Insulate Britain

1 minute ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

God help the parents who are disabled or have disabled kids who cant walk to school from all the self righteousness on here. 

How many kids are at any given school with disabilities that would stop them walking to school?

The number of "well what about this tiny minority of people who can't possibly walk to school on their own two feet" posts being thrown up here suggests to me there's a large percentage of the P&B public driving Range Rovers 300 yards to drop their lazy weans off on a daily basis...

3 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

How many kids are at any given school with disabilities that would stop them walking to school?

The number of "well what about this tiny minority of people who can't possibly walk to school on their own two feet" posts being thrown up here suggests to me there's a large percentage of the P&B public driving Range Rovers 300 yards to drop their lazy weans off on a daily basis...

My wee boy isnt of school age yet but he will be walking regardless. 
I think most kids should walk, but its not always possible for a variety of reasons, like I said ive no concerns with the right to protest, I just dont understand why they continually try and block working class folks on their way to jobs in a fragile economy, where were the insulate lot blocking the tory party conference or whatever? Why not stick it to the man and not the easy target?

3 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

God help the parents who are disabled or have disabled kids who cant walk to school from all the self righteousness on here. 

Local authorities already provide separate provision for exactly those children to get to school. 

Id have more sympathy for insulate britain’s methods if they targeted Kensington or Chelseas millionaire rows or the embassy’s/government departments than working class areas with folks who probably cant afford the disruption to wages these people cause. That boy who missed the job interview cant feed his kids on good intentions. Why target the powerless and vulnerable? That imo makes them no better than the government

A job interview for an HGV driver? Right now? Erm yes, I'm sure that's definitely going to lead to a whole three seconds of hardship, before he sends his CV to another desperate firm and gets a job no bother.

That's leaving aside the utterly transparent fiction of the 'HGV driver couldn't make job interview!' story in the first place, which I didn't believe anyone would buy at all. But here we are. 

Just now, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

My wee boy isnt of school age yet but he will be walking regardless. 
I think most kids should walk, but its not always possible for a variety of reasons, like I said ive no concerns with the right to protest, I just dont understand why they continually try and block working class folks on their way to jobs in a fragile economy, where were the insulate lot blocking the tory party conference or whatever? Why not stick it to the man and not the easy target?

I agree. The number of kids not able to walk to school (or have a safe form of public transport) must be less than 5% IMO. During covid (the worst of it) everyone was giving it the big "we need to promote healthier lifestyles" but then you have a simple thing like "make kids walk to school" which would promote a bit of daily exercise and folk moan because it doesn't suit them. 

The insulate lot seem a bit simple and misguided IMO. I don't think many people would argue against the cause they are fighting for but a majority of people probably think they're a bunch of c***s now. Time will tell whether it's been successful.

1 hour ago, Mark Connolly said:

"Prince Andrew was thrown into the middle of another scandal today, as one of his outriders..."

He said "Escorting a VIP", not "VIPing an Escort".

Edited by Ross.

41 minutes ago, virginton said:

Local authorities already provide separate provision for exactly those children to get to school. 

A job interview for an HGV driver? Right now? Erm yes, I'm sure that's definitely going to lead to a whole three seconds of hardship, before he sends his CV to another desperate firm and gets a job no bother.

That's leaving aside the utterly transparent fiction of the 'HGV driver couldn't make job interview!' story in the first place, which I didn't believe anyone would buy at all. But here we are. 

Aye, I smelt a rat. He said he'd two young kids but he was older than me.

It's remarkable btw that of all the potential 'targets' - i.e. road users who were mildly inconvenienced by a public protest - the IR mob just so happened to find an ambulance and 'potential HGV driver' in their protests so far. Talk about some more than faintly ludicrous own goals!

What's the chances that next time there'll be a British Legion poppyclown to complete this set of disgraceful!!11!!! slights on the failed state that is the UK in autumn 2021?

It's brilliant.
Another situation where the target of the action should be governments but yet again the man on the street thinks the target really is Mrs Miggins and her school drive.
Again, the people in charge must be laughing at the sheer inability of Joe Public to focus on who is really causing the problems in society. Every issue is like this.
Covid restrictions? Blame "arseholes" for not following rules rather than those who impose useless rules in the first place.
NHS on it's knees? Blame entitled people abusing the system rather than successive governments for running it into the ground.
Climate change? Blame working mothers dropping their kids off to school instead of governments and the rich who encourage and allow pollution.
No wonder politicians treat the public like idiots. We're not exactly making it hard for them are we?
So shouldn't the IB protesters be targeting governments then rather than (quite literally) the man and woman in the street ?

IF a parent is dropping off a child on their way to work without a particular deviation from their route, fine.

I would hazzard a guess that accounts for quite a small percentage of kids who are routinely driven to / from school, friends etc. Unnecessary car journeys must be tackled and they don't get more unnecessary than chauffering your children everywhere. Child obesity too is strongly linked to the lack of daily exercise.

Please stop FFS. I'm literally going to burst my sides laughing at the tsunami of sanctimonious pish from all you supposed left wingers.
The correct target for all this stuff is big business, the rich and world governments.
It most certainly isn't ordinary people trying to get to work and it quite obviously isn't Mrs Miggins.......unless of course the plan is to lose support amongst the population for their cause.
Who is Mrs Miggins oh and your coming across as a grade 1 climate change denier. You dont accept that unnecessary journeys are a contributor to climate change and kids being driven everywhere isn't contributing to childhood obesity ?

Classic denier stuff. No point in people like me changing, all down to government , the climate change equivalent of a NIMBY

16 hours ago, virginton said:

It's remarkable btw that of all the potential 'targets' - i.e. road users who were mildly inconvenienced by a public protest - the IR mob just so happened to find an ambulance and 'potential HGV driver' in their protests so far. Talk about some more than faintly ludicrous own goals!

What's the chances that next time there'll be a British Legion poppyclown to complete this set of disgraceful!!11!!! slights on the failed state that is the UK in autumn 2021?

While it certainly looks contrived, it’s not really that remarkable if true. They are inconveniencing hundreds of vehicles at a time. The odds of one of them being an emergency vehicle and one of them being someone going for a job interview are probably quite short. The TV producers will be asking everyone who is stopped by them and handpicking the only ones worthy of sensationalism.

Edited by Ross.

6 hours ago, Ross. said:

While it certainly looks contrived, it’s not really that remarkable if true. They are inconveniencing hundreds of vehicles at a time. The odds of one of them being an emergency vehicle and one of them being someone going for a job interview are probably quite short. The TV producers will be asking everyone who is stopped by them and handpicking the only ones worthy of sensationalism.

The odds of that one person going to interview being a HGV driver at a time when the UK government has been getting pilloried for supply shortages for weeks on end are very large though. 

I would have said that you couldn't make it up, but they almost certainly did. With a pro-government Twitter account at the ready to generate as much outrage about it as possible. 

Edited by vikingTON

I didn't believe the pish about the ambulance being blocked off Wandsworth Bridge for a second. 2 miles and 15 minutes to get to Chelsea and Westminster Hospital from the turn off to Wandsworth Bridge over Wandsworth Bridge. 2.5 miles and 15 minutes to do the same journey over Battersea Bridge. No way is a ambulance driver gonna see a road blocked off en route to the hospital and choose to sit in the traffic when a route, that is just as quick, is available to them.

I get there's an outside chance they never noticed the traffic until they turnt onto Wandsworth Bridge or were caught right at the front but, what I think has happened, is an ambulance has chosen to make a very slight diversion that they take all the time due to traffic but, on this occasion, it's been picked up on.

On 13/10/2021 at 11:46, ICTChris said:

IB are back

The last guy makes the point about the age of some of the protesters is interesting, I've seen other references to the fact that quite a few of the protesters were older.  Basically, sit down protests are for boomers and wannabe boomers.

In the least shocking news of this whole saga "News For All" decided to cut out the bit of the video where the poor lady taking wee Niall to school deliberately drove her Range Rover into people (while untaxed):