Arbroath vs Pars

I read they have not won an away game in the league since October 24th 2020? Could be wrong. But the 4-0 win actually came against Peter Grants Alloa. Burst out laughing when I read it.

This is true. Except that it was 4-1. Bizarrely, when we appointed Grant it was revealed that this was the game that convinced our board that he would be a great manager for us.

41 minutes ago, CallumPar said:

This is true. Except that it was 4-1. Bizarrely, when we appointed Grant it was revealed that this was the game that convinced our board that he would be a great manager for us.

Just wanted to add that he’s not kidding - this is from Peter Grant’s first interview at the club:

Thomas [Meggle] was on the phone and talking about the performance we had against Alloa when they beat us 4-1. I thought it was quite bizarre that he was talking about that game.

Alloa played fairly well for about 20 minutes in that game, all in the first half, leading up to their equaliser. Second half we utterly smashed and they had absolutely no answer. They didn't play well in that second half. 

When the next open fan meeting takes place, someone needs to take the board to task about this pish regarding Grant's Alloa team playing good football, especially in that game. Quite where they are getting such obvious pish from is still a mystery. They need to be absolutely grilled over this blatant bit of nonsense. Grant's Alloa were rank and did not play good football, sliding sadly out of the league with the worst showing (overall points and points per game) of a relegated team since THAT Brechin side. Think of the risible pish who have went down since Brechin, like the stinking Falkirk team and the garbage Partick Thistle side. Alloa were worse than them all.

Anyway, we'll lose at the weekend. Folk always think it's constantly raining and howling with wind in Arbroath, which is odd, because it isn't true. Certainly though there have been games where conditions have been like that, and Gayfield's geography exacerbates them, making them more memorable, which I suppose is why folk cite the conditions. You don't hear about the conditions when we beat them in the League Cup last season, or when we beat them a few times in League 1.

Anyway, I always enjoy this classic clip:

I'm heading up to the game (quick train for me). I shall be warming the vocal chords for a good bout of BOOOOOOOOO! 

Edited by DA Baracus

9 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Alloa played fairly well for about 20 minutes in that game, all in the first half, leading up to their equaliser. Second half we utterly smashed and they had absolutely no answer. They didn't play well in that second half. 

When the next open fan meeting takes place, someone needs to take the board to task about this pish regarding Grant's Alloa team playing good football, especially in that game. Quite where they are getting such obvious pish from is still a mystery. They need to be absolutely grilled over this blatant bit of nonsense. Grant's Alloa were rank and did not play good football, sliding sadly out of the league with the worst showing (overall points and points per game) of a relegated team since THAT Brechin side. Think of the risible pish who have went down since Brechin, like the stinking Falkirk team and the garbage Partick Thistle side. Alloa were worse than them all.

Anyway, we'll lose at the weekend. Folk always think it's constantly raining and howling with wind in Arbroath, which is odd, because it isn't true. Certainly though there have been games where conditions have been like that, and Gayfield's geography exacerbates them, making them more memorable, which I suppose is why folk cite the conditions. You don't hear about the conditions when we beat them in the League Cup last season, or when we beat them a few times in League 1.

Anyway, I always enjoy this classic clip:

I'm heading up to the game (quick train for me). I shall be warming the vocal chords for a good bout of BOOOOOOOOO! 

To be fair Dunfermline have had their fair share of windy days at Gayfield. 2 or 3 really bad days come to mind straight away. Hopefully all calm Saturday and another good home support with the full sea side stand segregation. Been between 1200-1500 actual home supporters every game so far.

50 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

To be fair Dunfermline have had their fair share of windy days at Gayfield. 2 or 3 really bad days come to mind straight away. Hopefully all calm Saturday and another good home support with the full sea side stand segregation. Been between 1200-1500 actual home supporters every game so far.

Our support has been great this season but there was only just over 1000 at the first game of the season and some of them would have been ICT fans. Also we had more like 1600 home fans for the Killie game. Splitting hairs I know.

Totally agree about the segregation. Give us the whole seaside terrace every game. Gives the players a huge boost having the fans up there.

Edited by Tattie36

14 hours ago, Tattie36 said:

Our support has been great this season but there was only just over 1000 at the first game of the season and some of them would have been ICT fans. Also we had more like 1600 home fans for the Killie game. Splitting hairs I know.

Totally agree about the segregation. Give us the whole seaside terrace every game. Gives the players a huge boost having the fans up there.

Aye I was quite disappointed when I heard there would be no switching ends last Saturday but I thought it actually worked quite well.

Shite no being able to move to the end we're attacking but can see why, as the home team, it was beneficial to arbroath. Atmosphere was decent in the second half.

1 hour ago, AuAl said:

Aye I was quite disappointed when I heard there would be no switching ends last Saturday but I thought it actually worked quite well.

Shite no being able to move to the end we're attacking but can see why, as the home team, it was beneficial to arbroath. Atmosphere was decent in the second half.

It was decent wasn’t it. If there was a winner for either team would’ve been good. Although with it being a bit lively it will probably have the stewards greeting about it again and it’ll never make a return. It definitely helps the team on the park. The Hamilton game was special down there with 3 second half goals.

40 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

It was decent wasn’t it. If there was a winner for either team would’ve been good. Although with it being a bit lively it will probably have the stewards greeting about it again and it’ll never make a return. It definitely helps the team on the park. The Hamilton game was special down there with 3 second half goals.

You do seem to have an interesting bunch of stewards at arbroath. We did have a wee bunch of idiots who wanted to act hard men at the fence after the goal but other than that not much happened. Considering how upset the stewards were you would have thought it was Hampden 1980 all over again.

44 minutes ago, AuAl said:

You do seem to have an interesting bunch of stewards at arbroath. We did have a wee bunch of idiots who wanted to act hard men at the fence after the goal but other than that not much happened. Considering how upset the stewards were you would have thought it was Hampden 1980 all over again.

Honestly the worst. A real set of try hards who can’t have ever actually gone to the football before putting on their stewards outfit. Stereotypical hall monitor types

Unusual scenario here. Can’t recall any situations previously where Arbroath might be favoured to edge Dunfermline in an upcoming game., not that we have shared a division in many seasons.  Encouraging to have progressed this far but definitely wary and - especially in this league - it’s clear every week that there is little separating any two sides.   Gravity and the laws of physics must reassert themselves sometime which means the Pars will pick up sooner or later while we might have to moderate recently inflating expectations.  I note Dunfermline are draw specialists so, while looking for more, ……….  another point would take us halfway to the seasons target 40 points which the sainted DC has reiterated is his ambition.   Dangerous talk.

Gayfield/ home games this season have been lively so hoping for a decent turnout.atmosphere, another good showing and who knows?  The lineup is becoming an interesting conundrum.

21 minutes ago, Farflung said:

Unusual scenario here. Can’t recall any situations previously where Arbroath might be favoured to edge Dunfermline in an upcoming game., not that we have shared a division in many seasons.  Encouraging to have progressed this far but definitely wary and - especially in this league - it’s clear every week that there is little separating any two sides.   Gravity and the laws of physics must reassert themselves sometime which means the Pars will pick up sooner or later while we might have to moderate recently inflating expectations.  I note Dunfermline are draw specialists so, while looking for more, ……….  another point would take us halfway to the seasons target 40 points which the sainted DC has reiterated is his ambition.   Dangerous talk.

Gayfield/ home games this season have been lively so hoping for a decent turnout.atmosphere, another good showing and who knows?  The lineup is becoming an interesting conundrum.

Yes. Still very wary of Kennedy, Thomas, Wighton, Dow and O’Hara. Even though they’ve somehow not managed a win in 11 games