Scotland v Israel

Frank Grimes

I love FoS. Some people say it's a dirge but I don't, I think it's a cracking tune and makes the hair on my arms stand up when you hear it like that against Israel.

If we were to change it though, it's got to be Caledonia, or Wild Mountain Thyme as a back up.

6 minutes ago, BFTD said:

I like our anthem, BTW. Not the best, but certainly not the worst, and dafties who claim it's anti-English could do with some help with comprehension (or are deliberately at it).

The main problem with FoS is that, presumably due to delays in the PA system, the crowd are always well our of sync with the music. If we ever change it, I quite fancy something instrumental, like sweaty pounding techno with explosive drums, ear-splitting pipes, and enough infrasound to induce visions of our dead ancestors. Should have the opposition wondering WTF is wrong with us, at least.

Aye, I think they should ditch playing FoS over the PA system and instead have pipers and a drummer in the centre circle playing it. That way the sound should (theoretically) reach everyone in the stadium at or around the same time and produce a more in-sync rendition of it. 50,000 fans belting it out in unison with Pipers and a drummer would be electric.

Edited by AJF

8 minutes ago, BFTD said:

I like our anthem, BTW. Not the best, but certainly not the worst, and dafties who claim it's anti-English could do with some help with comprehension (or are deliberately at it).

The main problem with FoS is that, presumably due to delays in the PA system, the crowd are always well our of sync with the music. If we ever change it, I quite fancy something instrumental, like sweaty pounding techno with explosive drums, ear-splitting pipes, and enough infrasound to induce visions of our dead ancestors. Should have the opposition wondering WTF is wrong with us, at least.

Only one band for the job.

I’ve always hated VAR but I have to admit that I ever so slightly warmed to it after Saturday. I enjoyed the anxious wait for the ref to make his decision and then the bedlam as he pointed to the centre circle. In the highlights you can really notice the moment of silence when the stadium holds its collective breath as the referee turns around to make his decision.

For the winner, the fear of VAR didn’t really have too much of an impact on my celebrations - I may have kept an eye on the ref for a split second as I celebrated but that was it. It as actually the second goal that’s I stopped celebrating before many others had.

28 minutes ago, AJF said:

Aye, I think they should ditch playing FoS over the PA system and instead have pipers and a drummer in the centre circle playing it. That way the sound should (theoretically) reach everyone in the stadium at or around the same time and produce a more in-sync rendition of it. 50,000 fans belting it out in unison with Pipers and a drummer would be electric.

We have a national anthem that can't be played on our national instrument. The anthem has a flattened 7th note (the "think" in "Tae think again") which gives it the distinctly Scottish sound. The pipes can't handle it though and end up playing it differently and it sounds shite.

The PA version is too high and those of us without the range of Freddie Mercury or Pavarotti need to sing it an octave lower, which is less satisfying. So aye, FoS would be fine if played about 5 or 6 semi-tones lower. 

Whomever said applauding anthems was weird reminded me of the home game against Ukraine (or Lithuania, my memory places those games days after each other) and the anthem was gorgeous, causing spontaneous applause in the North Stand and appreciative comments. I swear someone shouted "bravo" (or that might have been me tbf  😇).

38 minutes ago, jamamafegan said:

I’ve always hated VAR but I have to admit that I ever so slightly warmed to it after Saturday. I enjoyed the anxious wait for the ref to make his decision and then the bedlam as he pointed to the centre circle. In the highlights you can really notice the moment of silence when the stadium holds its collective breath as the referee turns around to make his decision.

For the winner, the fear of VAR didn’t really have too much of an impact on my celebrations - I may have kept an eye on the ref for a split second as I celebrated but that was it. It as actually the second goal that’s I stopped celebrating before many others had.

Aye, course you warmed to it as it gave us the goal - you wouldn't be saying you had warmed to it if it hadn't given two decisions our way or if it had given Israel a decision you'd be on here saying it's shite. 🙄

2 hours ago, velo army said:

We have a national anthem that can't be played on our national instrument. The anthem has a flattened 7th note (the "think" in "Tae think again") which gives it the distinctly Scottish sound. The pipes can't handle it though and end up playing it differently and it sounds shite.

The PA version is too high and those of us without the range of Freddie Mercury or Pavarotti need to sing it an octave lower, which is less satisfying. So aye, FoS would be fine if played about 5 or 6 semi-tones lower. 

Whomever said applauding anthems was weird reminded me of the home game against Ukraine (or Lithuania, my memory places those games days after each other) and the anthem was gorgeous, causing spontaneous applause in the North Stand and appreciative comments. I swear someone shouted "bravo" (or that might have been me tbf  😇).

The problem is simply fans singing the anthem quicker than it gets played - never pausing for breath. Need a singer to keep the pace. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
3 hours ago, velo army said:

Have a greeny for the unashamed use of 'octave' on a football forum, my musical friend. 

3 hours ago, Bob Mahelp said:

Have a greeny for the unashamed use of 'octave' on a football forum, my musical friend. 

Cheers min, I actually thought "semi-tones" was the riskier shout. It might be a nice wee challenge to see how many arcane musical terms I can sneak on to this forum.

7 minutes ago, velo army said:

Cheers min, I actually thought "semi-tones" was the riskier shout. It might be a nice wee challenge to see how many arcane musical terms I can sneak on to this forum.

Double-greeny if you could have sneaked in Giocoso during the game tonight.

Still.  A win is what we needed and what we got.

Edited by The_Kincardine

I love FoS. Some people say it's a dirge but I don't, I think it's a cracking tune and makes the hair on my arms stand up when you hear it like that against Israel.

If we were to change it though, it's got to be Caledonia, or Wild Mountain Thyme as a back up.

Would have Scots Wha Hae instead of Caledonia, but agree Wild Mountain Thyme would be class

I absolutely lost my mind at all 3 goals.

Then celebrated the var confirmation equally as mental. Felt like we got 2 for 1 with the long waits.

Don't understand muted celebrations, how do you hold yourself back from a last minute winner?