Serenissima Repubblica di San Marino

AsimButtHitsASix

Flag of San Marino

Here's this year's save. I hear tale that the youth systems are now dynamic for each country so, in theory, the better I do with the Sammarinese club team in Italy the better quality young players come through in the country which is handy as this is a double dunter where I will be manager of Victor San Marino (Italian 5th tier part timers) as well as the national team. I've got a database downloaded from claasen for the 5th tier in Italy and the Sammarinese league. I have also edited it to make every club in the domestic league a "feeder" team for me where I can loan players out to and get first dibs on their players. 

The game continues until we beat England in an international match for revenge of the other night's 10-0 humping. 

There is no point going over the national team at the minute as they are shite. But I have a decent chance of the play offs in this league going by this motley crew:

image.thumb.png.5bbf8f5e68548cf767ac622e19b06841.png

Obvious positions needing work but a few signings here and there we'll see how it goes.

The San Marino Challenge was one of my favourite FM saves.

After making the club team a force, the biggest nuisance was trying to coax dual nationality players to pick San Marino as over a certain rating they’d just flat refuse. You’d just have to hope they turned out just bad enough that Italy wouldn’t cap them and then try and pick them up in the longer term.

Turns out the board are expecting me to win the league. They have also given me less than no money. My only signings were two teenagers on non-contract terms who were dumped straight into the reserves. They are not worth discussing. What is worth discussing, however, is this sparkling form...

image.thumb.png.623e587f8a596321339cbc0401b5ad7e.png

By far the better team in both draws. Bad finishing in the first one and just not really able to create chances despite all the ball in the second. Diegaro were top at the time so quite happy with an away draw there.

image.png.398ae6e48e9d6c75770c737a49662643.png

Cannae grumble there. Turns out I need to win the league to get promoted tho'. 

image.thumb.png.bdaeceb41c7803aa3a82ca55352bde04.png

The lad Zabré is Burkinabe lad on loan from our parent club Forli (who are only one league above) and been on fire so far. Seems to have a knack of coming in from the wing to knock in headers. 

image.thumb.png.1adea5702c1696d696f2371f8f340585.png

The national team is some laugh. 

image.thumb.png.8085dc71889a17359b538fd77c289ae6.png

Decided to do away with decades of 8-1-1 formation and went for an ultra-attacking 4-2-3-1 and it paid off handsomely with my first match. A 7-2 humping by Kazakhstan. What the f**k? 

But I stick to my guns, and despite going 1-0 down after 3 minutes v Andorra, were the better team and unlucky not to get the win. England and Hungary were far better than us although we did hit the post in the first minute v England which would have been some good lulz if we immediately shitfested out a 1-0 win. The climb into the top 200 starts here!

image.thumb.png.6d0d9464886795681874d8d042df0280.png

So far so good...

image.thumb.png.5d63cd8e2546e44b97061bee1bbf04ad.png

Our only defeat was away to another promotion rival. A fairly even game that they shaded. Forty minutes into the next game I was 4-0 down before a second half performance for the ages. At no point, even when four nil down, did the opposition have an XG above ours kinda knew I'd do well after that game. Ten games to go and we're in a great position.

image.png.3e48552e6ea91076489685a284d2c20d.png

There is a cup at this level. We are in Emilia-Romana C and our cup is against all the other Emilia-Romana teams. Three leagues at the same level (A, B, C). The board don't care about it and neither do I. My squad is too wee to say I'm playing a second XI but guys who aren't playing as often are getting starts and we're still going well.

image.thumb.png.252c04f88de4f23e9834261b6dabb589.png

Cheeky wee final coming in January.

image.thumb.png.d19b8a2fabb5550d9a22364f422eab1c.png

All good quality stuff there. Pedrazzini may as well be Nesta at this level. Good physical stats and solid heading, marking and tackling.

image.thumb.png.4c560a70368225867a8919a253d7fe3a.png

The national team have now went 114 games without a win. What can we do about that?

image.thumb.png.106449856a0d14ff604dbb12e37964ee.png

YASS! We were totally outplayed by Andorra but a scrappy goal from a corner means San Marino will not be finishing bottom of the group for the first time ever. Presuming Andorra don't pick up a win elsewhere. Baby steps...

image.thumb.png.b6962ffb20ba768ad9decb7490a1a807.png

This youth intake looks like it will be shite.

image.thumb.png.38d4f8f6f132f6a79fe99ab2a1003cec.png

image.png

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix

I tried to sign a 16 yr old Sammirese guy on a free and was telt I can't sign him til 2023. So I thought this must be a bug. As I play in the Italian leagues maybe it thinks they're playing abroad. Then I tried signing a 16 yr old Italian and it said the same thing. Anyway it seems I can't sign U-18 players at all. Presume that doesn't apply to youth intakes

I am still playing FM 20 but I did have playing for me a world class Sammirese deep lying playmaker for a few seasons. He was sold on to Man City for £60+ million.

This was in about 2045 or so, so you may have a while to wait but it could happen…

The youth lot actually seem half decent (and not just Italians) 

image.png.472f10859b5790c05c9245de7db44e39.png

Results have not exactly fell off a cliff but we haven't scored in three games right at the wrong time.

image.thumb.png.56d67c173d0d1ee8c48ade4cbab3dddb.png

Feeling the league was wrapped up I brought in a few loanees to see if I could persuade them to join next year and they've been a bit.. meh. Despite being better than my current lot. No need to go through them all. I'll do that if any sign on full time. We also shat the bed in the final. Marginally the better team but was a cup no-one cared about including, it seems, my strikers.

image.png.bff822ceed946a8c27667eb50091dad7.png

We went from twelve points to seven points clear. Should still win it. Only four games to go. Two wins required if I have my maths right. 

image.thumb.png.35078021fdaf59bd3dce5de8e89eded1.png

The new loanees are the four lads at the bottom. They could do with scoring some fucking goals tho' the b*****ds. 

Voinea's been great on the right wing and chips in with a few goals but he's already one the way out as he's 31 now and wont be getting any better. Will be useful to keep around for a year or so.

image.thumb.png.c6bf84903398ad21514b3498d2aa1425.png

National team?

image.thumb.png.e9c0c283e491ca243403ef7b3de3e41e.png

So some big wins for us move us closer to the top 200!

image.thumb.png.f57550a82423bf978323191f0482b389.png

With the step up and quality and my wage budget practically doubling I ended up making a lot of signings and no point in going through them all. We'll come to that later. Anyway here's the squad depth

image.thumb.png.b091bcc40d1cd463bfbc1e1a4f702ec9.png

Not worried about the lack of depth (or quality) in the AMC as I play have the season with a DMC anyway and, also, a couple of my winters/forwards are training up for that role and done well in pre-season anyway. As an example of how much better we are when I started Prandelli was 4* and clear first choice stirker. He's now fourth choice at 2.5*. 

As I said a lot of signings were made. Last year I couldn't convince anyone to jump over from the Sammirese league. Now most San Marino internationals aren't good enough for me. Although I did raid the league for any young players with some potential and a few have came in from San Marino Academy. Here's a few of the highlights of the spending spree...

image.thumb.png.9308a148195eae0b471ced33d15cf78b.png

So much better than last season's keeper (who was absolutely fine) and only 19. Hoping that's that position sorted for at least one promotion.

image.thumb.png.70f5170d528eff240dca62f9c97490d3.png

Would prefer a bit more going forward from right back but he's solid and covers at centre back as well.

The rest of the back four are pretty much the same as last year. They were solid. I had a coupla guys in on loan in MC last year for depth who left and were replaced with guys of similar level as there were slim pickings in that area. The two guys I was starting most week will keep their place but one or two of the lads who came in are younger so might edge them out by season's end. 

image.thumb.png.27401cad31a9505773720271a2d0b6e2.png

True I would have liked a bit more pace from this guy but he'll do good as an IF/IW on the right cutting in and possibly in that AMC position as well. I think there's enough decent stats in key positions for him to cause problems. But there's also enough poor stats he could end up being absolute dug shite.

image.thumb.png.773ab80e3cc94f48dcd5cf251b96253a.png

Bit of a risk with this lad. Compsoure, team work and work rate are nowhere near good enough and, being part time, wont improve quickly enough for my liking. But decent finishing, heading and off the ball mean he might Bob McHugh enough goals here and there to be useful. 

I'm expected to fight bravely against relegation, and got no worries about that, but absolutely no idea if we're good enough for anything better. I'm really jumping into the unknown. Also upgraded the staff over the summer so a big season of change in all departments including a takeover which gave me no extra money and put my manager rating instantly back down to C as they couldn't give a f**k about my promotion last year. 

My international scouts found this fella, so he's getting a call up and, also, signed for my club team. Hopeful he'll turn into something half decent (at least good enough to cause trouble against diddy teams like Estonia, Faroes and Wales)

image.thumb.png.3d94c32ca75eb90bd7ab19697af0bc53.png

My defence is the fucking bollocks

image.thumb.png.47e9cd5fcd5b75810f867bd2841088f1.png

We're also scoring a decent amount of goals. I'm enjoying this so far. None of the teams we're playing look like they'll be near the top so this could be quite the false start. We're also going back to playing some of the squad players in the cups with no harm done so far.

image.png.8f308dc8af49297c542aee42b000b603.png

Look at all that green. Let's focus on Mirko Palazzi as well.

image.thumb.png.9cc5a1c6fa66467a49ae586340aa1c53.png

image.thumb.png.cdbc0619bc2bcb9cf7f99a70fd7596f5.png

35 year old "legend" is already on the way out. But he might have the best mental stats in my entire squad. But he's finding it a bit harder to get those ratings in the national team...

image.thumb.png.ca04f7a9371862f370a5b80d36f251b5.png

Absolutely raging at the Liechtenstein game. 3-1 up with ten minutes to go and felt like I'd blown my chances of winning the group but a surprise, and somewhat undeserved, draw away to Latvia means I still have a chance of winning the group and promotion. Not that it would do much good as we would get destroyed in the division above.

image.thumb.png.0764a9c9e0650087f5cd404e973783c7.png

image.png

I mean, overall, it's been decent. October was fucking mental and the amount of games has calmed down since then. 

image.thumb.png.b76cb3bef1bf9e4cf1b14ecd3de447a1.png

The defeat at Sona was annoying as it was our first defeat in about 18 games and we just about shaded. Absolutely had our arses handed to us by Casatese. Most of our draws have been teams sneaking equalisers and I put a lot of that down to me sticking with the gegenpress despite all the games we had and the players tiring. Decent run in the Serie D Cup but naw fussed by getting papped out.

image.png.dcd01048349adb614c2ff4243d495243.png

Too many draws and closer to 6th than 1st but I just have a feeling we'll have a better 2nd half of the season than the first. No real reason for that although I think automatic promotion is a pipe dream. 

image.thumb.png.08e1ee3734f31ebfb10940ef215ebadf.png

The sea of green ratings is now more of a series of channels. Both my keepers having green ratings isn't a good look either. Morelli, my wee midfielder, has hit some good form even as the club's went a little bit meh...

image.thumb.png.36e12c623314722e6cde19d8fa2c3279.png

Good creative player, hopefully his mental game improves, because he's got enough technical and physical quality for Serie C.

Three main signings this window as well. Fabien Petronelli, Elia Dal Cortivo and Niccolo Venturi. 

image.thumb.png.520b77ef8ceef3c7ffc6345bfd39cd00.png

Petronelli looks a solid winger. Decent physical stats and good crossing and dribbling. My Romanian lad there is getting on.

image.thumb.png.73a58159d0bf0125698fe350da417629.png

Dal Cortivo isn't much better than what we have in defence but he's another option back there I couldn't pass up when he became available. I think he is a slight, if unnecessary, improvement.

image.thumb.png.b74cedb0a519cdae2a09ae893b151574.png

Turns out the gaps in AMC were noticeable. Still not getting the quality I want in there but Venturi has a bit of craft and vision about him. With other folks ready to do the running it's worth a go. 

Onto the national team. This is the club team's youth report but that matters more for the national team at this point

image.thumb.png.9810130649d59ca89170859b6c9ec940.png

Keeper is actually a fairly solid position for San Marino and the rest doesn't look all that appealing.

image.thumb.png.6cc73de06485715a15c58055e14a25ca.png

We were fairly even against Latvia until about the 75th minute. But we needed a win to have any chance of winning the group and went all out and lost two goals on the break. Played the younger members of the squad v Liechtenstein and were fucking shite. Finished bottom of the group. Shite performances against Gibraltar and Pakistan in friendlies. However the Euro Quals group could not have went better...

image.png.01ec763c5aa2f0c90fc46eb5512260fe.png

In almost every pot we got the lower ranked teams. I mean... Poland are definitely out of our league, there's the slightest chance of a draw if the stars align v Israel and Iceland, Armenia have one or two players who should be enough to beat us but the majority of their squad are shite and Estonia are a step above us as well. 

However I'm, personally, aiming for 4th in the group.