Improving the current Strikers

Gordopolis

Honestly bud
If your plan is to bring in Ally Mccoist the coach, who made an absolute arse of his only managers job. So much so he's never been employed again.
To try and turn someone into Kenny Miller, an absolute haddy. Who failed miserably in England and was by and large shite for us.
Then Im telling you as a favour, take your cock off the line and put it away. Its a crap idea.
I dont think the answer to our striker issues necessarily has to be Scottish. I think the state were in now the last thing we need is another Scottish coach. We've been trying that a long time now.
There have been alot of strikers from all over the world who were better players than Mccoist. Sure plenty have went onto become coach's.

I rate McCoist as a coach but not as a manager, and Miller as a player. You clearly think both are shite. That's fine.
So take McCoist and Miller out of the argument - hire a striking coach (of whatever nationality) of good calibre. I can't see how that'd fail to make us sharper. It certainly couldn't make us any more toothless than we currently look.

14 hours ago, BingMcCrosby said:

To try and turn someone into Kenny Miller, an absolute haddy. Who failed miserably in England and was by and large shite for us.

Miller was very good for Wolves and Im guessing is probably Scotlands top goal scorer this millennium so to call him a haddy and shite is ridiculously harsh

16 hours ago, kingjoey said:

In our last 5 competitive matches, ie our last 5 matches, we have had a total of 62 (SIXTY TWO) attempts at the oppositions goal, and scored twice (TWICE). That is not poor, that is not bad, that is not awful, that is f*ck*ng atrocious. Whatever is happening in training, it is not working. Things have to be changed and I would suggest the biggest change that can be made, given that we really have no striking alternatives to bring in, is a striking coach as has already been suggested. Keep doing the same things and you get the same outcome. 

Well that puts it into a depressing perspective.  I don't remember the last time we worked a good opportunity that led to a player having time to execute a finish.  Any chance is snatched at, and a lot of the time in the final third we don't ever look like we're fully in control of a ball.  We manage to be hilariously ponderous at times everywhere else on the pitch that it's so incredibly frustrating that we always seem to rush things so badly, leading to the sort of shite finishing we've had for what seems like ages.

30 minutes ago, Gordopolis said:

I rate McCoist as a coach but not as a manager, and Miller as a player. You clearly think both are shite. That's fine.
So take McCoist and Miller out of the argument - hire a striking coach (of whatever nationality) of good calibre. I can't see how that'd fail to make us sharper. It certainly couldn't make us any more toothless than we currently look.

Great idea, but let's change the plan to make a new Kenny Miller 🙄

How about a new original Ronaldo or Hamish Balfour

Edited by BingMcCrosby

Great idea, but let's change the plan to make a new Kenny Miller [emoji849]
How about a new original Ronaldo or Hampshire Balfour
If we can transform big Lyndon into Ronaldo 3.0, then great, but IMO (and probably everyone else's) that's totally unrealistic.
My point was not that Kenny Miller was world class, but that between Hoddle at Wolves and the Scotland coaching team circa 2005, we managed to mould him into a half-decent forward, capable of delivering goals and disrupting the opposition defence enough to allow others to score.
It's not like Miller was unfairly keeping better strikers out of the side, especially in that era of playing a lone frontman with precious little support.

18 hours ago, Mr. Alli said:

Dykes hit somewhat of a "purple patch" and was rewarded - handsomely - much beyond his ability. Its time for the experiment to stop, thank him for his efforts and release him back out into the wild. 

And replace him with... Shankland, Scott Wright?  I'm all for replacing Dykes with a goalscorer.  But there aren't any.

Just now, Gordopolis said:

If we can transform big Lyndon into Ronaldo 3.0, then great, but IMO (and probably everyone else's) that's totally unrealistic.
My point was not that Kenny Miller was world class, but that between Hoddle at Wolves and the Scotland coaching team circa 2005, we managed to mould him into a half-decent forward, capable of delivering goals and disrupting the opposition defence enough to allow others to score.
It's not like Miller was unfairly keeping better strikers out of the side, especially in that era of playing a lone frontman with precious little support.

I was meaning a future striker rather that turn dykes into any kind of technical player. 

But yeah in general if they appointed a strikers coach if be all in favour of that.

It fits into the why are we not producing strikers thread really. Perhaps lack of specialist coaching throughout Scotland is an issue.

The performance schools deff seem to be giving us a better standard of player. Were just waiting on a big sexy goal machine or 2 to come thru next.

17 hours ago, BingMcCrosby said:

If your plan is to bring in Ally Mccoist the coach, who made an absolute arse of his only managers job. So much so he's never been employed again.

Coaching and managing aren't even nearly the same job. I have no idea if McCoist is a good coach but his performance as Rangers manager isn't at all relevant. Austin McPhee hardly had Hearts on fire when he was in charge of them but he is pretty much universally praised for his coaching. Ian Cathro is assistant gaffer at Spurs but was hopeless as a gaffer in his own right. 

Just now, The Moonster said:

Coaching and managing aren't even nearly the same job. I have no idea if McCoist is a good coach but his performance as Rangers manager isn't at all relevant. Austin McPhee hardly had Hearts on fire when he was in charge of them but he is pretty much universally praised for his coaching. Ian Cathro is assistant gaffer at Spurs but was hopeless as a gaffer in his own right. 

It depends some managers takes complete charge of coaching. And in which case it is part and parcel of the job.

I dont believe mccoist was not in charge of coaching during his time at rangers. So its very much relevant.

4 minutes ago, BingMcCrosby said:

It depends some managers takes complete charge of coaching. And in which case it is part and parcel of the job.

I dont believe mccoist was not in charge of coaching during his time at rangers. So its very much relevant.

At part time sides, aye, the manager and his assistant will more than likely take charge of coaching. At Rangers? They've got a full staff there to take care of it, McCoist had McDowell, Durie and Durrant all involved with others along the way. You believe McCoist was in charge of it? That's cool. It's complete conjecture on your part though so not really relevant at all. 

It's depressing to look at our current options and remember the optimism when Che Adams threw his lot in with us. 

Why it hasn't worked ? We are adept at playing ponderous rubbish all over the park. When chances do come they're usually half chances and get snatched at by forwards who don't see enough of the ball. 

Prediction is that Leigh Griffiths gets goals for Dundee and gets back in the squad. By far our best option up front.

14 minutes ago, Ken Deans said:

Why it hasn't worked ? We are adept at playing ponderous rubbish all over the park. When chances do come they're usually half chances and get snatched at by forwards who don't see enough of the ball. 

Ponderous is a very good word to describe the Scottish style of play. Our clubs and national team too often play slow, deliberate football and struggle to be incisive and clinical when required. Years of coaching kids to pass 10 yards to a stationery team mate are taking their toll.

23 minutes ago, Ken Deans said:

It's depressing to look at our current options and remember the optimism when Che Adams threw his lot in with us. 

Prediction is that Leigh Griffiths gets goals for Dundee and gets back in the squad. By far our best option up front.

2 minutes ago, Northboy said:

Ponderous is a very good word to describe the Scottish style of play. Our clubs and national team too often play slow, deliberate football and struggle to be incisive and clinical when required. Years of coaching kids to pass 10 yards to a stationery team mate are taking their toll.

I don't think I've ever heard the Scottish game described as slow or ponderous in my 32 years on this planet until reading these two posts. Leigh Griffiths will also never be near another Scotland team again.

Just now, The Moonster said:

At part time sides, aye, the manager and his assistant will more than likely take charge of coaching. At Rangers? They've got a full staff there to take care of it, McCoist had McDowell, Durie and Durrant all involved with others along the way. You believe McCoist was in charge of it? That's cool. It's complete conjecture on your part though so not really relevant at all. 

Naw at full time sides.

I think you will find at every full time club in Scotland the manager will be at every session. And will lead and plan most of them in conjunction with the coaches.

The smaller the club the more the manager will do.

But if you think at a bigger club say celtic.  Postecoglou stays out of the coaching and just buys players and picks the team. Thats cool, but not true.

1 minute ago, BingMcCrosby said:

But if you think at a bigger club say celtic.  Postecoglou stays out of the coaching and just buys players and picks the team. Thats cool, but not true.

Are you deliberately being a knob or do you genuinely think that's what I've said here?