Can we ever imagine a Scotland without the Old Firm?

8 hours ago, AB1872 said:

Aye the Old Firm is the problem in a country the size of Scotland having 42 ‘Senior’ clubs. 

Four clubs in Angus

Four or is it 5 clubs in Fife

Two clubs in the same street FFS

Rangers and Celtic bring 90% of the money into the Scottish game but it’s their fault other clubs play in front of empty stadiums every week

3 hours ago, AB1872 said:

Ok. Instead of simply blaming the two most successful clubs who generate the vast majority of the monies in Scottish football try looking at the game as a whole

Utterly bizarre that a country this size has 42 senior clubs. 

Two top leagues of 10/12 clubs

Lower leagues regionalised. Madness to have Annan v Elgin at anytime never mind midweek or Peterhead v Stranraer 

More even split in top leagues of finances. 

Scotland has 229 senior clubs.

Fife has 20.

Angus has 4.

You fool.

10 hours ago, Donathan said:

The best thing we *might* get is some sugar daddy buying a mid-sized regional club and ploughing so much money into them that they overtake the old firm. We got a flavour of this in 2005 with Vladimir Romanov. I think every neutral fan in Scotland was backing Hearts that year. 

10 hours ago, Leith Green said:

Think again

He did say "neutral", not "bitter, twisted, wee team supporter".

9 hours ago, AB1872 said:

1-0 away in a Europa League Quarter Final. I’ll take that back to Ibrox. I’m sure I’ll get my £48 worth now

Other Scottish clubs haven’t even qualified for a group stage in how long?

St Johnstone lost to a Welsh mob ffs. Hearts to a team from Malta 😂

Its never been so poor 

This Rangers team went undefeated in the league Ffs

Some team lost to a side from Luxembourg...

10 hours ago, Jammyp said:

It would help if the media didn't act like there is only two teams. Even TV time and exposure.

Ten in a row and quadruple trebles should be treated as a problem and a problem to solve, not have some high pitched commentator scream sensational when Celtics Multimillion pound striker score his 5th hattrick in as many games

Indeed. What other country on the planet would celebrate one club winning 12 domestic trophies in a row? Sky did a fucking documentary on Celtic doing this from 17-20. 

Folk like Ian Crocker and the Rangers and Celtic fans they have as pundits seem to take it personally when a team has the audacity to even score against them, let alone win a game.  That’s what you’re up against in Scotland.

I'd love them to piss off but unless they go out of business they'll still be in Scotland, still hoovering up the media coverage and dominating the commercial landscape. If you think we get treated as a tin pot league now wait until the perceived "big boys" aren't even a part of it. 

Kids in Inverness and Fife will still stoat about in Rangers* tops and the two sisters will still dominate the football coverage. The difference is that they'll be talking about whether they should have had a penalty vs Burnley rather than vs St Johnstone. 😞

While Celtic's period of dominance was utterly boring, and I doubt many of us believe even their fans protestations that they don't agree, it's worth remembering that Scotland is not alone here. It's just a question of scale. They have an Old Firm, it's just their big foreign-owned Champions League regulars.

England has essentially gone the same way. In the 80s there were thirteen different clubs in England who won major trophies. This included Wimbledon, Luton, Oxford, Coventry, Norwich, Wolves, Forest. The 90s saw 12 different winners, including the likes of Villa, Leeds, Sheffield Wednesday, Leicester. By the 2000s it's down to 9 winners, but you've still got Spurs, Portsmouth, Blackburn etc getting their hands on trophies.

In the last decade only four trophies in English football have been won by clubs outwith what we could call England's Old Firm. Leicester have won two, Wigan, and Swansea.

That's four trophies out of the last thirty not going to the Old Firm. They're fucked too. People laugh at Spurs, for example, for not winning anything. But they're up against a closed shop. Trophies now are basically only won by a tiny group of clubs and that's just the way it's going. In England we can now add Newcastle to the Old Firm from next season.

In Scotland 9 of the last 30 trophies have been won by clubs outwith the Old Firm, so you could argue that in a way a Hearts, Aberdeen, St Mirren, or Ross County fan is better off than an Everton or Aston Villa fan.

We're all in the same boat in that our teams won't win the league, but we've got about a better chance of maybe winning a cup.

1 hour ago, Jacksgranda said:

Some team lost to a side from Luxembourg...

I know. An utter embarrassment but that team did something about it and went a whole league campaign undefeated

When Celtic went undefeated they lost away to Lincoln Red Imps

Thanks for helping to prove my point. The other Scottish clubs have never been this poor

2 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

I know. An utter embarrassment but that team did something about it and went a whole league campaign undefeated

When Celtic went undefeated they lost away to Lincoln Red Imps

Thanks for helping to prove my point. The other Scottish clubs have never been this poor

Aye, right enough, none of the rest of us ever lost to a team from Luxembourg or Lincoln Red Imps.

9 hours ago, Charles Stiles said:

It was Kilmarnock that lost to a Welsh mob. Best to get your facts right when trolling. 

There are so many embarrassing examples of diddies being humiliated in European competition that it’s difficult to keep up

Killie , Hearts, Sheep, St Johnstone, Hibs. All failed to get to a group stage in recent years

Just now, AB1872 said:

There are so many embarrassing examples of diddies being humiliated in European competition that it’s difficult to keep up

Killie , Hearts, Sheep, St Johnstone, Hibs. All failed to get to a group stage in recent years

Rangers against progress from Luxembourg , v kaunus

Celtic losing first leg v Lincoln red imp waiters

They are diddy teams too

3 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

I may be wrong but the Old Firm have been pumped out of Europe before the group stages too.

1 minute ago, Jacksgranda said:

Aye, right enough, none of the rest of us ever lost to a team from Luxembourg or Lincoln Red Imps.

Kinda missing the point. Progres and LRI did something your clubs couldn’t. 

It’s absolutely undeniable that the diddies are poorer now than ever before. That’s not our fault 

Diddies would rather play in front of half empty stadiums than sell tickets to away fans

Diddies have allowed Doncaster to remain in position despite his many failings 

We don’t even have VAR ffs!

No country anywhere has as many Senior clubs. Reduce that amount and spread the prize money more evenly

Regionalise the lower leagues

Just because somethings always been that way doesn’t mean we can’t change

The problem is we have 30 odd clubs who are happy just surviving on the scraps they get from the OF and the more ambitious Diddies don’t want to get on the wrong side of Peter

Nothing is going to change. Rangers and Celtic will get stronger and the Diddies will continue getting weaker 

5 minutes ago, Jammyp said:

I may be wrong but the Old Firm have been pumped out of Europe before the group stages too.

Ffs of course they have! We were pumped out by a very average Malmö earlier in the season. 

That said we have punched well above our weight in recent years despite Diddies doing next to nothing to boost the coefficient. Two clubs more or less carry the whole country. it would benefit the OF and the Diddies if we could come together to make the Top division (at least) stronger and more competitive 

1 minute ago, AB1872 said:

It’s absolutely undeniable that the diddies are poorer now than ever before. That’s not our fault 

Diddies would rather play in front of half empty stadiums than sell tickets to away fans

No country anywhere has as many Senior clubs. Reduce that amount and spread the prize money more evenly

The problem is we have 30 odd clubs who are happy just surviving on the scraps they get from the OF and the more ambitious Diddies don’t want to get on the wrong side of Peter

Nothing is going to change. Rangers and Celtic will get stronger and the Diddies will continue getting weaker 

Your old club died because of fiscal irresponsibility. Your new club is heading the same way.

Your new club has racked up debts of £100M and managed a solitary title.

You cheated your way to “success” before and you are repeating history once again.

All non-Sevco fans hope your club dies again.

2 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

Ffs of course they have! We were pumped out by a very average Malmö earlier in the season. 

That said we have punched well above our weight in recent years despite Diddies doing next to nothing to boost the coefficient. Two clubs more or less carry the whole country. it would benefit the OF and the Diddies if we could come together to make the Top division (at least) stronger and more competitive 

Why don’t you and Celtic just set up a league of two and leave us diddies to play amongst ourselves?

4 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

Most of the diddies have beaten Celtic and Rangers at some point in the last few years, too.

What happens to the clubs that you unsenior?

What scraps are these then?