Scotland v Ukraine isn’t going to be a normal game of football and we need to do something to mark the occasion and show our solidarity.

our identity is built on resisting foreign invasion and occupation, so it seems fitting that the tartan army takes a stand and helps Ukraine send Putin home tae think again! 

what does Pie&Bovril think - anyone up for helping us get the message out there? 

https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/tartan-army-defend-ukraine

3B0AED4E-5A3E-453B-84C5-FD9D780E54BA.png

Edited by Michael Catania

Scotland v Ukraine isn’t going to be a normal game of football and we need to do something to mark the occasion and show our solidarity.
our identity is built on resisting foreign invasion and occupation, so it seems fitting that the tartan army takes a stand and helps Ukraine send Putin home tae think again! 
what does Pie&Bovril think - anyone up for helping us get the message out there? 

3B0AED4E-5A3E-453B-84C5-FD9D780E54BA.thumb.png.ac6334b783531bde6627b88215fbf576.png

Great sentiment!
But we canny even send the English home tae think again.!

Think we need to move away from the Tartan army, send putin home to think again pish...and just do something practical as people.

Donations at gate.
2 quid increase to the ticket(even if already paid)
Lobby SFA to give a percentage of TV takings.
Solidarity pictures with Ukrainian fans.
Etc etc.

'our identity is built on resisting foreign invasion and occupation'

No it isn't. This isn't the 14th century.

Agree with JLD. If it is ever played (Ukraine might not exist by June) we drench the home area in as many Ukraine flags as saltires, applaud the Ukraine anthem (maybe try and learn the words, if there are any, before then). And, as JLD says, make it easier to prvide financial and practical support for Ukraine and its people.

Sentiment and language around it aside - isn’t that what we’re saying? We’re trying to encourage people to donate so we can practically support Ukraine. I think buckets at the gate are a great idea and should be part of this   campaign. Also agree with the Ukrainian anthem and flags sentiment. But don’t think that should stop us encouraging SFA fans to donate even £1 ahead of the game to the crowd funder would make a big difference. 

1 hour ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Great sentiment!
But we canny even send the English home tae think again.!

Think we need to move away from the Tartan army, send putin home to think again pish...and just do something practical as people.

Donations at gate.
2 quid increase to the ticket(even if already paid)
Lobby SFA to give a percentage of TV takings.
Solidarity pictures with Ukrainian fans.
Etc etc.

Think we need a campaign to build around some of what you’re saying here - would be good to get a team together that want to work on this ahead of the game if interested 

3 hours ago, Michael Catania said:

Ukraine are currently fighting for their independence.

Scotland couldn't even be arsed voting for it.

2 hours ago, scottsdad said:

Wouldn't it be better to send the money for humanitarian aid (helping the refugees) rather than funding military aid?

Wouldn’t disagree with sending humanitarian aid - and there’s a lot of that going on already. I’ve added a link below if you’re interested - but I think it’s important to recognise that this is a war, Ukraine is under constant bombardment and it needs military support in order to be able to defend its citizens. I’m hoping as Scotland fans we can help them do that. 

https://www.justgiving.com/campaign/ukraine-aid-help-now

Edited by Michael Catania

42 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
1 hour ago, JohnoB said:
Presumably we can expect heavy fines, considering how eager the footballing authorities were to fine clubs for the display of Palestinian flags?

Nah as that was basically one club (aka a cheek) doing that in a pathetic tit-for-tat move.

I see. So it's a pathetic tit-for-tat move when it doesn't fit the Western political agenda. I notice that other club never picked up any fines for the display of the flag of an apartheid regime. Interesting.

Two cheeks, it's always two cheeks. At least you accept that. Wee clue, Ukraine international world wide football support, Palestinian/Isreali flags....two cheeks only.

Pathetic losers the pair of them.

DEC or UNHCR are the two you want just now. Both specialise in humanitarian response and refugee support. 

I'm always a little wary of organisations who have very little track record of handling large sums of cash, their total donations in 2020 was less than £7k. 

1 hour ago, Hawk89 said:

DEC or UNHCR are the two you want just now. Both specialise in humanitarian response and refugee support. 

I'm always a little wary of organisations who have very little track record of handling large sums of cash, their total donations in 2020 was less than £7k. 

0_Tom-Moore-Military-Veteran-Who-Raised-

22 hours ago, Michael Catania said:

our identity is built on resisting foreign invasion and occupation

Scotland in the 14th century was a multi-lingual multi-ethnic mixture of Gaels, Britons, Norse, Normans, Flemish and Northumbrians.

Some of those Norman landholders had a war with other Norman landholders. 

9 hours ago, Billy Jean King said:

Two cheeks, it's always two cheeks. At least you accept that. Wee clue, Ukraine international world wide football support, Palestinian/Isreali flags....two cheeks only.

Pathetic losers the pair of them.

You realise there's nothing remotely coherent about the point you're making? What is occurring in Palestine under Israeli occupation is very much the same as what we're seeing in Ukraine right now. The only thing that is different is the rhetoric being used by our politicians and media.