Dundee Utd v Aberdeen

While maintaining Ojo shouldn't have been sent off in the fan incident, Glass is quoted on BBC thus:

Glass conceded post-match that "by the letter of the law" Madden was right to issue a second yellow to his player.

"He's made a movement to go back, so I think that's why Bobby has chosen to send him off," said the Aberdeen boss. "Funso feels like he has let the team down, which he has a little bit.

"But I don't think our player should have to show restraint. I think the referee is on the pitch to protect the players and he almost incites it a bit as Funso has to walk past them [the United fans] again because he chooses to send him off."

Guest Bob Mahelp
39 minutes ago, Thenorthernlight said:

Story of the season.

Albeit, in mitigation, we didn’t actually have any fit defenders on the pitch 

5 minutes ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

While maintaining Ojo shouldn't have been sent off in the fan incident, Glass is quoted on BBC thus:

Glass conceded post-match that "by the letter of the law" Madden was right to issue a second yellow to his player.

"He's made a movement to go back, so I think that's why Bobby has chosen to send him off," said the Aberdeen boss. "Funso feels like he has let the team down, which he has a little bit.

"But I don't think our player should have to show restraint. I think the referee is on the pitch to protect the players and he almost incites it a bit as Funso has to walk past them [the United fans] again because he chooses to send him off."

Quoting Glass talking utter shite does not mean that somehow Madden was correct. He wasn't. It's a fucking ridiculous decision that I'm sure that he's ashamed of making. 

There is no 'letter of the law' that dictates that Madden was correct. 

Edited by Bob Mahelp

14 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

But this is nonsense. If simply being aggressive is a bookable offence then you’d have 22 players booked at least once every week. 

ETA - how would responding to an unprovoked attack from the crowd be considered ‘unsporting’? 

On the park, it is generally ignored unless it is excessive, as soon as you direct it off the park then you are told to take action. It is bullshit but I am trying to explain why it happens from the pov of a ref. I do not agree with any of it which is why I gave up at a young age. I want that arsehole to be banned for life from all grounds in Scotland so we should probably stop arguing with each other around this.

Guest Bob Mahelp
25 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

Unfortunately after he is pushed, when he fronts up to the twat, he is deemed to be adopting an aggressive attitude and the ref has to caution him. I personally wouldn't but that is how jobsworths like Madden et al get to the top while others give up in disgust.

Sorry, but that's utter pish. 

As pointed out, if that were the case then there would be 20 bookings in every game. 

Ojo was pushed in the chest by a fat, drunk coward and he did very well not to smack said coward in the pus. He took one step towards said fat coward but at no point, ever, did he adopt an 'aggressive attitude'. 

Where the f**k are we ? At a point where results can be influenced because a fan assualts a players then cries victime after he does it ? 

It was an insane decision. Probably the worst I've seen in over 40 years of watching football. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
4 minutes ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

Aye, that's what I wrote: why argue with me?

I presumed that you had used Glass's idiot quote as a reason to justify the sending off. 

Looking at your post again, I see no reason to question my presumption.

14 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

On the park, it is generally ignored unless it is excessive, as soon as you direct it off the park then you are told to take action. It is bullshit but I am trying to explain why it happens from the pov of a ref. I do not agree with any of it which is why I gave up at a young age. I want that arsehole to be banned for life from all grounds in Scotland so we should probably stop arguing with each other around this.

Despite my tone, I wasn’t trying to argue really. I was genuinely interested to know if there was a law that addressed this specific situation. I’m just not convinced it does. 

Laws are open to interpretation and that interpretation requires context. The context here is that a guy has been attacked unprovoked at work and he’s done nothing more than respond verbally. 

7 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

I presumed that you had used Glass's idiot quote as a reason to justify the sending off. 

Looking at your post again, I see no reason to question my presumption.

The bit where I wrote "While maintaining Ojo shouldn't have been sent off in the fan incident" should have made that clear to anyone who wasn't lashing out. Your presumption was misjudged.

7 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

Sorry, but that's utter pish. 

As pointed out, if that were the case then there would be 20 bookings in every game. 

Ojo was pushed in the chest by a fat, drunk coward and he did very well not to smack said coward in the pus. He took one step towards said fat coward but at no point, ever, did he adopt an 'aggressive attitude'. 

Where the f**k are we ? At a point where results can be influenced because a fan assualts a players then cries victime after he does it ? 

It was an insane decision. Probably the worst I've seen in over 40 years of watching football. 

Bob lad, he does that he is looking at a Cantona length ban. I am firmly in Ojos camp here, as my previous replies are testament to. It is utter bullshit that you are hammered as soon as you react to the vile arseholes fulminating on the terraces. You have been watching football for 40 years, it was shite but utterly predictable and not even close to my top 100.

7 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Despite my tone, I wasn’t trying to argue really. I was genuinely interested to know if there was a law that addressed this specific situation. I’m just not convinced it does. 

Laws are open to interpretation and that interpretation requires context. The context here is that a guy has been attacked unprovoked at work and he’s done nothing more than respond verbally. 

I completely agree, if he just looked at him and did nothing he would have been ok, as soon as he motioned towards him, he had to be cautioned, it is fucking wrong.

1 minute ago, Moomintroll said:

I completely agree, if he just looked at him and did nothing he would have been ok, as soon as he motioned towards him, he had to be cautioned, it is fucking wrong.

Well that’s outrageous then. 

We’re in a situation here now that a United fan may feel he’s helped his team win the game by shoving an opposition player. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
8 minutes ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

The bit where I wrote "While maintaining Ojo shouldn't have been sent off in the fan incident" should have made that clear to anyone who wasn't lashing out. Your presumption was misjudged.

Sorry, I thought that statement was attributed to Steven Glass. My apologies. 

1 minute ago, bpdon said:

Surprised I haven’t noticed in the thread todays incident being compared to the Hibs fanny getting physical with Tavernier at Easter road in 2019.

Fan jumps advertising and takes swipe at player. Player responds in kind and has a nibble back at the fan. Cops immediately step in and escort the fan oot the door. Everyone checks if the player is ok and ref keeps his cards in his pocket. Play on. Sensible outcome despite the player being far more aggressive in response than Ojo today.

Madden had lost control of the game in the 5 or 6 minutes before he red cards Ojo. 

It's as simple as that. 

3 minutes ago, bpdon said:

Surprised I haven’t noticed in the thread todays incident being compared to the Hibs fanny getting physical with Tavernier at Easter road in 2019.

Fan jumps advertising and takes swipe at player. Player responds in kind and has a nibble back at the fan. Cops immediately step in and escort the fan oot the door. Everyone checks if the player is ok and ref keeps his cards in his pocket. Play on. Sensible outcome despite the player being far more aggressive in his response than Ojo was today.

Yeah, wonder why that was?

2 minutes ago, bpdon said:

Fan jumps advertising and takes swipe at player. Player responds in kind and has a nibble back at the fan. Cops immediately step in and escort the fan oot the door. Everyone checks if the player is ok and ref keeps his cards in his pocket. Play on. Sensible outcome despite the player being far more aggressive in his response than Ojo was today.

You are completely correct, as I have said so many times, what the f**k were the the Police doing. Every game has Police watching from a control centre, it is an absolute abdication of responsibility that that fat p***k wasn't lifted straightaway.

Anyway, getting back to the football, I think that Longstaff has had enough chances to show what he can do and has failed miserably. Obviously our defending at the corner is abysmal, particularly Marley Watkins who moves out of the way of the ball, but the root cause of the goal is Longstaff getting caught in possession when he is pretty close to being last man. On a brighter note, Scott Brown was fantastic today. Credit as well to Jack McKenzie, who United seemed determined to make sure he left the game injured, for his back three performance and also Dean Campbell for replacing McKenzie there second half.  

11 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

You are completely correct, as I have said so many times, what the f**k were the the Police doing. Every game has Police watching from a control centre, it is an absolute abdication of responsibility that that fat p***k wasn't lifted straightaway.

I don’t know that anyone on here is looking for him to arrested and charged, I just think that United club officials should have stepped in at half time. I’m certainly looking for the Kirkton *** (nothing to do with Rangers) to be banned from going to football for a significant period of time.