QP v Alloa

35 minutes ago, Ben Reilly said:

Robson man of the match for me. He put in some shift (unfortunately with little reward) on a heavy pitch and as a result you could tell he was knackered and had to come off.

Hopefully he can help Bruce develop to a similar standard.

I thought Gillies did pretty well when he came on, but we missed how effective going forward Doyle had been in the first half. Hopefully not a serious injury that forced that change.

Fox had some great moment at both ends, and Grant was solid again.

McHugh put in a good shift also and looked like he was the one who could have forced a goal somehow. His second one that hit the bar would have been a great goal.

Lastly Ferrie kept us in it with some important saves.

Frustrating that with a number if good performances (even on that pitch) that we couldnt have been a few goals up by half time

I think the way we started today is the best line up available to us with the current injuries, even though I don't think we can get the best out of both Brown and Connell when one of them has to play deeper. Hopefully we can keep a settled team for the rest of the season and have everything clicking in time for the playoffs.

If Robson was injured or indeed knackered then so be it but the whole thing feels like a bit of a PR stunt for the “Youth Academy” with stage-managed photos already having already been posted online.

Peter Grant was a warrior today, throwing himself in for blocks and tackles with no hesitation despite his injury track record. A great example for the rest of the squad to hopefully follow.

14 minutes ago, Spider Rico said:

If Robson was injured or indeed knackered then so be it but the whole thing feels like a bit of a PR stunt for the “Youth Academy” with stage-managed photos already having already been posted online.

Aye, you’ve caught us. We had a half hour meeting on Thursday on how best to promote Bruce’s debut. 

4 hours ago, an86 said:

Credit to Darcy, a worldy of a strike. Tells you where our mentality is when we’re running over the to the bench to celebrate an equaliser at home to a bottom half side with five minutes left. If Fraser Fyvie screams one in for Cove in similar circumstances, they’re getting the ball out of the net, facing Alloa down and carrying themselves like a team who fancies winning the game.

Agree 100% with you, but to be fair to Bob McHugh, his reaction was to get the ball off the Alloa keeper and get it back to the centre circle asap 

2 hours ago, Ben Reilly said:

Robson man of the match for me. He put in some shift (unfortunately with little reward) on a heavy pitch and as a result you could tell he was knackered and had to come off.

Hopefully he can help Bruce develop to a similar standard.

I thought Gillies did pretty well when he came on, but we missed how effective going forward Doyle had been in the first half. Hopefully not a serious injury that forced that change.

Fox had some great moment at both ends, and Grant was solid again.

McHugh put in a good shift also and looked like he was the one who could have forced a goal somehow. His second one that hit the bar would have been a great goal.

Lastly Ferrie kept us in it with some important saves.

Frustrating that with a number if good performances (even on that pitch) that we couldnt have been a few goals up by half time

I think the way we started today is the best line up available to us with the current injuries, even though I don't think we can get the best out of both Brown and Connell when one of them has to play deeper. Hopefully we can keep a settled team for the rest of the season and have everything clicking in time for the playoffs.

I agree, Robson or Grant for man of the match in my opinion. Grant had another great game today. 

I certainly think Brown needs to do more to warrant getting 3 man of the match’s this season.  

Fox has been good for us but I can’t help but notice that’s twice his man has scored from a corner in the last 3 games he’s played.

25 minutes ago, OMalley58 said:

I agree, Robson or Grant for man of the match in my opinion. Grant had another great game today. 

I certainly think Brown needs to do more to warrant getting 3 man of the match’s this season.  

Fox has been good for us but I can’t help but notice that’s twice his man has scored from a corner in the last 3 games he’s played.

Liam Brown definitely has ability and has shown he can be a good player, but he absolutely stunk the place out today. Genuine contender for worst player on the park. Absolutely leathered two passes out of the park.

That Darcy strike is even better than I remember it and is right up there with one of the best I’ve seen from us - I’m not blaming anyone for going radge after that hits the net. 

Fine margins this one. Really good start and rattled the bar a couple of times. If we defend better it’s not a corner. It we defend the corner better it’s not a goal (keeper comes a long way to not get anything on it?).

Got to imagine Darcy has played himself into the starting 11. That’s the kind of impact we need off the bench. Less said about the scouse partycrasher the better.

12 hours ago, Spider Rico said:

It was fairly obvious that Robson was struggling to keep getting up and down the wing for a while before he came off, but credit to him for the amount of effort he was still putting in.

From the Match Preview it was clear that Beuker was keen to get Bruce involved sooner or later. And as he then said in the post match interview, Bruce is our only cover for Robson, so he needs to be ready to play if Robson is injured, suspended or in this case tiring. I'm not sure how many yellow cards Robson has had so far this season, but I don't remember him being suspended yet, so perhaps he's close to the threshold and so it makes sense to me to give Bruce some minutes near the end of a few games so he's got that under his belt before we're forced into playing him.

Lastly, with the greatest of respect to our excellent photographer, the photos of Bruce coming on are far from his best. They look far more candid than stage managed to me.

Edited to add, since writing the above I've seen the other post with the 'staged' photos of Bruce. Great pictures for him to remember the occasion of his first appearance. Good work snapper👍

Edited by Ben Reilly

9 minutes ago, Anonymous Spider said:

That Darcy strike is even better than I remember it and is right up there with one of the best I’ve seen from us - I’m not blaming anyone for going radge after that hits the net. 

Fine margins this one. Really good start and rattled the bar a couple of times. If we defend better it’s not a corner. It we defend the corner better it’s not a goal (keeper comes a long way to not get anything on it?).

Got to imagine Darcy has played himself into the starting 11. That’s the kind of impact we need off the bench. Less said about the scouse partycrasher the better.

To be fair, from his interview, Darcy sounds pretty Scouse too 🙂

15 hours ago, an86 said:

I know there will be a school of thought that will take the positive from drawing further ahead of Falkirk. We shouldn’t even be looking at that. Anyone taking positives from that is kidding themselves on. 31% win ratio in League One is abysmal. We are rubbish.

Really.

A 31%-win ratio while hardly the stuff of champions, seems par for the course for teams who sit fourth in their leagues:

Hibs 30%, ICT 37% & Edin City 41%  - of course I could pick the loss ratio and argue we are would beaters:

Hibs 36% ICT 27% Edin City 39% and the mighty QP 13%!  

Hold on, just wait till I work out our Draw-Ratio........

We are nowhere near being rubbish.

49 minutes ago, CathcartSkins said:

Really.

A 31%-win ratio while hardly the stuff of champions, seems par for the course for teams who sit fourth in their leagues:

Hibs 30%, ICT 37% & Edin City 41%  - of course I could pick the loss ratio and argue we are would beaters:

Behave, in what world is 2 points from 9 against East Fife and 3 from 12 against Alloa (with the resources and budgets we have) not rubbish?

Beuker very confident, in fact adamant, we will be in the play-offs. I suppose another seven points might get us there🤨. Yesterday’s performance was two steps back though after the back-to-back wins. We’re still wasteful with good chances, Smith the main offender yesterday, especially the one in the second half.

Had a wee chuckle at the post-match as Beuker claimed glory, in a passive Dutch style of course, for his substitutions. Darcy’s goal was individual perfection and at 30 yards (probably up to about 50 by now for big Beardy) it’s not the kind of play we could rely on every game. Both Bob’s efforts, and Smith’s early one all coming from runs behind the defence. It clearly works but after a good opening spell it all faded away. Not the first week this has happened. It took Charlie Fox, again, to show the midfielders how to get behind a defensive line. Smith, Connell and Longridge all preferring to sit outside the box. With regard to the subs collectively, it suddenly dawned on me just what a shallow talent pool, relevant to this league, we have and finishing fourth would be a good result. Forget what it was back in the summer, this is the real QP. 

Top marks again for Robson and Fox, though the latter marked down for not staying tight to the Alloa scorer. The Ferriemania continues to puzzle me. He gets loud credit for routine saves but no mention of his effort at the Alloa goal; looked like a child trying to catch a seagull. Connell had another decent game but a bit more consistency from him would be a huge lift for the team and getting into the box more too where he’s dangerous. Not sure why Brown got pelters for yesterday? He’s been asked to do a defensive role and he’s adapted well to it. Grant looked more comfortable yesterday and his bossiness has been missed. Still a concern about pace, but that was there with Kilday too.

But if we are talking about wayward passes one player was a standout yesterday. In fact, he Is every week. Jack Thomson. I agree with Alf Stamp’s Army, there is a player in there and he showed some good stuff yesterday and is a strong player winning possession. But he must have had about 20 passes off the mark yesterday, some so far off the mark I.e. passing to people who weren’t even there, that I was beginning to worry he had concussion. If he can improve his basic passing game he’d be a big asset on the run-in. It’s pretty simple Jack; passing to opponents loses us possession. If we don’t have possession, we can’t score goals.

A nice flat surface against a team who will come at us next week. Perfect for Beukerball. 

Edited by Bring Your Own Socks

14 hours ago, NathanQP said:

Aye, you’ve caught us. We had a half hour meeting on Thursday on how best to promote Bruce’s debut. 

Sounds like a typical use of time and resource from full time Queen’s Park so far so wouldn’t be surprised. 

Strange game of football. Relieved to get the point but thought we were very poor for an hour after a good start and prior to an okay finish.

Superb goal from Darcy but will never understand why we changed back to a failing system after the equaliser rather than going for the win. Absolutely bizarre attitude from Beuker and the couching staff.

Thought Grant and Robson were our standout players. Should be slapping the captains armband on PG until the end of the season. No slight on Doyle but he’s the leader of the team and foolish to pretend otherwise.

Edited by Big Badger

3 hours ago, CathcartSkins said:

Really.

Not sure how pointing out other underachieving sides enhances your argument. Of course, neither Hibs or Inverness have anything close to the largest budgets in the league, and their fans haven’t exactly been punching the air with glee over the past couple of months. Edinburgh City are also miles behind Kelty Hearts in terms of budget, but definitely should be doing better with what they have.

Montrose went up to Peterhead yesterday and won 1-0. They played the last few minutes with nine men. We’ve shown minimal ability to see games out with eleven men. For what we’re paying, for the supposed pedigree, and the facilities/specialists these guys have access to, we are comparatively rubbish.

Even if by some unlikely chain of events we manage to shamble our way into the Championship on penalties, it’s clear out time in the summer. The standard has to rise and we need some winners, as well as quality. We have few of either. They don’t hate drawing enough, as the Marco Tardelli 1982 equaliser celebrations at the goal showed. Cove would have been back at the halfway line rapid style and Hartley would have chased them back onto the park if they’d attempted the big celebrations. Why? They are winners.

Our inability to have players run in behind and play balls into the space kills us imo. Everything is in front of the opposition defence and it’s so easy to read. So predictable. We very very rarely have runners in behind from midfield or up top. The only one to do it yesterday was Charlie Fox on one occasion ffs. Hard when they sit deep but there’s plenty of opportunities wasted. East Fife had an extremely high back line a few weeks ago and we hardly made an attempt to play a ball into space with runners. Defenders don’t like running toward their own goal!

This idea of “total football” is grand but we need to find more ways to win football matches. 

I honestly think we’re worse than before Ellis departed. We’re lucky Falkirk are poor. 

Thanks for that Darcy. Feckin screamer. 

33 minutes ago, QPSpider1867 said:

Our inability to have players run in behind and play balls into the space kills us imo. Everything is in front of the opposition defence and it’s so easy to read. So predictable. We very very rarely have runners in behind from midfield or up top. The only one to do it yesterday was Charlie Fox on one occasion ffs. Hard when they sit deep but there’s plenty of opportunities wasted. East Fife had an extremely high back line a few weeks ago and we hardly made an attempt to play a ball into space with runners. Defenders don’t like running toward their own goal!

This idea of “total football” is grand but we need to find more ways to win football matches. 

I honestly think we’re worse than before Ellis departed. We’re lucky Falkirk are poor. 

Thanks for that Darcy. Feckin screamer. 

Spot on. I see no improvement from Ellis era. Brown and Connell are becoming luxuries. We need an experienced hard grafting midfielder. Dare I say Scott Brown type. Maybe doughnuts and Irn Bru will toughen them up!

5 hours ago, CathcartSkins said:

Really.

The idea that anyone who watches football regularly, is happy with their team of (well paid) full time professionals winning NINE out of 29 league matches is fucking baffling to me.

Only managed to beat four teams in the league this season. 

1 hour ago, an86 said:

and Hartley would have chased them back onto the park if they’d attempted the big celebrations. Why? They are winners.

Agreed. The stats should be better - I would love them to better - the point being is we are where we deserve to be.

With regards to Hartley, he has had three years or so to mould that team spirirt.  Coupled with the fact (although I would have  to check am right) that Cove Rangers must have the one of most experienced and oldest teams in the league.  

Whereas we must one of the youngest and certainly the most inexperienced; hence the mistakes our younger players make.  

We are not rubbish, we are learning. And next season, our team will be all the better for it. 

4 minutes ago, Big Badger said:

The idea that anyone who watches football regularly, is happy with their team of (well paid) full time professionals winning NINE out of 29 league matches is fucking baffling to me.

Only managed to beat four teams in the league this season. 

I can assure you, I ain't happy with another draw. Am being realsitic.