The Pie and Bovril Dead Pool 2022

Week 1 update

One death this week, former newsreader Gary Burgess: Channel Islands broadcaster Gary Burgess dies aged 46 - BBC News

Renowned Channel Islands broadcaster and journalist Gary Burgess has died.

The 46-year-old, who was known for his extensive media work over a 30-year career, died at Jersey Hospice on New Year's Day, it was announced.

He was diagnosed with terminal cancer in November 2020.

In a message written for release after his death, he said he had had the "luckiest life", had worked with "some of the most amazing people", and wished his final words to be "thank you".

Mr Burgess worked for several media organisations, including ITV Channel Television, Jersey radio station Channel 103 radio, the Jersey Evening Post and BBC Radio Guernsey.

He was presented with the Silver-Seal award by the Bailiff of Jersey for his journalism in 2020, and was named Community Champion of the Year at the Jersey Evening Post's Pride of Jersey Awards.

In his final statement, he said it was "time for me to hand over my microphone and keyboard for others to do the talking about me".

"I've had the best life. I've had the luckiest life," he said.

Too much Dead Pool stuff today for me to add anything else. I don't think I really need to either. 

Burgess was 46 when he died, so he's worth 79 Base Points, plus 25 for the First Shot bonus for a total of 104 points for @Arch Stanton, @Bishop Briggs, @gkneil and @Savage Henry. @Arbroathlegend36-0, @Indale Winton and @Ned Nederlander get a Captain bonus for 183 points, @chomp my root, @sparky88 and @The_Craig get a Vice-Captain bonus for 144 points.

As a result, the standings look like this:

1. Arbroathlegend36-0, Indale Winton, Ned Nederlander 183
4. chomp my root, sparky88, The_Craig 144
7. Arch Stanton, Bishop Briggs, gkneil, Savage Henry 104
11. Everyone else 0

The spreadsheet is also now live with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1mup1IJllKHs0a47J8G6IXUkvShJrV28Iuc-Kkn7RKuo/edit?usp=sharing

A text list of everyone's picks has been added to the opening posts of the thread.

1 minute ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Week 1 update

One death this week, former newsreader Gary Burgess: Channel Islands broadcaster Gary Burgess dies aged 46 - BBC News

Too much Dead Pool stuff today for me to add anything else. I don't think I really need to either. 

Burgess was 46 when he died, so he's worth 79 Base Points, plus 25 for the First Shot bonus for a total of 104 points for @Arch Stanton, @Bishop Briggs, @gkneil and @Savage Henry. @Arbroathlegend36-0, @Indale Winton and @Ned Nederlander get a Captain bonus for 183 points, @chomp my root, @sparky88 and @The_Craig get a Vice-Captain bonus for 144 points.

As a result, the standings look like this:

1. Arbroathlegend36-0, Indale Winton, Ned Nederlander 183
4. chomp my root, sparky88, The_Craig 144
7. Arch Stanton, Bishop Briggs, gkneil, Savage Henry 104
11. Everyone else 0

The spreadsheet is also now live with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1mup1IJllKHs0a47J8G6IXUkvShJrV28Iuc-Kkn7RKuo/edit?usp=sharing

A text list of everyone's picks has been added to the opening posts of the thread.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: this truly is the most glorious time of they year. 

Had a look through all the squads and some good line ups, well done @Curmudgeon for an Alphabet theme, @expatowner for a music XV and pity @Miguel Sanchez couldn't find one more writer to go with his other 14.

I have 6 solo players and 3 duos so pretty confident I can get a top 10 finish this year

Just had a look at the spreadsheet, and some notes.

There are 661 unique celebrities picked by 111 contestants, of which 427 were solo shots and 94 duos.

Unsurprisingly Queen Lizzy is both the top pick and the highest riser this year, with 42 picks, up from 10 last year. People are no doubt expecting some sort of new widow bounce.

Ghislaine Maxwell has increased from 10 to a whopping 22 picks, which is a lot for someone neither ill nor old. Pele has risen up the charts too, after appearing notably frail recently. The highest-picked new entry is the politician Frank Field who chose an assisted dying debate to announce that he was hospice-bound (and an entirely unrelated Frank Field made a debut appearance too, for good measure).

On the other side, the consensus seems to be that Toms Parker and Smith are considerably less moribund than they were before; they both had 29 picks last year and dropped 8 and 10 respectively this time around.

I count four theme teams this year.

@get_the_subbies_on went with Hollywood actresses again

Miguel has stuck with his batch of writers, with the token 'get me some points THIS year, at least' exception of some ice hockey player with cancer. Writers tend to be a suboptimal choice, because they live forever, as Miguel is no doubt discovering. He should eventually get one of them to score *sometime*.

@expatowner has a big smattering of sixties and seventies musicians

@Ray Patterson claimed to be going for a theme, but there's no obvious connection there, other than the team being slightly politician-heavy. There are non-theme teams that are more thematic than this, like @dee_62 going a half-and-half music/fitba effort. If I'm not missing something obscure, then boo!

@Curmudgeon's alphabetic list is clearly the best theme of the year. He should get 26 extra bonus points if his picks die in alphabetical order.

@Hamish's_Passenger only picked 14 players. 

This year's Great Minds That Think Alike teams are @Indale Winton and @Bishop Briggs who share 9 picks each between them. Indale Winton has already pulled ahead in the score table, because he made Gary Burgess his captain and Briggsy didn't. Some minds are slightly greater than others, it seems.

And there is no team from 2019's runaway winner @alta-pete! After his mid-table 2020 finish, he promised to be up with the big boys at the start of 2021, which netted him nul points. This is clearly a warning of the dangers of hubris. Surely this would have been the year to put in a team and go for some kind of redemption arc.

Edited by Aim Here

2 minutes ago, Aim Here said:

Just had a look at the spreadsheet, and some notes.

There are 661 unique celebrities picked by 111 contestants, of which 427 were solo shots and 94 duos.

Unsurprisingly Queen Lizzy is both the top pick and the highest riser this year, with 42 picks, up from 10 last year. People are no doubt expecting some sort of new widow bounce.

Ghislaine Maxwell has increased from 10 to a whopping 22 picks, which is a lot for someone neither ill nor old. Pele has risen up the charts too, after appearing notably frail recently. The highest-picked new entry is the politician Frank Field who chose an assisted dying debate to announce that he was hospice-bound (and an entirely unrelated Frank Field made a debut appearance too, for good measure).

On the other side, the consensus seems to be that Toms Parker and Smith are considerably less moribund than they were before; they both had 29 picks last year and dropped 8 and 10 respectively this time around.

I count three theme teams this year.

@get_the_subbies_on went with Hollywood actresses again

Miguel has stuck with his batch of writers, with the token 'get me some points THIS year, at least' exception of some ice hockey player with cancer. Writers tend to be a suboptimal choice, because they live forever, as Miguel is no doubt discovering. He should eventually get one of them to score *sometime*.

@expatowner has a big smattering of sixties and seventies musicians

@Ray Patterson claimed to be going for a theme, but there's no obvious connection there, other than the team being slightly politician-heavy. There are non-theme teams that are more thematic than this, like @dee_62 going a half-and-half music/fitba effort. If I'm not missing something obscure, then boo!

@Curmudgeon's alphabetic list is clearly the best theme of the year. He should get 26 extra bonus points if his picks die in alphabetical order.

@Hamish's_Passenger only picked 14 players. 

This year's Great Minds That Think Alike teams are @Indale Winton and @Bishop Briggs who share 9 picks each between them. Indale Winton has already pulled ahead in the score table, because he made Gary Burgess his captain and Briggsy didn't. Some minds are slightly greater than others, it seems.

And there is no team from 2019's runaway winner @alta-pete! After his mid-table 2020 finish, he promised to be up with the big boys at the start of 2021, which netted him nul points. This is clearly a warning of the dangers of hubris. Surely this would have been the year to put in a team and go for some kind of redemption arc.

I thought I was being a smartarse picking Deborah James but it turns out I'm not the only one who reads The S*n in England, fairly confident the oldest guy in the HoL will be a solo shot if he snuffs it though. Some people appear to do a terrifying amount of research tbh.

8 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

I thought I was being a smartarse picking Deborah James but it turns out I'm not the only one who reads The S*n in England, fairly confident the oldest guy in the HoL will be a solo shot if he snuffs it though. Some people appear to do a terrifying amount of research tbh.

I looked into 'Bowelbabe' but thought she was only famous for the cancer, was she not a teacher until the big C and she started blogging about it ???

Hope I'm wrong for your sake, I've no wish to pish on anyone's chips.

Just now, chomp my root said:

I looked into 'Bowelbabe' but thought she was only famous for the cancer, was she not a teacher until the big C and she started blogging about it ???

Hope I'm wrong for your sake, I've no wish to pish on anyone's chips.

She is a columnist in The S*n in England and has worked with the BBC so will be guaranteed an obit from both of  them. Pretty confident she is not famous merely for being ill.

Just now, Moomintroll said:

She is a columnist in The S*n in England and has worked with the BBC so will be guaranteed an obit from both of  them. Pretty confident she is not famous merely for being ill.

Her first Sun column three years ago was called ' Dying is my biggest fear but living with stage 4 cancers means I have to start planning for the inevitable' and her BBC podcast is called 'You, me and the big C'. Feel free to prove me wrong (her Sun columns are listed at https://muckrack.com/deborah-james-1), but isn't she a Sun columnist and a BBC podcaster in order to talk about her illness? Even her current media presence hasn't netted her a wikipedia page yet, to check up on her that way...

1 minute ago, Aim Here said:

Her first Sun column three years ago was called ' Dying is my biggest fear but living with stage 4 cancers means I have to start planning for the inevitable' and her BBC podcast is called 'You, me and the big C'. Feel free to prove me wrong (her Sun columns are listed at https://muckrack.com/deborah-james-1), but isn't she a Sun columnist and a BBC podcaster in order to talk about her illness? Even her current media presence hasn't netted her a wikipedia page yet, to check up on her that way...

Stop pishing on chips you.

7 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

Fair one, I know she's a columnist/podcaster etc NOW, I didn't want to risk her as a 'famous for dying' pick. Good luck with her mate.