtic Park anyway.

I think I lot of it comes down to whether our players will be exhausted either mentally or physically. It is meant to be 35c in Seville on Wednesday. Colder by the 9pm local kick off time but still enough to make a difference.

10 hours ago, paranoid android said:

I don't think rangers will be tired on Saturday either.

I was reading an online piece on Halkett yesterday - reading between the lines, I now reckon Neilson is planning to start Smith, Souttar and Halkett, which would be risky.

It's kind of a damned if you do/don't situation, imo - start with Moore/Sibbick, and you risk them being not good enough - start with Smith, Souttar and Halkett, and you risk them not being fit/sharp enough.

Aye, the selection issue is very tricky here. It's a shame we've got so many struggling as it could end up really taking away from the occasion, but I can see this causing us big problems.

Obviously Beni is out, but also Devlin, Souttar, Halkett, Smith all short of fitness as well is a real problem. I don't see how they can all do 90 and we're quite badly weakened by this. Also, how is Boyce?

I think at full-strength we would have a decent swing at this one, but with the fitness levels being what they are, we are going to need to be both very good and very lucky on the day.

Moore and Sibbick... Oh dear.

Edited by VincentGuerin

2 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Moore and Sibbick... Oh dear.

I don't think either of them will play.

Gordon
Souttar Halkett Kingsley
Atkinson Haring Devlin Cochrane
Boyce SImms McKay

Would be my guess.

That performance on Saturday tempered my expectations a wee bit. At the same time the thought sticking in mind is if it were Hibs playing Rangers I'd be absolutely shitting myself that they'd win, even as bad as they are. So that is the straw-clutching source of my optimism atm😅

55 minutes ago, the jambo-rocker said:

That performance on Saturday tempered my expectations a wee bit. At the same time the thought sticking in mind is if it were Hibs playing Rangers I'd be absolutely shitting myself that they'd win, even as bad as they are. So that is the straw-clutching source of my optimism atm😅

I honestly don't think Saturday will have any impact whatsoever. Obviously we could lose comfortably, but despite being quite a strong team on paper, there were plenty involved trying to just get through the game and get minutes under their belt. We barely put a tackle of note in. And once Rangers brought on the youngsters they all had the desire to go and impress and we never tried to stop them knocking it about, they are clearly technically good players but I'm pretty sure if we had to win that game we'd not have just stood off them.

As I say we might well lose, but we'll definitely be up for it and flying into tackles.  Need to try and play at a high tempo from the start and not let Rangers dictate from the off.

1 hour ago, Tony Wonder said:

I honestly don't think Saturday will have any impact whatsoever. Obviously we could lose comfortably, but despite being quite a strong team on paper, there were plenty involved trying to just get through the game and get minutes under their belt. We barely put a tackle of note in. And once Rangers brought on the youngsters they all had the desire to go and impress and we never tried to stop them knocking it about, they are clearly technically good players but I'm pretty sure if we had to win that game we'd not have just stood off them.

As I say we might well lose, but we'll definitely be up for it and flying into tackles.  Need to try and play at a high tempo from the start and not let Rangers dictate from the off.

Agree. Saturday was of no consequence at all. Just a fixture to fulfill and some players to get a run around.

I'd have thought the same if we'd won 6-0.

2 hours ago, Tony Wonder said:

It's only the Glasgow version Rangers we're playing. not the Brora version

7 hours ago, Tony Wonder said:

6 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Agree. Saturday was of no consequence at all. Just a fixture to fulfill and some players to get a run around.

I'd have thought the same if we'd won 6-0.

My fickleness knows no bounds. If we'd won 6-0 I'd swing my metaphorical gorgie tadger around this thread.

As long as our midfield doesn't get completely overrun. Flying into tackles is all good and all but Collum gives me the fucking fear for this. His performance in the Arbroath game there screams he can't wait to get that rouge out gameday.

16 hours ago, the jambo-rocker said:

My fickleness knows no bounds. If we'd won 6-0 I'd swing my metaphorical gorgie tadger around this thread.

As long as our midfield doesn't get completely overrun. Flying into tackles is all good and all but Collum gives me the fucking fear for this. His performance in the Arbroath game there screams he can't wait to get that rouge out gameday.

Aye we'll have to be careful and not reckless, I was just meaning there's no way we'll be standing off like thr last few games.