Can we ever imagine a Scotland without the Old Firm?

11 minutes ago, Gallo24 said:

Happy to be proved wrong but can you show me where people have said that non-OF teams should just "believe" or "want it more"?

Mentioned in the article (as Vinc G) quotes, and also at least once in this thread.

It is perpetuated by the Sportsound sycophants who revel in that kind of shite narrative.

10 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

"As well as this there has been a continual failure from anyone – Hearts, Hibs, Aberdeen – to systematically believe they could challenge the status quo. All the non-Old Firm pack start off each season with the belief that the best they can do is finish third in the league and maybe win a cup: it is a philosophy which breeds being second-best and not trying to win."

Fair enough mate.  "not trying to win" good grief.

6 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

Aye the Old Firm is the problem in a country the size of Scotland having 42 ‘Senior’ clubs. 

Four clubs in Angus

Four or is it 5 clubs in Fife

Two clubs in the same street FFS

Rangers and Celtic bring 90% of the money into the Scottish game but it’s their fault other clubs play in front of empty stadiums every week

I mean, it kind of is.

Article basically touches on it, but towns across Scotland are filled with Old Firm fans.

It is not healthy for football in this country.

The description of cartel capitalism is perfect.

9 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

Rangers and Celtic bring 90% of the money into the Scottish game but it’s their fault other clubs play in front of empty stadiums every week

Explain the relevance of this to the competitiveness of the league. Detailed please. 

56 minutes ago, Thenorthernlight said:

To answer the opening post (& it’s probably been said within the thread but I can’t be bothered looking), yes I can imagine Scottish football without the “old firm”…..because we have been for the last 10 years 

Rangers were liquidated.

You may have heard. 

So this cretinous secterian duopoly that is killing Scottish football just our fevered imaginings then ?  It's the 'Old Firm' , poisonous capitalist cartel.

You may have heard.

Despite the outrage when The European Super League was proposed, logically this is the way forward. As even England, Germany, Italy and Spain are in a similar position to Scotland, Portugal and Holland. The wealthiest clubs are getting richer as it is and even in these countries, there is no real competition anymore. I suspect that there will be a two or three European League setup in the near future

1 hour ago, Gallo24 said:

Bad example considering hearts were ahead in the penalties in the 2020 final.   Wasn't as if we had a multimillion pound goalkeeper in goals either that saved the decisive penalties.  Celtic were there for the taking.

No, that guy was on the bench, not good enough.  How much?  £4m for the greek flop.  If only any other club had that luxury. 

17 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Yes please. How has the money brought in by the old firm to the league as a whole improved the competitive nature of it. 

Hes either furiously typing up answers to our questions on that statement, or he has walked away......................

4 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Hes either furiously typing up answers to our questions on that statement, or he has walked away......................

Hurry, get a poll up...

19 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

No, that guy was on the bench, not good enough.  How much?  £4m for the greek flop.  If only any other club had that luxury. 

If only you’d listened to Auld Wallace you might have had that luxury