Health, diet, fitness and on pitch performance?

WillP

Hey everyone,

I'm a keen amateur striker. I play every weekend, for a local team and love it.

One thing i find quite interesting are people's different approach to health/diet/wellness and its impact on performance on the pitch.

I know its only amateur, but i'm hugely competitive so try and eat well, not get drunk the night before and work out a lot to ensure i'm at my best come kick off.

However i've noticed this varies hugely by individual , some get really drunk the night before and eat rubbish, while others take it more seriously like myself. Not here to judge and each to there own but find it quite interesting and would love to know know your take, Also tend to see at my club older players, caring less about their health/ wellness and its impact on performance....they seem to think its a bit silly, naff or 'woke'.

I'm curious what everyones opinion is to health and wellness and there football performance?

Do you care about it or not? if not, why not?

Also do you tend to see that older players care less about it like i have? Why do you think this is?

Would love to know your thoughts, thanks!

• 2 months later...