Normal Island

21 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:
7 hours ago, Bert Raccoon said:
Quicker listing celebrities of that era who've not been lifted for a bit of noncery at some point 

Jimmy Savile certainly made it a bit less robust to used the "never convicted" argument.

Not only never convicted, but never arrested or charged with any offence.  

12 minutes ago, hk blues said:

After he died, Channel 4 did a tribute documentary on what a great guy he was.  Only a few days later the truth came out and his reputation became what it is now.  I bet that documentary has been erased from history now and nobody will admit to be involved with it.

20 minutes ago, hk blues said:

Aye, but the polis did bring Savile in for a robust questioning.

Ah, no...they arranged an appointment to go out and see him at his convenience, and he gave them a robust questioning.

I wonder how many coppers ended up on the sidelines for not paying due deference to the establishment's mate?

4 minutes ago, Fullerene said:

After he died, Channel 4 did a tribute documentary on what a great guy he was.  Only a few days later the truth came out and his reputation became what it is now.  I bet that documentary has been erased from history now and nobody will admit to be involved with it.

It's quite bizarre how he managed to get away with what he did for so long. a lifetime in fact.  It's almost like his behaviour was in plain sight and thus just an act, nobody could be so openly perverted, could they? It certainly fooled me even though I thought he was a total weirdo every time I saw him (He was, of course).

1 minute ago, hk blues said:

It's quite bizarre how he managed to get away with what he did for so long. a lifetime in fact.  It's almost like his behaviour was in plain sight and thus just an act, nobody could be so openly perverted, could they? It certainly fooled me even though I thought he was a total weirdo every time I saw him (He was, of course).

It's the "in plain sight" stuff that is so damning.  I know of public bodies that would ordinarily love a bit of celebrity that would simply ignore the approaches from the BBC and on at least one occasion tell Savilles team to f**k off, immediately, when they just showed up. 

Just now, BFTD said:

Ah, no...they arranged an appointment to go out and see him at his convenience, and he gave them a robust questioning.

I wonder how many coppers ended up on the sidelines for not paying due deference to the establishment's mate?

Yep, I heard his interview on the Netflix documentary and he was very, very aggressive and irritated with the polis interviewing him.  

I get all this stuff about the establishment's mate but he was at it for so long it beggars belief that this kept him safe so long - the establishment changed during his time and he can't have always been on the right side.  As I said in my above post, I think it was as much the fact that he couldn't possibly be so open about his behaviour if It was actually true.  That said, he certainly was able to rely on some "inside help" but it has to be more than that. 

6 minutes ago, coprolite said:

Talking of hiding in plain sight, that's Ron Wood beside Glitter isn't it? I'm sure i remember him having a fourteen year old "girlfriend" that was just reported in the showbiz pages like any other rock star relationship. 

Was that naw Bill Wyman? Ronnie Wood was into mature ladies as he only ran away with an 18 yr old Russian lassie.

5 minutes ago, hk blues said:

Yep, I heard his interview on the Netflix documentary and he was very, very aggressive and irritated with the polis interviewing him.  

I get all this stuff about the establishment's mate but he was at it for so long it beggars belief that this kept him safe so long - the establishment changed during his time and he can't have always been on the right side.  As I said in my above post, I think it was as much the fact that he couldn't possibly be so open about his behaviour if It was actually true.  That said, he certainly was able to rely on some "inside help" but it has to be more than that. 

Or maybe he knew where the bodies were buried concerning the people who make the laws and silence the critics. We've had PM nonces, Royal nonces and faith leader nonces. So no doubt they'll be plenty more in the establishment.

7 minutes ago, dirty dingus said:

Or maybe he knew where the bodies were buried concerning the people who make the laws and silence the critics. We've had PM nonces, Royal nonces and faith leader nonces. So no doubt they'll be plenty more in the establishment.

I get that, but there would to have been a lot of bodies over a long period of time and for him to be able to have access to them.  Given the amount of political and social change during his lifetime is it possible he was always on the right side? It's kinda concerning if the scale of wrong doing is so large and widespread that he was able to navigate through his life without stepping too heavily on too many toes.  Our own (Prince) Andrew wasn't able to yet he must have access to more "help" than Saville had.  

It's also one of those stories that falls into place much more after it's finished.  Add the fact that it was ok to be a pervert in the 60s and 70s and even into the 80s so he wasn't that much of an outlier and maybe there isn't much of a conspiracy after all.  

38 minutes ago, BFTD said:

Imagining a couple of police sitting mesmerised by his armchair with the wee compartments popping out.

5 minutes ago, hk blues said:

I get that, but there would to have been a lot of bodies over a long period of time and for him to be able to have access to them.  Given the amount of political and social change during his lifetime is it possible he was always on the right side? It's kinda concerning if the scale of wrong doing is so large and widespread that he was able to navigate through his life without stepping too heavily on too many toes.  Our own (Prince) Andrew wasn't able to yet he must have access to more "help" than Saville had.  

It's also one of those stories that falls into place much more after it's finished.  Add the fact that it was ok to be a pervert in the 60s and 70s and even into the 80s so he wasn't that much of an outlier and maybe there isn't much of a conspiracy after all.  

Andrews antics only came to light because it was the FBI doing the investigating. It's obviously still excused here after all the shite last week celebrating the life of a woman who shelled out £12m to make the noncing allegations disappear. Now we have a king who was besties with Savile and actively tried to help beasty bishop Peter Bell.

3 minutes ago, dirty dingus said:

Andrews antics only came to light because it was the FBI doing the investigating. It's obviously still excused here after all the shite last week celebrating the life of a woman who shelled out £12m to make the noncing allegations disappear. Now we have a king who was besties with Savile and actively tried to help beasty bishop Peter Bell.

That's what I mean though, Andrew WAS caught out - people usually are.  Saville was either very, very well connected (more than Andrew) or simply par for the course for the time.   When I say par for the course, I mean he was just not that unusual for the time. 

Again, I'm just not sure there is a conspiracy here.

1 minute ago, hk blues said:

That's what I mean though, Andrew WAS caught out - people usually are.  Saville was either very, very well connected (more than Andrew) or simply par for the course for the time.   When I say par for the course, I mean he was just not that unusual for the time. 

Again, I'm just not sure there is a conspiracy here.

As Bert Racoon said Irvine Welsh character Freddie Royal in Lorraine goes to Livingston is Savile, Jerry Sadowitz was blackballed for calling him out on TV. He was definitely protected  within the BBC as I'm pretty sure they covered up him groping a lassie on TotPs. I agree to that it was more accepted back in the day look at Jimmy Page he had a 13 yr old girlfriend in Lori Maddox which seems to get the ah well he's a rock star treatment.

1 minute ago, dirty dingus said:

As Bert Racoon said Irvine Welsh character Freddie Royal in Lorraine goes to Livingston is Savile, Jerry Sadowitz was blackballed for calling him out on TV. He was definitely protected  within the BBC as I'm pretty sure they covered up him groping a lassie on TotPs. I agree to that it was more accepted back in the day look at Jimmy Page he had a 13 yr old girlfriend in Lori Maddox which seems to get the ah well he's a rock star treatment.

There is no doubt Saville enjoyed the protection of the BBC but I'm not so sure it went much beyond that.  

Times change - anyone who was around in the 70s and able to understand the comedy shows of the time would know how attitudes to women and sex were and there really was no taboo on making jokes about young girls.  

I wonder how many of the allegations against Saville were from recent times?  I think he was clever enough to know when to quit but I'm not so clued up on his more recent past.

8 minutes ago, hk blues said:

Times change

Do they? The BBC clearly had no issue with Tim Westwood carrying on the way he has been reported doing, regardless of the legality it's highly immoral and considering the Beebs history they should be more careful than most.

Just now, 101 said:

Do they? The BBC clearly had no issue with Tim Westwood carrying on the way he has been reported doing, regardless of the legality it's highly immoral and considering the Beebs history they should be more careful than most.

They do. Anyone who was around and watched TV shows in the 70s would confirm that.  

If you are asking if they have changed enough, that would be a different question and answer.