Cost of Living Crisis

Paco

On 06/05/2022 at 15:20, Bairnardo said:

Yeah, lowering inhibitions in a workplace absolutely filled with sexual deviants doesn't seem very wise. 

This is exactly why Div refused to put a bar in the hot tub wing, isn't it?

Good show Monday with James O'Brien on LBC

first 1hr was NI politics, then the last 2 hours was the cost of living.

I was in tears at least 3 times from some of the callers.

Britain, your people are hungry.....it's 2022 for f**k sake☹️ 

1 hour ago, williemillersmoustache said:

Tory papers full of government plans to help with the cost of living, which weren't in the Queens Speech and which the Treasury flat our denied were coming.  

Joke country. 

The folk who read, and believe in that pish are stupid, servile c***s who deserve everything they get. We're talking about a government that binned a measly £20 a week Universal Credit uplift as soon as they could get away with it. Folk are quite literally going to freeze and/or starve to death this coming winter. 

51 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

The folk who read, and believe in that pish are stupid, servile c***s who deserve everything they get. We're talking about a government that binned a measly £20 a week Universal Credit uplift as soon as they could get away with it. Folk are quite literally going to freeze and/or starve to death this coming winter. 

They absolutely do, and more. The problem is that these stupid, stupid people are dragging the rest down with them. I've always believed in universal suffrage as a base requirement for democracy, but the last decade has led me to wonder whether a wee quiz, á la Citizenship Test, should have to be passed before a vote is seen as valid.

Your last sentence is so, so true. Those who die, mind, should probably have just worked harder, eh? Or fallen out of a fanny dripping with unearned wealth, like our Lords and Masters. That's a good way to solve your Cost of Living Crisis, right there.

1 hour ago, Sherrif John Bunnell said:

An early start on the marching powder for Gove this morning.

No-one could watch that and not think " What a complete c**t that man is."

You beat me to it and said exactly what I was going to say. He sprinkles coke on his cornflakes this morning.

Indicative of how seriously the government are taking this. Simply couldn't give a f**k.

11 minutes ago, Suspect Device said:

No-one could watch that and not think " What a complete c**t that man is."

You beat me to it and said exactly what I was going to say. He sprinkles coke on his cornflakes this morning.

Indicative of how seriously the government are taking this. Simply couldn't give a f**k.

Let's send an oot his tits Mickey Gove to do the media rounds so he can announce the manifesto pledge for 300k new homes isn't happening and folk were being over optimistic when thinking the PM would actually help poor people when he said he would yesterday. *snerk* 

c***s. 

On 05/05/2022 at 17:17, Billy Jean King said:

I would suggest that if the massive dunt in disposable income created by the energy price hikes isn't slowing spending then a quarter % rise in interest rates is basically pissing into the wind as a measure to halt inflation. They can raise rates to their hearts content but there is very little ability / incentive to save as things stand. It's going to take literally dozens of rises this size to have the desired effect so it needs looking at from a different angle although I'm not sure there is another effective way to halt rampant inflation.

The current inflation is not really a demand side issue (and it's got very little to do with government spending in the pandemic no matter what the fiscally conservative commentators say). Sure there are some demand factors at play but it's predominantly supply side effects from the exiting pandemic and now a war in Europe. Plus there's a liberal amount of price gouging from various companies and producers (and the evidence says this is definitely happening).

Consumer spending is going to fall (and probably has already given we're in a recession) but inflation won't budge because spending is not the main driver. Interest rates won't have much impact (because they're still relatively low; because there's a significant time lag for them to have any effect; because monetary policy isn't as powerful as the central banks told everyone) but the point of the increases is just signalling.

Realistically the only way to handle this inflation is for the government to take steps to limit the damage until inflation falls back to "normal" levels. That means reducing the impact of higher prices by putting money in the pockets of low income households. It's not unrealistic to assume that a lot of low-income households were furloughed. Those same households saw a reduction in savings during the pandemic and it's not likely that they were ever topped up again. 

The price gouging aspect won't be resolved until we move away from this current model of shareholder capitalism (and that's not going to happen). 

43 minutes ago, Clown Job said:

Crisis solved

There's been a few posters on here who've espoused that solution over the years, including one who's now suddenly very concerned about the plight of people on low incomes since his electric bill went up.

Assuming that there would be enough "better paid jobs" for everyone who needed one (there aren't, of course), this line of thinking implies that millions of people are receiving their shite wages for doing unnecessary work. But it's no surprise that a Tory minister would consider 'more chiefs, fewer injuns' to be a solution to employment in general.

5 minutes ago, BFTD said:

There's been a few posters on here who've espoused that solution over the years, including one who's now suddenly very concerned about the plight of people on low incomes since his electric bill went up.

Assuming that there would be enough "better paid jobs" for everyone who needed one (there aren't, of course), this line of thinking implies that millions of people are receiving their shite wages for doing unnecessary work. But it's no surprise that a Tory minister would consider 'more chiefs, fewer injuns' to be a solution to employment in general.

You conveniently didn’t go into the full story, I wonder why? :)

Ms Maclean said she was not “suggesting for one moment” that such an option would work for everyone.

But she said those with extra capacity could visit job centres to apply for either more hours or better rewarded employment.

She added: “It may be right for some people, they may be able to access additional hours, but, of course, it is not going to work for people who are already in three jobs.

“That’s why we need to have the other measures, such as all the help we are putting into schools, the help with the local authorities … and that’s where we are going to target help to where it is most needed.”

Sounds like it’s general advice, and good advice at that.

People often want to blame the government for all their problems, whereas in reality it’s not as simple as that.

If someone is struggling due to the cost of living then you’ll often find a story behind it of someone not having saved and planned for the future.  Not saying the government shouldn’t try to make it easier for people, but blaming them for everything is crazy.