Let's All Laugh at the Royalist Nats and Greens

The_Kincardine

33 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Here's yer civic nationalism in Glasgow yesterday

auobglasgow2.thumb.jpeg.543e0ff343e1741ce3d2513badfc88e2.jpeg

auobglasgow.jpeg.816c469997827884d230be3264436425.jpeg

Not a good look from the guy on the top right to be fair. What was he thinking modeling his look on the "Tartanist Gonk" of all- Maggie's favourite Unionist paedophile Nicholas Fairbairn. 

Nicholas-Fairbairn.jpg

images.jpeg

Edited by speckled tangerine

31 minutes ago, Namond Brice said:

Love to see a bit pashun from the Tartan Army.

AUOB 'parade' addressed by the pie muncher in chief./Lard of  the Isles.  You'll have missed because only 200ish daft wee tartan gonks could be arsed.

Edited by The_Kincardine

5 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

AUOB 'parade' addressed by the pie muncher in chief./Lard of  the Isles.  You'll have missed because only 200ish daft wee tartan gonks could be arsed.

Diminishing returns for these guys now, especially holding it on the same day as a Scotland game.

Probably more accurate to call them fancy dress conventions than political rallies.

1 minute ago, Namond Brice said:

Probably more accurate to call them fancy dress conventions than political rallies.

I knew I'd have converts but didn't bet on you being the first one.  Welcome to the ludge fold, bro.

Here's a bonus pic from yesterday - the apotheosis of tartan gonkery - and the building block of iJock:

auobglasgow3.thumb.jpeg.af3ac6f657bcbd1adcae67f647f40c63.jpeg

18 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

I knew I'd have converts but didn't bet on you being the first one.  Welcome to the ludge fold, bro.

Here's a bonus pic from yesterday - the apotheosis of tartan gonkery - and the building block of iJock:

auobglasgow3.thumb.jpeg.af3ac6f657bcbd1adcae67f647f40c63.jpeg

It's very divorced da energy now that the majority who used to go on these marches no longer attend due to various reasons. Those absent probably still support independence, but have realised that stoating up and down the High Street accompanied by Bonnie Prince Charlie's vanguard every 2 weeks in the pishing rain isn't achieving much.

But, we should let them enjoy themselves, they're not doing any harm and the only time there's any trouble is when an even bigger bunch of weirdo's wearing Union Jack fancy dress turn up to counter demonstrate.

11 minutes ago, Namond Brice said:

It's very divorced da energy now that the majority who used to go on these marches no longer attend due to various reasons. Those absent probably still support independence, but have realised that stoating up and down the High Street accompanied by Bonnie Prince Charlie's vanguard every 2 weeks in the pishing rain isn't achieving much.

But, we should let them enjoy themselves, they're not doing any harm and the only time there's any trouble is when an even bigger bunch of weirdo's wearing Union Jack fancy dress turn up to counter demonstrate.

Sure, you get attempts to soften it such as the lumpen, We DoN'T Get tHe GovT we VOtE fOr or the imbecilic sELf-DetERminaTiOn but, as we both know, nationalism is all about asserting Scottishness over Englishness which is why these events are always a fight for first pick at the dressing-up  box.

7 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Sure, you get attempts to soften it such as the lumpen, We DoN'T Get tHe GovT we VOtE fOr 

This is objectively true though and can be measured in various ways.

15 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

as we both know, nationalism is all about asserting Scottishness over Englishness

This is just silly grudge and grievance stuff, 'aLL nATiOnAlIsM iS ThE saMe' Nationalism has never been a 'one size fits all' ideology, whether in Scotland or anywhere else.

2 hours ago, Namond Brice said:

Nationalism has never been a 'one size fits all' ideology, whether in Scotland or anywhere else.

Nonsense - and surprising coming from you.  Nationalism is always about 'them' and 'us'.  'Sheep' and 'goats'.  Drawing a distinction between 'our clan' and 'their clan'.  Scottish nationalism fits this like a glove.  Here's the perfect example - from the football rather than the laughable rally earlier in Geo Sq:

jocks.thumb.jpeg.60f1a07789276f9ccdcc7c7cbbbf64dc.jpeg

8 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Nonsense - and surprising coming from you.  Nationalism is always about 'them' and 'us'.  'Sheep' and 'goats'.  Drawing a distinction between 'our clan' and 'their clan'.  Scottish nationalism fits this like a glove. 

Nationalism takes a variety of forms,  and is used to promote a variety of ideologies. It is ahistorical to pretend otherwise.

The majority of independence movements over the last 150 years do have one thing in common though, an intense dislike of being governed by the Brits, so you may actually be on to something.

8 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Here's the perfect example - from the football rather than the laughable rally earlier in Geo Sq:

jocks.thumb.jpeg.60f1a07789276f9ccdcc7c7cbbbf64dc.jpeg

Is this from the football ? Because they're standing outside Holyrood.

Is it the anti Boris Johnson t shirts that are upsetting you here ?

11 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Scottishness over Englishness

How many times have they tried to outlaw the names of Scots and the tartan they wear?
The sigma comes from down south the stupid tactics making tartan into a cult status.
Putting laws in place to stop Scots wear it (dress act 1746) aye nae problem M8.

14 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

You've got to laugh at dafties like this trying to tell people what they can wear and what they can't.
The attitude of telling the Scots aye they will do as their told,you would think by now that tactic just duz nae work.
Whether you're more of a Saltire Scot or a Lion rampant Scot it makes no difference.

55 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

More from Big Lorna.  A vacuous Anglophobe used by Nippy's gang to say what the rest are thinking.  She fits in perfectly:

Can you explain exactly how the phrase "I'm quite disturbed that the English keep voting for them" is Anglophobic?

She's pointing out a simple fact. Only one of the 4 nations that make up our "union of equals" has elected a majority of Tory MP's since the 1950's. England has elected a Tory majority (in England) 8 times during the last 60 years.