Hibernian vs St Johnstone, Sunday 26 September, 2021

Didn’t think we created anywhere near enough again. A 0-0 would have been about right, these games are often settled by a defensive mistake or a refereeing mistake, unfortunately for us we’re on the receiving end of the latter to hibs again.

We look solid enough, but our play is poor and disjointed in the final third. Our crossing remains a weakness.

Annoyed at once again a complete lack of discipline from a fairly experienced player has cost us a chance of getting back into a game. One down with half an hour to go is far from insurmountable. Similar to Rooney and Spoony in the LASK game.  We can’t just lose the heads when we go behind.

Id forgotten how dreadful the Hibs patter is, but I am pleasantly surprised how rattled they are from last seasons cup defeats. 

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

I don't even know why.  Incredible rage from a Championship club that's punchin' massively after losing a game in the Capital City. 

I agree Hibs are a much bigger club you blew us out of the water when you signed Dery Wright....No way could we compete with that kind of money 

Edited by Lang Toon Saintee

22 minutes ago, Lyle Lanley said:

I still have that shirt but I was 6 when it came out so it’s a kids top. 

Yeah me too.  For this reason I'm going to my mums and up the loft to find it and gie it to my wee one :lol: 

Was the the last away top with the old saturn badge as well as the sexual pornstar Collars?  Mind being wee and going with tape over my ears :lol: 

39 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Yeah me too.  For this reason I'm going to my mums and up the loft to find it and gie it to my wee one :lol: 

Was the the last away top with the old saturn badge as well as the sexual pornstar Collars?  Mind being wee and going with tape over my ears :lol: 

It was indeed. Would love to get a adult size of the shirt but you can’t seem to get them. One of the best away shirts of all time. 

In complete agreement with what @PauloPerth has said. I think we need to be wary of not falling into the trap of being happy that we always look solid and treating that as enough. Another 2014/15 would be a bit of a disaster, successful enough but low on entertainment; that's not going to retain new supporters.

The final third is very poor at the moment and the xG figures for recent games will back that up, we aren't creating nearly enough. Linking isnt good enough, creativity isn't good enough, touch isn't good enough and delivery into the box most certainly isn't. 

As I said though, without the centre backs stepping out, we pretty much just end up with either a wing back having to cross the ball (to who?) or one of the wider/faster attackers having to do something one-on-one. Getting Wotherspoon further up the park will at least alleviate that though and that'll come with getting other important players back as well. 

11 hours ago, Valentino Bolognese said:

Agree with that a bit - he reminds me of when we had Sean Goss, a lightweight luxury player that I'm not sure we can carry. Might just be time in the squad that's missing but even his touches/ability see a pass aren't outstanding to me, he certainly seems to under and overhit a lot of passes. Spoony is much more physical defensively, sometimes overly so, and to me is much better at taking on and beating players. 

Ambrose hasn't put a foot wrong yet, the pick of the signings so far for me. 

I don't disagree about the passing but think the signs are there that it'll come good when he gets sharper. It's not even a competition if it's him or Wotherspoon but we haven't had a replacement in the squad for a while, so just as part of the overall picture, it's a good option to have. Basically, I think there is some merit/redeeming value in his place in the squad, as opposed to some of the midfielders we've had over the last few years.

Ambrose has slotted in very nicely and think he actually suits the role in the middle of the back three where he can kind of see the whole game. It'll be interesting to see what he offers when he's moved right on Gordon's return. 

1 hour ago, Radford said:

I don't disagree about the passing but think the signs are there that it'll come good when he gets sharper. It's not even a competition if it's him or Wotherspoon but we haven't had a replacement in the squad for a while, so just as part of the overall picture, it's a good option to have. Basically, I think there is some merit/redeeming value in his place in the squad, as opposed to some of the midfielders we've had over the last few years.

Ambrose has slotted in very nicely and think he actually suits the role in the middle of the back three where he can kind of see the whole game. It'll be interesting to see what he offers when he's moved right on Gordon's return. 

Yes agree, not right to compare him to Spoony. Just get the feeling from the manager's comments that he sees him as a first team regular, not an occasional squad player, in which case he's a lot of development to do IMO. However Callum's a far better judge than me and it may well be that he plays into better form. How much he features when we're up to full strength again will be interesting. 

It might be that Ambrose gets more license to push forward when Gordon's back, which would no doubt produce both positive and negative drama. Have to feel for Brown if he loses that spot considering he's a fully signed player and he's been very good in the role. 

Moving away from the petty squabbling and childish attempts at banter and bait. Yes that's both sets of fans. 

It's always disappointing to lose a game in the manner we did. It's simply not a penalty, even the Hibs fans know this and it's not the first time John Beaton has screwed saints over, as I'm sure he's done with other teams. I think what the game showed was that there is still very little between the teams in terms of gameplay. It also doesn't appear that Jack Ross has developed another way of playing saints yet again, which would be a slight worry if I was a Hibs fan. By that same token, Callum Davidson still hasn't found a way of us playing more on the front foot in games. I appreciate we've got injuries and it'll take time to adjust to new players, but we're still desperately lacking a killer instinct. There were a couple of times on Sunday where we could really have tested Macey yet we simply didn't.

Overall if Beaton doesn't get involved, that goes down as yet another stalemate even contest between the two teams, both guilty of some awful football. Still it was great to be back at an away game, given the last one I made was Hamilton the game before the world fell into chaos and I've got to say I do like the big shiny new screens they've got at Easter Road, made it easy to spot Liam Craig got booked once again for complaining!

Could tell at the game it was never a penalty, Beaton had a shocker all round yesterday. However after watching the highlights the Nisbet claim in the first half looks pretty clear cut to me - gets a touch on the ball first and Clark brings him down. So maybe not quite the great injustice being suggested after all. Massive 3 points for us with us playing Rangers, Aberdeen and Celtic next month