Conquering Scotland

AsimButtHitsASix

1 hour ago, LoonsYouthTeam said:

Good luck with this, cracking idea. Reckon winning the Aberdeen Cup will be a tough one, have Aberdeen won it every year or have Cove won any?

image.thumb.png.91d2da918704248fc50792c0e0a34e16.png

Cove have won the last two. Cove have reached the top flight three times and been relegated straight away each time (including this year) and Aberdeen are doing Aberdeen things of sitting in the European places every year but naw really winning anything. All the other Aberdeen teams are below the Lowland League with the better ones in the North Region Superleague

image.png.21d6055e5b3f8697c2763a5794d77d62.png

Season 12: Banks O' Dee (Season 1)

North Region Superleague

image.thumb.png.d217eb22e036c11f0df54c19cc80e20e.png

Tight at the top eh?  We'll return to the run in at the end, we clearly have the toughest one, but we have a little bit of room for error.

image.thumb.png.5d8cd00fcd77f706194ae0146e629ee4.png

Obviously the team that came down from the Highland League were not good enough so a lot left and I had no money to bring anyone in so relied on amateur contracts and youth contracts. The team I inherited did have a decent centre back pairing but nothing much going forward. As the year went on I was able to bring in a really good midfielder and then a quality regen came through up front and a couple of loans over the January transfer window. Went from fannying around at the bottom of the chasing pack to right at the top. Quietly confident. Look at these finances tho':

image.png.7902997efa5b667e8333c267987ca1e5.png

Shite.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.c4f4a6b4eec389597b17fe76bbfa1d68.png

No club has had as bad a drop from grace in game as Pollok (1st Division to WoSFL 2nd Division) but they're only one tear below me so that was a good away win. Bo'ness Athletic are also in the tier below but tore me apart. Raging. We need the money from a cup run as well. Maybe we'll get it elsewhere?

The Quaich

image.thumb.png.bc93a6831936dd23a48069de6b9a7124.png

A decent run which brought in about £50k. On one hand I'm chuffed we got as far as we did as Buckie Thistle went down to 10 men in the first half and still outplayed us and it took two defensive howlers for us to score but, on the other, I think we coulda took Medda at home. Nothing went our way. 

ETA: We got biggest overachievers once the competition wrapped up so maybe I'm being a bit harsh in saying we coulda done better.

North Region Cup

image.thumb.png.eed226642bd83ad398778a050c0238bb.png

We shoulda done better here but this is the cup I care least about I guess. I wonder if it was the same 73 people at both games against Buchanhaven Jambos. 

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.1ab975d1b909e30fca0ea2da468f689a.png

The absolute worst possible draw is Cove Rangers away. No chance of progression and a relatively shit crowd. For the next two or three years, when I know winning the cup is beyond me, I'm hoping to get Aberdeen away or in the final to get ticket money. 

Run In

image.png.ce71fc065f2bcbb6133e36eecb24e0b5.png

Results went our way. Beith is a guy I got on loan from Coldstream from the SoSFL out of desperation who has now scored 14 goals since arriving mid January. He's my hero. I love him more than my own balls.

image.png.204b9b2a666992e2e66a397357597b7a.png

Beith is my hero. Now just one win away from the league and promotion.

image.thumb.png.08f9655dc3993adae4e44320bed4b738.png

We won. See ye next year in the Highland League.

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix

Season 13: Banks O'Dee (Season 2)

Highland League

Well this league is tight as f**k by the way.

image.thumb.png.836db583900b16f3b92faa8110cb99c3.png

image.thumb.png.b45ab286fd93e250b55c67662b57c51a.png

There was a point, in October, Brora were four points clear of me in second and Montrose Roselea were bottom, seven points off 15th and about ten away from safety and Roselea won 5-0 away to Brora. We've managed to go five games without a win and remain in the promotion spots. We went to Invergordon needing a win to get back into the play off spots and they needed a draw to go top and we spanked them 6-1. It's a weird league. At Christmas I think there were 8 points between 1st and 14th. With the games in hand we have ye'd imagine play offs, at a minimum, is the aim but do we have the squad to rotate two months of Sat/Wed/Sat/Wed? Why do we have so many games in hand?

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.992609280678fcf2a16d84ab91ae31a9.png

Nearly threw away a 3-0 lead at home to Dunoon, fucking Dunoon, of all teams. I shouted abuse at the ferry from my window for that cheek. Longside never got a single shot in a win where we never go out of gear but Forfar of the 2nd Division done the same to us a fortnight later.

The Quaich

image.thumb.png.be385134ff3e6789a7b5cb384d49d3a7.png

A good run and some decent cash. Was a last minute winner for Brora, annoying, but we are running of steam now. Need to get some rotation in the team. Played the reserves v Kennoway, both matches, so very jammy to get through. Dalkeith are running away with the Lowland League which gives me hope we can still go up if we end up in the play offs.

Highland/Lowland League Cup

image.thumb.png.de097f9a083eb36158acc71d738c3767.png

Now that I've played in it a few times I shoulda dingied this cup and just added the HL/LL teams to the Challenge Cup. Or, I dunno, included teams from absolute diddy leagues like the Faroes or Andorra for a laugh. It's such a boring cup. Still, unbeaten run in a weird way int it? Two fairly even games v Burgh but naw fussed.

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.c36f46fae3eb40d456050ad7ea4e977e.png

We are so clearly the third best team in Aberdeen. All the other teams are so far below us it's not funny. Annoyingly mid table in the 1st Division Cove beat Aberdeen on penalties which cost us an extra 15,000 paying customers for the final. Also we were 1-0 up until 1st half injury time before they scored on the break from our corner. Fairly even all game but they did create the better chances and were clinical with them. I thought we were at least two or three years away from winning this cup. I'd be surprised if we manage it before we make the 1st Division/turn professional but maybe it's not the impossible task it once seemed.

Run in...

image.png.764fe922f8c626a2428c302542e6cc00.png

That couldn't have went much better. After our second goal Brora had us under siege and ended up with a far better xG but I trust my defence and we held firm even if we didn't have as much of a bite on the break as I would have liked. This is easily the trickiest tie of the run in as well.

image.png.8705a51daad739d0c08a5446582fdd24.png

Almost chucked that one away. No-one else was playing so that's one of the games in hand swapped for three points.

image.png.8af729bab468501f712ec94fd3dff321.png

My old team beating Invergordon means they can no longer catch me but I shat the bed here. I thought three wins in the run would be enough and I still reckon no-one will top 53 points. Nae need to panic.

image.png.3f8ddcca65fb90a106136e7b576dd38f.png

Once again we are falling apart in the last half hour. Forres Mechanics up next. They caught up a wee bit with the goal difference today as well. Brora lost midweek so they're now unlikely to catch up.

image.png.45f7e162d05d888fb01c94a97b32b4db.png

Still not mathematically certain but I am calling it. A surprisingly straightforward win aside from them missing a 3rd minute penalty. See ye in the SPFL next season.

Season 14: Banks O' Dee (Season 3)

Third Division

image.thumb.png.9e69c8933ff297e27b8e2669d6d09443.png

We're now at the point where those £1,000,000+ local authority cup wins are starting to be felt in the game. Campbeltown and Bressay are the obvious ones who've won a few and use the money to go professional but Berwick, Bonnyrigg, Keith and Fraserburgh (from memory) have all nicked a few. The two Uni sides have been set to always amateur but, them aside, semi-pro teams are in the minority in this league so it's a lot harder than when I made it here with Wemyss Bay (who got relegated so we will face them next year). Promotion aint impossible, indeed, I was 2nd for a good while until it kinda fell away at the 20 game mark, but it was a tight league and getting even three wins in a row was nigh on impossible.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.c8d0f8dc7419155fede7abd8372952a9.png

Now, in my defence regarding that horrific result v Falkirk... I knew I was gonna get beat but I had already decided to go more attacking in the league as draws were not going to be enough to make the play off positions (in the end a 5-0 defeat v Berwick in the penultimate game screwed me anyway) so I decided to keep the league tactic in my cup game. Falkirk ripped me apart. The crowd money from that Falkirk game finally got me out of debt so I still count it as a win.

Challenge Cup

image.thumb.png.485a153dcba4aa63826fa4493a9fef3d.png

A very palindromic first game v Talbot. 2 down after 5 minutes then 3 down after 15 before I done the kinda opposite in return. I ended up with an xG above 5 in that match so was somehow disappointed with a 3-3 draw after being 3-0 down. Shat it in the 2nd leg. 

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.5f5904de91e230170d72fda08f0a3503.png

That Sunnybank game was incredible. Absolute bore fest with almost no attacking highlights from either team. We had a fella sent off early in the 2nd half then they got two sending offs in the last ten minutes before scoring a 92nd minute "winner". I was playing a 4-2-3-1 and just took the striker off after the sending off hoping the AMC set as a shadow striker would be enough (it usually is) but once they score I threw both my full backs up front for a 2-2-3-2 set up. We hit the post twice in the next five minutes before that equaliser. Check out the ridiculous xG:

image.png.230afa2673f523346a50efdf47bc4245.png

Still miles off Cove who are b*****ds. 

Season 15: Banks O' Dee (Season 4)

Third Division

Well after being in the play off spots for half the season and consolidating our place in the SPFL this is now the time to launch a promotion bid...

image.thumb.png.8f4e7ece9ec3556dc20dfee7e8972367.png

Or spend almost the entire season in 15th place. We're now unbeaten in 7 in the league after falling eight points behind 13th. Those games v Stirling Uni and East Stirling look well important. Where did it go wrong? Well...

...our best player left. Always an issue. And a coupla important players were now into their mid 30s and could no longer hack it. I've been completely unable to bring in better quality but brought in a number of young players who weren't as good in the hope they'd improve over the season. The run we're on now shows they have improved but, also, a number have already been snapped up. Look at what we lost in January alone...

image.png.3670f097aaa86726ab1dfee9593b5d73.png

a handful have returned on loan but that's put a spanner in the works. Yet we remain unbeaten despite them all fucking off. We'll see how the rest of the season goes. My board confidence is still B+ so I doubt I'll be bagged if I go down but, if I do, I'm just gonna call Aberdeen as failed. 

Challenge Cup

image.thumb.png.96bab85a073ebe5398fcb36db449dc44.png

We seem a bit jinxed in this competition. Wouldn't mind a wee run in it but it also bores the f**k out of me.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.b5efafb67d528c2bde77c020835174e2.png

A very stupid sending off by a Stoneywood player saved our blushes against them as it gave us the entire second half to come back from 2-1 down. That aside it was straightforward wins against lower league sides until we finally got a game v one of the Old Firm. After an 8-1 spanking by Falkirk I thought current six-in-a-row Celtic would destroy us but we kept the score down and hit the post ourselves twice. Although, to be honest, it coulda been 4 or 5 to Celtic easy.

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.2f6ff85a5a3d2a5e65d2833fc93331fc.png

I have no idea how we played so well v Aberdeen. They were lucky to take us to penalties. Outplayed them in both halves and gave me hope for the final v Cove. Aye, right. b*****d Cove. Still waiting on a big payday v Aberdeen in this competition. 

Run in...

image.png.3eadc38e3fa14aa0e7ca671df6305b73.png

Well we climb out of the relegation places with a tense finish away to Stirling Uni who now look doomed. Some effort from Broomhill in their game but f**k 'em.

image.png.fa1d1b98b673c86f89d4897cc24ddda5.png

Our defeat was expected but Stirling Uni chucking away a 1-0 lead v Broomhill in the last ten minutes was a right kick in the balls. Just before this match I was just offered a new contract so doubt I'll be bagged if relegated. We'll see... (well... hopefully we wont)

image.png.432d077559dc7960f9bf859b30bbd735.png

Well it all comes to the final day. In the 87th minute we got a penalty, missed it, they scored on the counter and that was that. We need to win and Broomhill need to lose. Simple.

Final day

image.png.8de351790a77f930c7af81a5b3af55e2.png

Oh bother

image.png.c1f0f5155dbc1cbe3dfbf888ed7a3eb1.png

Shite

image.png.1f652bb20b1e6ad64d8cfa5433e347f8.png

Slightly less shite... we've been all over East Stirling with nothing to show for it...

image.png.454c7fe8838a35be50b5518e833be585.png

Just need a goal for ourselves and one more for Bonnyrigg but we're into the 80th minute now...

image.thumb.png.cac2b074424fd74152e1cffd3a4bbfcc.png

I missed this goal because I was about to throw everycunt up front. I presume it was a worldy.

image.png.a2bfccff6c88975b393dfca41295206d.png

That actually was a worldy. 2-0 up. 5 minutes to wait on the Rose to score...

image.png.3f99be207bc949c8692869dc8910b3e6.png

Hahaha.. Roon ye.

image.png.775ec178926a921593fd7d6583289ea3.png

FUCKING YASS!

image.png.c075f5ddbcf4e987b83057cd5e422eeb.png

FUCKING YASSS!

image.png.58d503f9349110ab840776a7169720da.png

FUCKING NAW!

But it ended that way meaning...

image.png.97f482300db6c639919025fa26fdbf7c.png

Well, well, well...

I dunno if I have the quality to get out of this league without the team turning professional. We're about to lose some of our better players, again, and nothing my scouts or I are finding match up.

Season 16: Banks O' Dee (Season 5)

Third Division

After a late goal saved my skin last year I had nae money so brought in two squad players. One on loan from Hearts and one who had been released from Hearts. Both decent players but lost a few first teamers. A season of struggle awaits...

image.thumb.png.e508469b51a2deae07b1f746488be02c.png

Or we'll just win the league at a canter. Wtf?

The season before we did sign a lot of young players and they certainly improved as the year went on. They just kept improving. Almost all of my players this year have been sold but, each time, I ensured the transfer didn't go through until the end of the season. So got a bit of a rebuild coming up. Fingers crossed I can turn pro this year as well but we'll come back to that.

Challenge Cup

image.thumb.png.9ca9930c4741ac6f2c9df68a216cd10e.png

Finally a bit of a run in this competition. Still don't care about it.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.1a2e1386b308ddc3c90dcbbeb8ab103a.png

I guess every result went the way expected there. Bit gutted that Celtic's attendance was so shite but still a decent payday. 

Aberdeen City Cup

Remember these cups had a maximum of three foreigners? Here's a wee snip of my team's nationalities...

image.png.fcab3978cb47029500e0fb17d14e9dcb.png

Just bear that in mind right?

image.thumb.png.10e4d6802040fe033d6a30315500ee59.png

We played a 15 year old centreback who I just signed from the youth intake a week before in that semi final and he has 2.5 star potential. Not it really is the dregs we played in the tournament this year. Also the xG for that Cove game was more like 1 v 2.5 so they just took their chances and we never. Fucking hate them.

Anyway. 2nd Division here we come. 

Season 17: Banks O'Dee (Season 6)

Second Division

image.thumb.png.339a2d983da83dc20fa0fbd23658a838.png

Been a good season all in. Slightly dodgy start then 15 games unbeaten to go top then another mini dip took us into the play off spots but we just won last week there to move back into the automatic promotion spots. Winning it seems unlikely although if we beat Raith ye never know. Clyde have the easiest run in so hard to see them chucking enough points. 

Challenge Cup

image.png.85e763b592fcf1b7efcf3da839319a2e.png

It would be very easy for me to go and double check if this is the 2nd time I've won this but I'm just gonna presume it is. I won this with Wemyss Bay. 96% sure. And now I won it with Banks O'Dee.

image.thumb.png.6985926a0e1128cfd9eed05bd20b14fe.png

As you can tell Eddie "On Fire" McGuire was the reason we won this. Got him on loan from Sevco and he's average over a goal a game. I love him. Hands down the best striker I've had in this save. Probably best player. Let's hope I don't need to play this competition again eh? Fairly straight forward until the final. Better team, thought we'd fucked it, then Eddie nipping in at the death to take it to penalties.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.e3c2dca80b0fab10d65d639a5f486776.png

Well an improvement on previous matches v Falkirk. Still think it's been a while since we've had a good run in the Scottish. Shame. Good money earner and a nice distraction. 

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.f25f57915abee3cc71290dd8ce8deffa.png

I came in at the quarter finals this year. Look how close Cove were to getting papped out in the first round by Aberdeen Uni! b*****ds! Now it was at this level with Wemyss Bay (chasing promotion to the 1st) that I was finally able to beat Morton. Will this be the year I finally beat Cove?

image.thumb.png.e9968672d4645abfe556649f93871d87.png

I fucking hate Cove. They are so much better than us.

Run in...

In the earlier kick off Raith and Forfar drew. Ideal result. But will I take advantage?

image.png.705aefd8e8e8c0a26a8092033d5da830.png

Every other team we need to worry about either drew or lost and we were on course to do the same. McGuire had a slight knock so I never started him and, despite the early goal, his replacement Jurica kept missing one-on-ones. Luckily our wee Albanian winger saved his blushes with a late double.

image.png.1a186cd4fb287f2a707c3980f7bd2a1d.png

This is, hands down, the best performance of the entire save. Raith has smashed us earlier in the year and we just bodied them. We're going up and Clyde are shitebags. This is what they get for their pro-rapist stances.

image.png.910778dd2cdbdcd684fc103a713f3df3.png

Raith knicked an injury time winner in the early game and Clyde and Forfar shat the bed. Promotion confirmed but can we win the league to go along with it?

image.thumb.png.32b3c926ecf9a5206c3f82961da119e7.png

YASSS! We done the double. Hopefully we go full time and smash these Cove Bay c***s next year. 

Season 18: Banks O'Dee (Season 7)

First Division

image.thumb.png.316a0898b67c161d30017772d301bf6a.png,

There was a glut of really good free transfers kicking about so I was very hopeful of staying up, even if through the play-offs but no way did I think I would do this well. On a good bit of form, the easiest run in and the other promotion challengers all playing each other? Ye never know. Motherwell at home is the big game here.

League Cup

image.thumb.png.90a3f12081a85c936c3b54ddf2a2f2c9.png

Weird thing by the way. Against both Hearts and St. Johnstone at home we conceded two goals in injury time. We were very lucky that never bit us on the arse I guess. Hearts are the 2nd team in Scotland now by a bit of a distance so that, in particular, was a great result.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.21fdec7505b5a1064538b78632282406.png

That is genuinely shocking. Full team played. Aye we got a man sent off in the 1st half but, even then, we were outplayed before that. We were wild against Gretna. Came from fucking nowhere. Just papped out at home by a team fighting against relegation to the Lowland League.

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.dae47f6673ae086d6e7bb7d118a06663.png

The board have already told me this tournament aint important. So I've rised that high in the game they don't care about it but, obviously, I fucking do. I think the same thing that happened with Wemyss Bay/Morton may be the same here in that I will need to catch Aberdeen in an early round when they play the weans? Having said that I'm laughing at Cove going down as I go up. Maybe I'll overtake mid table Aberdeen next season?

Still part time by the way.

The run in...

image.png.84123f73f4b87aacb9b027186a30adf2.png

A lovely comeback win coupled with Clyde and Motherwell drawing means...
image.png.bc99eeb31d2ea29263eb4b0657c8ef0c.png

We were the early kick off the following week...

image.png.17bf966a6207ab8fd18a7bb00cf66f5c.png

Doesn't matter when ye score them!

image.png.d061766be598db126776be3a971f7a11.png

Play offs it is. Just never turnt up til we were already 4-0 down.  Play offs it is...

Play offs

Semi finals and final are both one off matches at neutral venues. So we have Clyde at Dens. We beat them 3-0 at Broadwood and they beat us 4-1 at Spain Park. So could go either way but we finished 4th in the end so are the best of the rest...

image.png.aa0c15c91bd1043fd3c427b2e6b3fe79.png

One game away from the fucking Premier League!

That game is against Ayr United at McDairmid. They beat us 2-0 at Spain and we drew 1-1 in whatever the new stadium they have is called. Dunfermline took them to extra time in the other semi so hoping that works in our favour. 

image.png.a46bac7722ee93e4c7e82633b6ad561c.png

b*****ds. Absolute b*****ds

image.thumb.png.854ce14b610308b146ecae4023d75b0d.png

Thanks Ayr. Kids crying now.

Season 19: Banks O' Dee (Season 8 )

First Division

image.thumb.png.b7ce641e97cab69f07acbac746c99456.png

Now, just to let ye know, we drew at home to Gala and Dunfermline won so we're now second on goal difference. We had an amazing first half of the season but since then we've won 5, drew 4 and lost 1. Not awful but bad enough for Dunfermline to catch up after we went about 8 points clear at one point. Ach well promotion should be guaranteed as long as we don't lose every game. 

League Cup

image.thumb.png.e81dbf028b834fbb10b5e3f7879d8719.png

A fantastic run and a decent performance in the final. First national cup final, good money earner, done well. Absolutely cheated by the ref:

image.png.3fc107e33825a71f7c8290816c4ecf32.png

Obviously when we hammered Aberdeen that gave me a lot of hope of the Aberdeen Cup as well.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.dbc08d3b18c4c9a120f1ddb4a6efd7af.png

Always disappointing when ye go out to a team below you in the league but, overall, not the worst run. I've been a bit shit in the Scottish for a good decade now.

Aberdeen City Cup

image.thumb.png.19ad0a8fcc9ce11a7cf5714a38874b80.png

Cheated again. Two dodgy pens put them 2-0 up but we also missed our own stonewaller. I can't believe I'm gonna get Banks O'Dee in the fucking Premier League before we win this shitty cunting cup. 

image.png.7cce443fe62bf576c75bbd32b3b9cfc1.png

On the other hand we bitch slapped Cove in this cup again. I fucking hate them. 

The run in...

image.png.736c8ab98c746d81479673fa5854c5f8.png

Dunfermline got a 2-0 win v Dumbarton so stay ahead on goal difference but my goal difference means I'm all but promoted.

image.png.7ec3438f5198d22d008d2177f9fe07d3.png

94 minutes of playing with 10 men before Dumbarton get a penalty that has hurt my very soul. We've fucked it. Ach well. Promoted at least. Let's see how next week goes...

image.png.0c46cad44c396d9f0d53590c4a43a8e0.png

Well hello.....

image.thumb.png.7f5915fa0a2a134d1c70a493c27e0cc4.png

Bottled it. Of all the times for my defenders to completely forget how to defend! Ach well. Promotion is good stuff. Premier League! Annoyingly Cove Rangers are also coming up with us. 19% of the Premier League is now from Aberdeen. 

Season 20: Banks O' Dee (Season 9)

Premier League

This is the 20th year so I'll post some screenies later to let you see how the game is progressing. Any requests let me know. In the meantime I can confirm we are no longer top of the league...

image.thumb.png.e4e96165f48219a0525b4851ab3f55fb.png

One third of all the clubs battling relegation (Queen of the South are already relegated) are from Aberdeen. We're the best of the lot of them but don't let that top half of the table smugness fool ye. We have the worst run in of the lot. As well as 2nd and 3rd in the league we've never actually beat the other three teams we're due to face (Motherwell, Kilmarnock and St. Mirren). Fair enough we've only played St. Mirren and Killie once and, technically, we're unbeaten v St. Mirren but Motherwell always hammer us. Killie are currently in 4th as well and should get into Europe.  Anyway a win will probably keep us in the play offs at least. Two might be enough to keep us out the play offs altogether but I doubt it. 

League Cup

image.thumb.png.abb5b9b5848ebd6e24bf21f78878e2a9.png

A very even game v Dundee but they took their chances at home and we couldn't score for love not nor money that day. Spanked Morton without breaking a sweat. We had two really good runs in this cup while in the 1st division so maybe due an average one.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.d16970327059405e482fef4d0ae060ef.png

A few simple wins v some non-entities. One more to go...

image.png.decbe7c97c1db4dc1bbf6674f0ad56e2.png

Wee team from smelly suburb of Glasgow absolutely skelpt. Pleasing.

2nd division Gala in the next round. 

image.thumb.png.641de06a852a354a93bffffe8bdfa445.png

Hammered them twice but completely unable to score until a stramash from a corner. Don't think they had a shot on target over the 180 minutes. St. Johnstone in the quarter finals...

image.png.a461146f78ca866f75fbe36fa698e6c5.png

Some game that. Shoulda been out of sight by halftime. They equalised early in the 2nd half and showed a bit of pressure but ran amok in the last ten minutes and scored two more to seal it.

Semi finals...

image.png.3689dd3595505e2cb3d0956da4c2fc46.png

Do I have a team full of bottle merchants who can't win games their performance deserves when it matters?... time will tell

City of Aberdeen Cup

image.thumb.png.547779c2c39ff966c0835d22b59b9e21.png

Cove in the final after they beat Aberdeen on pens in the other semi...

image.png.6cdcbbbbbbb194ab6c4c2727e275c203.png

Jammy. Jammy. Jammy c***s.

image.png.6538e7dae4c402f20c8f215c172832d2.png

I'm away for a cry.

Run in...

image.png.9a379466aaf2da3ee3add00aedb2ac12.png

Very unfortunate not to draw in a very close game. Dunfermline should overtake us by spanking QotS tomorrow. Cove Rangers now can only make the play offs at best but will be officially relegated very shortly I'd imagine. 

image.png.14394e22376ada2867239bce314f4d0a.png

A very big win there. Should be safe from relegation now and a decent chance of escaping the play offs entirely with this points total. Imagine Aberdeen went down with Cove. Lol.

image.png.0ffd8d8691d64f0249784388fba88dcb.png

The bogiest of bogey teams away from home, 2-0 down after half an hour and completely outplayed for 85 of the 90 minutes. I see this as a great result. Surely one win will keep me safe from here?

image.png.0a2b7f0cbf33a327bf3c3d93aa30d6ed.png

Ok mathematically I can go down, I guess, I aint checked the fixture list, but I'm safe and naw far aff Europe! The best team in Aberdeen. Still can't win that fucking cup. Next year is the final chance and I am 90% sure my team will be weaker. Got a bit of a Golden Generation here

Some of the best players from my Banks O' Dee run

image.thumb.png.a5b813b77c04f0afcffb8074f2a82187.png

OK. Maybe not the best but I love this boy. Is a sold 7 in five positions. Looks like his loan wont be getting extended this year and I'll miss him

image.thumb.png.5d3c7fb3d1d47ebddc167aad039b6da7.png

Best position is striker but has been played almost exclusively as a left winger. Great scoring record from out there.

image.thumb.png.b0df994af8507136728c5939eb963031.png

That goal scoring record is even better when you include cup runs. He also covered on the right wing fairly often. I kept him through the middle he'd probably be hitting a goal a game.

image.thumb.png.4f101d96620782039c22477a9a399961.png

I dunno how I managed to get Lyon's first choice keeper and the France U21 captain on a free transfer but I am glad I did. He was the reason we went up last year. I love him.

image.thumb.png.0bca807423c8fb53e8e0312055aa6461.png

This kid was the absolute backbone of my first few years at Banks O' Dee. Not even sure I woulda got out the North Superleague without him. 

Wasn't at Hamnavoe long but this guy was good...

image.thumb.png.607cb35bdfc98bc8dea35807ee251d60.png

I would say more about him but he gave me the KB at Banks O' Dee so he can go f**k himself. He was a good player. Either win or through the middle.

And of all the players I signed in the last decade maybe this guy has done the best. He's managed a cap for Switzerland...

image.thumb.png.326567da4705905f181b840d16fcb614.png

Competitions?

image.thumb.png.9768332cc9a3eb75783127da74284655.png

image.thumb.png.0b2168b6792a25a238421e783e4c5f49.png

image.thumb.png.8d8c5713120bf865d2121ba436aecaae.png

image.thumb.png.14f2ff63141c4cf48cdd45dac906a7a9.png

image.png

I took another screenie of me top of the league after two games for a laugh again as a memento but, meh, two games is nothing. I lost the next three and was settling in for a mid-table existence and waiting for the Aberdeen Cup... but...

image.png.ea616a32a22e177a47e55a173502e0f6.png

Ye never know...

Season 21: Banks O' Dee (Season 10 - Final Season)

Premier League

Don't mind me. Just trying to qualify for the Champions League...

image.png.1b444bd1de96cf0549f65c07beb9f6fc.png

Still unlikely we'll do it tbh. We have a tricky run in...

image.png.14520496c8625d3850bf83508d01d172.png

Livingston got bought over by some Arab billionaire last season and have spent £40,000,000 this year. 

Anyway a quite amazing run thanks, in no small part, to Eddie McGuire. I had him on loan in my first year in the 1st division but snapped him up for £500k when Rangers put him on the transfer list...

image.png.1cb7197399f9aa1d779841b2e0142995.png

He's had a good year no doubt. 

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.27d63ff1e509b735473648b25fac32b3.png

Games of shooty-in v the wee teams then all over Ross County without managing to get the necessary goal but made amends in the replay. We were dug meat in the first half against Accies for no discernible reason and lucky to go in 2-0. We were amazing in the 2nd half but couldnae score til it was too late. Ach well.

League Cup

image.thumb.png.0b655645f861296177ea3f36972cc860.png

Played squad players and never the first choice XI for the entire League Cup and amazed we done so well. Nice wee money earner with two games v the Old FIrm as well. 

Aberdeen City Cup

image.png.7676abc11bca1d1105a83cc8d2e27795.png

The big one. My tenth, and final, attempt at winning the Aberdeen City Cup. We're better than Aberdeen. Let's do this...

image.thumb.png.ea97d639cdb6f5c7f6c4c0f510601c36.png

f**k.

image.thumb.png.4d359a94a7cb5950a1c34c23f5bcdd21.png

Double f**k.

Decided to play an injured McGuire anyway. He missed a penalty in a very even game.

image.png.b8f0eb87ae56f4bde95e7ecf394044eb.png

Well time to apply for other jobs. 

image.thumb.png.a370c97eab806e0e29709269ca2ae028.png

Season 21: Clackmannan CFC

Clackmannan - Wikipedia

On one hand I leave Banks O'Dee a failure who couldn't win the Aberdeen City Cup in ten attempts but, on the other, have taken them a coupla games away from the Champions League and to a national cup final and made them the best team in Aberdeen. I move to Clackmannanshire where every single Clackmannanshire Cup, bar one, has been won by Alloa Athletic. Dollar Glen got a surprise win five year ago but it never done them any good. Clackmannan Community Football Club are in the East of Scotland 2nd Division fighting relegation to the third

Untitled.png.25276ca962227eaa35414192b3a12f8e.png

Even if I don't get out the play offs I should be ok for a win in them. Now Clackmannanshire is another place I had to bring clubs into and is a very similar save to the Inverclyde one but I'm starting at a slightly higher level than with Wemyss Bay. Clackmannan CFC were already one of the amateur teams placed into the game. I can't recall specifically (was ages ago I made the pyramid) but I think this the details for the rest...

Already in game...
Alloa Athletic
Sauchie
Tullibody

Real life amateur teams I created in game...
Alva
Dollar Glen
(Dollar)
...and made up from scratch...
Hetherington (Tillicoultry)
St. Serf's (Menstrie)

Scotland_Administrative_Map_2009.png.8d59792f5b0f8853a10ca8aae2589660.png

I was six points from safety and three points above automatic relegation and these results meant I avoided the relegation play offs on the final day...

image.thumb.png.a8e5d7ba65ac7c3e51a1e4e320a3f20c.png

The 2nd best wonderkid in the world? Some wee guy I signed for Banks O' Dee

image.png.87e1d939752dedb39516dec76e5470a0.png

Wee Banks O'Dee update. They lost three and drew one of their last four games so missed out on the Champions League and the Euro Cup but sneaked into the Euro Cup II and are on a great run. The league? Not as good but they are on course for their first Aberdeen City Cup, finally. If they win that I'll know how Jim McLean felt when Dundee United finally won the Scottish Cup without him. I'll show ye how that all panned out at season's end. Getting to the tingly bit with CCFC now...

Season 22: Clackmannan Community FC (1st season)

East of Scotland Second Division

image.thumb.png.d30085f5dc4f2200860517775e543b50.png

We had a good first ten games of the season but were sitting in 7th and in danger of falling out of the play offs after 20 games. I thought to myself.. maybe if we win every game between now and the end of the season we might finish in the top three but it's unlikely. It's still unlikely but we've won four in a row. Hard to tell where it went wrong. My usual tactics but, this time, conceded too many and no-one was scoring apart from my striker. My tactics always rely on at least one winger hitting double figures and they often end up top scorer. A coupla things I guess. I realised my fullbacks were far too slow. The scouts recommended them and I snapped them up but they were just centre backs who can play as a full back. Tall lumps but useless going forward and unable to track back quick enough if a move breaks down. Since I signed two new fullbacks we're unbeaten in the league and the really good winger I had at right wing suddenly came onto a game. He's only 18 so maybe I just needed to give him half a season to get him going. Really cannae be arsed with another season at this level so desperate to go up. If we do it will most likely be in the play offs tho'.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.427baadd7ae11792570007da3b0a3e2c.png

Decent results all against teams higher than me in the pyramid but only by a league or two. A win v Heriot-Watt woulda seen me away to Gala which would have been certain defeat but the prize money would have been useful.

The Quaich

image.thumb.png.98a836ab15053e62a624e194bdefab1d.png

Hands down the worst I've played all season in that replay. Was when I noticed the lack of pace in my team meant my very attacking wide play at home was leaving too many gaps due to the players I'd signed. Goes to show I should look into the physical stats more often instead of going "oooh.... 14 tackling and crossing!" That's when I went and got new full backs. So gave me the kick up the arse needed.

East of Scotland Cup

image.thumb.png.b827e19466b528706eebc3a519f7aab8.png

Coldstream are due to get back into the Lowland League this year so was never favourite but their two goals in the home leg both came in the last ten minutes which was a shiter. Ten minutes from penalties and we shat the bed.

Clackmannanshire Cup

image.png.b1b05e9bf4ab3e85b3786fdee260afc3.png

We are the lowest ranked team in the competition I think. Tullibody may be the league below now I think about it. But it's all much of a muchness. Alloa yo-yo between the Prem and 1st and Sauchie do the same between LL and EoS. Dollar Glen seem to have plateaued in the EoS Prem with the rest in the league above or the current league. In theory a penalty defeat to Dollar Glen isn't too bad but they missed four penalties in a row and we still couldn't beat them.

image.thumb.png.23a4f6315e39f6655095c351fe52b8cb.png

Anyway I was never winning the cup this year and Alloa don't have a big enough fan base for me to feel like I missed out on a payday by reaching the final.

Run in...

image.png.5ab3d96d53159326b8fa122d99e509e7.png

A great win for us but, sadly, Edinburgh College and Upper Annandale (why aren't they in the SoSFL?) had great wins of their own. So looking less likely we'll get automatic promotion now...

image.png.014a029887d9cc795b65d6b8f2daa161.png

Well we fucked that up. Going by other results it makes no odds anyway. Play offs it is...

Play Off Semi Final

Up against Riverside. We drew 2-2 earlier in the season and recently managed a 1-0 win at home. We head to Sauchie's Beechwood for the match.

image.thumb.png.05da9f66ec4b692ba5b95a61431312b7.png

Comfortable but annoying we couldn't make the most of that pressure and chances but there wasn't a single time they looked like scoring either so not the end of the world.

Play off final...

We take on Haddington at Alloa's Recreation Park. So we've naw needed to leave Clackmannanshire for these play offs. Some kinda fix no doubt. Haddington beat us 1-0 in our first game at home and we managed a 0-0 draw away. So yet to score past these b*****ds. They finished two places and five points ahead of me. Let's skelp them.

image.thumb.png.0c385752a3d5dca2f81f1d32a59887ad.png

A 2-0 win that was never in doubt. They had a ten minute period they looked lively before their sending off. That was about it.

But look how they massacred by boys...

image.png.aecadf6b40c0996224cb5d08cd056d79.png

The b*****ds relegated Banks O'Dee!

image.png.8f0be89bc89386290ff4be4b83cf8d4f.png

And they still cannae win the Aberdeen City Cup!

image.thumb.png.bbaf91b9d6b552bc1d791070d8e4920d.png

To be fair at least they made the group stages in Europe...

image.thumb.png.28afc9e52f68f6a513afd8b7b215d43a.png

Oh. Wow. That's genuinely impressive.

image.thumb.png.be264af29d6da64aa2dd8410ce8464e7.png

Scottish European Trophy winners:
Celtic
Rangers
Aberdeen
Banks O'Dee

(and Hibs and Hearts)

image.png.53aac14321a183076a1c6533f9a9df9a.png

image.png.68ce36c80f911245678f20deba38fb5b.png

Anyway. While they celebrate relegation and a European Trophy I got the East of Scotland 1st Division to attend to...

Season 23: Clackmannan Community FC (2nd Season)

East of Scotland League 1st Division

image.png.57643d6caf4af863631dacd2d9ff3b84.png

image.png.ff144841c319ed8ce51494347fa92254.png

I had only played 21 (or was it 23?) games when I won the league. As my games kept getting papped back due to cup games (spoiler alert - there were some good runs this year) I won it without playing a game for a month. We had played 21 and won 20 at that point. Wouldn't mind doing an unbeaten season but in the games that followed squad players got run outs and we got draws aplenty. Anyway. Romp.

Scottish Cup

image.thumb.png.a34b1b8eaaf3ca15e2b7b095d7a485fa.png

The draw up until Hearts looks easy but Abbey Vale are in the SoSFL so (technically) a tier above but, also, the bottom tier for D&G teams. Newtongrange are in the same league as me now but finished ahead of me last season as we both got promoted. Scalpay are full-time and in the 3rd Division. Alright... Armadale are pish. No idea how they got so far. Was never gonna beat Hearts but went for it anyway. Was 3-0 down after 5 minutes to grateful we kept it below a cricket score.

The Quaich

image.thumb.png.40b3ab5ddf2c6a125e7294b5e557aa74.png

Every one of these teams are in a league above. Most in the Lowland League. We had a man sent off after 30 minutes v Rob Roy when 1-0 down, missed a few one-on-ones then conceded a 2nd in the 90th minute. They are top of the Lowland League so were favourites but annoyed at the sending off. That really fucked us.

East of Scotland Cup

image.thumb.png.05d41de983c9cc5996c8a4f32aa26177.png

EoS Premier Hill of Beath put us out after a shocking first half away from home. 3-0 going on 10-0. For the next three halves we absolutely pummelled them but they got a sucker punch right on halftime in the home leg and, despite two goals early doors after halftime, we couldn't get the 4th that woulda took it to penalties. 

Clackmannanshire Cup

image.thumb.png.cc55b4e20c7fdf89cfbb4627962c29b3.png

We got it back to 1-1 v Alloa but they were always a wee step above us. I think the xG was like 4 to 1. But it shows that, with a bit of luck, we might be able to finish Clackmannanshire earlier than expected. I'd still be very surprised if we manage it before we're a league team, at least, but ye never know. 

Between prize money from cup runs and a big payday from the gate receipts at the "Dave MacKay Arena" (28,000 capacity) we were able to clear our debt, get new training facilities and buy our stadium off the council.