Arbroath v Morton - 18th December

9 hours ago, The Ghost of B A R P said:

You’ll have noticed that I’m in the habit of playing the post and not the poster, but really… stop digging.

Your argument is that away to QoS in the diddy cup made your mind up… but we should still have held off after chucking three points away against one of our main relegation rivals, because a. that game was somehow not ‘crucial’; b. we didn’t have a replacement lined up.

First up, that game is precisely the kind of game teams that survive have to win, regardless of how many points are still to play for. It’s winning those games that keep you away from desperate relegation deciders or play-offs later on. Our piss-poor January last year under McElhone was what got us into serious trouble in the first place. So yes, crucial.

As for MacPherson, I was one of those arguing he should be given every chance. He was given every chance. He wasn’t able to take them. He was sacked at precisely the point when it was reasonable and necessary to sack him: a. because of his overall (league) record; b. to give us time to get the right replacement in before QoS at home (a crucial fixture) and the January window to follow. (Btw, that point would almost certainly have come sooner but for a 97th-minute equaliser against Hamilton and the win against a caught-in-the-headlights Dunfermline a week later).

So aye, we agree he had to go; but let’s not pretend the diddy cup game had anything to do with it; or, bizarrely, that he should have been left in place for longer.

Yep, the total bodying we got from the only team with a worse league record than we had at the time made my mind up that things were not getting any better and Gus would have to go……. but should only go only as and when it suited Morton. I’d argue that that  was also the game that made the BOARD’S mind up - it’s a much more likely scenario than them suddenly deciding in the 40 minutes between the end of the drawn match against Ayr and MacPherson storming out of Cappielow. The right decision, but at the wrong time. Sack him if Ayr had won, but they didn’t, and therefore I’d rather we’d  kept him on until they’d done at least SOME work behind the scenes towards finding his replacement, rather than leaving the team in the hands of The Three Stooges for at least three games. I’d contend that had Gus still been here we wouldn’t have shipped six goals last weekend against Caley Thistle; it would've been a closer game, as nearly all of them were under MacPherson. Given how few goals we’ve been scoring, losing 6-1 instead of say 3-1 is like losing an extra point as we will struggle to make up the negative impact on our goal difference.

On the Ayr game,, we didn’t, as you say,  “chuck away three points”. We gained one point instead of gaining three, which is very different, and stayed within touching distance of the pack. There was therefore still no need to hurry re sacking Gus immediately after that game, especially as we’d been daft enough to give him a two year deal - which as I’ve said before was the main reason I thought we’d give him till the end of this year unless we were at least three or four points adrift at the bottom. Which we may be by 4.50pm on Saturday, but if we’d started the groundwork for a new boss two weeks ago we could’ve binned Gus tomorrow and maybe announced the new man on Monday.  

Games only become “crucial” as teams begin to run out of games towards the end of a season. Going by the post quoted, you’d class every game against the teams we’d be expected to be finishing close to to be “crucial” from the very first day of the season. I can’t agree with that - they’d be important games, sure, but not crucial. The Ayr game couldn’t be classed as crucial, neither in the buildup to it when there remained precisely half the season still to be played nor in the aftermath when a point kept us close to the rest. Just my opinion, yours may be different - but I'd say that our penultimate game of last season against Arbroath was a crucial game, tomorrow against the same team is merely important.

Going back to your first point, I’d agree that people should respond to the post rather than the poster. I’ve long thought that there would be much more reasoned debate (well, everything’s relative 😁) if the poster’s name only showed at the end of a post, ie after it had been read, rather than being the first thing the reader sees. I genuinely try to judge every post on its merits or otherwise, and ignore or respond accordingly regardless of who is behind it…….   but by Christ, some folk don’t  half make it hard not to just point and laugh. 😁

Edited by Rudolph Hucker

10 hours ago, Rudolph Hucker said:

Yep, the total bodying we got from the only team with a worse league record than we had at the time made my mind up that things were not getting any better and Gus would have to go……. but should only go only as and when it suited Morton. I’d argue that that  was also the game that made the BOARD’S mind up - it’s a much more likely scenario than them suddenly deciding in the 40 minutes between the end of the drawn match against Ayr and MacPherson storming out of Cappielow. The right decision, but at the wrong time. Sack him if Ayr had won, but they didn’t, and therefore I’d rather we’d  kept him on until they’d done at least SOME work behind the scenes towards finding his replacement, rather than leaving the team in the hands of The Three Stooges for at least three games. I’d contend that had Gus still been here we wouldn’t have shipped six goals last weekend against Caley Thistle; it would've been a closer game, as nearly all of them were under MacPherson. Given how few goals we’ve been scoring, losing 6-1 instead of say 3-1 is like losing an extra point as we will struggle to make up the negative impact on our goal difference.

On the Ayr game,, we didn’t, as you say,  “chuck away three points”. We gained one point instead of gaining three, which is very different, and stayed within touching distance of the pack. There was therefore still no need to hurry re sacking Gus immediately after that game, especially as we’d been daft enough to give him a two year deal - which as I’ve said before was the main reason I thought we’d give him till the end of this year unless we were at least three or four points adrift at the bottom. Which we may be by 4.50pm on Saturday, but if we’d started the groundwork for a new boss two weeks ago we could’ve binned Gus tomorrow and maybe announced the new man on Monday.  

Games only become “crucial” as teams begin to run out of games towards the end of a season. Going by the post quoted, you’d class every game against the teams we’d be expected to be finishing close to to be “crucial” from the very first day of the season. I can’t agree with that - they’d be important games, sure, but not crucial. The Ayr game couldn’t be classed as crucial, neither in the buildup to it when there remained precisely half the season still to be played nor in the aftermath when a point kept us close to the rest. Just my opinion, yours may be different - but I'd say that our penultimate game of last season against Arbroath was a crucial game, tomorrow against the same team is merely important.

Going back to your first point, I’d agree that people should respond to the post rather than the poster. I’ve long thought that there would be much more reasoned debate (well, everything’s relative 😁) if the poster’s name only showed at the end of a post, ie after it had been read, rather than being the first thing the reader sees. I genuinely try to judge every post on its merits or otherwise, and ignore or respond accordingly regardless of who is behind it…….   but by Christ, some folk don’t  half make it hard not to just point and laugh. 😁

^^^ word salad

38 minutes ago, lichtie23 said:

Just been for a run at the high common (next to Gayfield) and the most is so thick I couldn’t see the ground. 

Whit?  Nae wind at Gayfield?  What will the BBC reporter have to talk about ........ ?

9 minutes ago, Hammerafc said:

Fog away now. Perfect conditions for football today.

Perfect conditions for football would be if we had a minimum of 11 good players.  We really don't, and that's before you take into account that several of the decent ones will likely be on the bench.  I wonder if seeing it's Christmas, the management team will select Easdale to start...

32 minutes ago, Hammerafc said:

Fog away now. Perfect conditions for football today.

😳   feck.......

18 minutes ago, Alibi said:

I wonder if seeing it's Christmas, the management team will select Easdale to start...

Hopefully they'll keep that particular elf on the shelf.