Stenhousemuir -vs- Cowdenbeath

1 hour ago, CowdenPhil said:

Highlight of today's game was the GIRFUY from the Cowden kitman to that moaning b*****d Swift after the Cowden goal.  Then the ref sent him off 😆

I'd be worried if I was a BSC Stenny fan with that gang playing. 

Stenny are a poor squad if that was their best Xl it’s going to be a hard season for them.

Thought Robert Thomson was their best player he still has something about him.

I suppose signing a job lot of 21 players is always a gamble may get a few jems but the majority will be either bang average or pish.

Thought we done well 5 players out , some came out of isolation yesterday and the majority didn’t train.

Also no manager or assistant manager.

Under the circumstances a well deserved point.

2 hours ago, Vimto90 said:

Sometimes the diddies can grab a point against the big boys and this is how it went down.

Seen enough to suggest we put Kelty the sword next week.

Yes, you did well to get a point against the big boys today. You'll do well to get a point next week, that's for sure.

41 minutes ago, cowdenbeath said:

Stenny are a poor squad if that was their best Xl it’s going to be a hard season for them.

Thought Robert Thomson was their best player he still has something about him.

I suppose signing a job lot of 21 players is always a gamble may get a few jems but the majority will be either bang average or pish.

Thought we done well 5 players out , some came out of isolation yesterday and the majority didn’t train.

Also no manager or assistant manager.

Under the circumstances a well deserved point.

Good point given our Covid issues.

Agree about Thomson, he gave our centre backs a tough game.

Stenny like to pass the ball about but look short of a cutting edge.

Before the match, I said to myself: "If Stenhousemuir FC cannot beat a mid-card side like Cowdenbeath, a mid-card side who have just 14 players to pick from and haven't trained in two weeks, then they might as well pack up". And with that, I'm sorry to see the shutters pulled down on Ochilview forevermore.

First, you have to say a hearty "fair play" to Cowden. It would have been easy for the players, some of whom were fielded in unfamiliar positions, to feel sorry for themselves and believe they were going into a game where the deck was stacked against them from the off but they did what they had to do - they grafted hard and they scored a smashing equaliser through big Kris Renton, their most bothersome player. I imagine everyone associated with the club will be delighted with the point in the circumstances, so credit to them.

The Warriors' performance was probably the best we've seen from Stephen Swift's team this season; in context, I'm not sure if this is a good thing. We kept the ball well at times, shuttling it neatly between the defence and the midfield, and there were occasions when our attack looked bright, most notably whenever Robert Thomson or Darren Christie were involved. But, as Brazilianlex above me says, we didn't really have much of a cutting edge and I don't think we really put Cowden under any sustained pressure. There were moments we had them toppling towards the the ropes but other than Christie's well-taken goal, it didn't happen and they largely dealt with what was thrown at them.

I think a lot of this comes down to the midfield. My friends and I were having a discussion after the match about the lack of balance in the middle of the park. We have a number of players who are happy to sit and knock the ball around (Ross Forbes, Declan Hughes, Nat Wedderburn, all of whom started today), and we have a number of players who like to operate behind the forward line (Adam Brown, Euan O'Reilly and Cammy Graham) but we don't really have anyone who we can deploy as a box-to-box midfielder and knit the constituent parts together. There was hope James Lyon would be that player but a dip in form coupled with an eight-week absence through injury has put paid to that for the time being. Swift fielded another brand-new starting XI this afternoon and it feels as though he's still trying to find the right combination, even at this stage of the campaign. We looked good going down the right, with Ross Lyon's drive, coupled with Christie's industry and willingness to try things, such a big part of our play, but we have little threat on the opposite flank, save for the few times Bernard Coll motored forward. Why is this? What is our best XI? It reminds me a little of Scott Booth's doomed spell in charge of the club.

It also feels as though Swift's overthinking things and trying to negate the opposition's strengths, rather than playing to ours. He must have known going into this Cowden were struggling to put a team together for this match, so why not go with two forwards and really put someone like Craig Thomson, a wee smout playing in central defence, under pressure? Other than a wee boob prior to Christie's goal, Thomson did alright, but I think he could have been got at. I did not understand the substitution of Robert Thomson for Tam Orr at the death. Why remove your best player when you're trying to win the game?

Special mention must go to Adam Corbett - that was his first game of the season and he looked very assured at centre-back. His run down the left flank and cross for the opening goal was glorious and his general calmness on the ball and his passing out from the back was great to watch. Yeah, Renton got the better of him a couple of times and there are still some worries about his ability to deal with the rougher side of League 2 football, but I really hope he can kick on because there is definitely a player in there. I thought the manager would have punted him out on loan and I'm glad to see he's been given another chance. I'd like to think Swift will deploy Corbett and Nicky Jamieson against Kelty Hearts next weekend, even if Sean Crighton returns, because neither should make way after today's showing.

We have two points from a possible 12. Today's result, like the previous three, was bitterly disappointing, and the margins are fine. It's all a bit "if me auntie had baws..." but we could have taken a point from the game against Stirling Albion and Edinburgh City, and we should have beaten Albion Rovers and Cowden. Alas! I can't imagine we'll take anything from Kelty; you begin to wonder where that first win is going to come from.

40 minutes ago, Francesc Fabregas said:

Before the match, I said to myself: "If Stenhousemuir FC cannot beat a mid-card side like Cowdenbeath, a mid-card side who have just 14 players to pick from and haven't trained in two weeks, then they might as well pack up". And with that, I'm sorry to see the shutters pulled down on Ochilview forevermore.

First, you have to say a hearty "fair play" to Cowden. It would have been easy for the players, some of whom were fielded in unfamiliar positions, to feel sorry for themselves and believe they were going into a game where the deck was stacked against them from the off but they did what they had to do - they grafted hard and they scored a smashing equaliser through big Kris Renton, their most bothersome player. I imagine everyone associated with the club will be delighted with the point in the circumstances, so credit to them.

The Warriors' performance was probably the best we've seen from Stephen Swift's team this season; in context, I'm not sure if this is a good thing. We kept the ball well at times, shuttling it neatly between the defence and the midfield, and there were occasions when our attack looked bright, most notably whenever Robert Thomson or Darren Christie were involved. But, as Brazilianlex above me says, we didn't really have much of a cutting edge and I don't think we really put Cowden under any sustained pressure. There were moments we had them toppling towards the the ropes but other than Christie's well-taken goal, it didn't happen and they largely dealt with what was thrown at them.

I think a lot of this comes down to the midfield. My friends and I were having a discussion after the match about the lack of balance in the middle of the park. We have a number of players who are happy to sit and knock the ball around (Ross Forbes, Declan Hughes, Nat Wedderburn, all of whom started today), and we have a number of players who like to operate behind the forward line (Adam Brown, Euan O'Reilly and Cammy Graham) but we don't really have anyone who we can deploy as a box-to-box midfielder and knit the constituent parts together. There was hope James Lyon would be that player but a dip in form coupled with an eight-week absence through injury has put paid to that for the time being. Swift fielded another brand-new starting XI this afternoon and it feels as though he's still trying to find the right combination, even at this stage of the campaign. We looked good going down the right, with Ross Lyon's drive, coupled with Christie's industry and willingness to try things, such a big part of our play, but we have little threat on the opposite flank, save for the few times Bernard Coll motored forward. Why is this? What is our best XI? It reminds me a little of Scott Booth's doomed spell in charge of the club.

It also feels as though Swift's overthinking things and trying to negate the opposition's strengths, rather than playing to ours. He must have known going into this Cowden were struggling to put a team together for this match, so why not go with two forwards and really put someone like Craig Thomson, a wee smout playing in central defence, under pressure? Other than a wee boob prior to Christie's goal, Thomson did alright, but I think he could have been got at. I did not understand the substitution of Robert Thomson for Tam Orr at the death. Why remove your best player when you're trying to win the game?

Special mention must go to Adam Corbett - that was his first game of the season and he looked very assured at centre-back. His run down the left flank and cross for the opening goal was glorious and his general calmness on the ball and his passing out from the back was great to watch. Yeah, Renton got the better of him a couple of times and there are still some worries about his ability to deal with the rougher side of League 2 football, but I really hope he can kick on because there is definitely a player in there. I thought the manager would have punted him out on loan and I'm glad to see he's been given another chance. I'd like to think Swift will deploy Corbett and Nicky Jamieson against Kelty Hearts next weekend, even if Sean Crighton returns, because neither should make way after today's showing.

We have two points from a possible 12. Today's result, like the previous three, was bitterly disappointing, and the margins are fine. It's all a bit "if me auntie had baws..." but we could have taken a point from the game against Stirling Albion and Edinburgh City, and we should have beaten Albion Rovers and Cowden. Alas! I can't imagine we'll take anything from Kelty; you begin to wonder where that first win is going to come from.

I always felt big Nat was better in defence than midfield, unless he’s got dramatically more mobile and athletic over the last few seasons?

12 minutes ago, wulliemc said:

Anyone know what the ref and the lino were in deep discussion about in the first half before speaking to the stenny bench

It looked like they were looking at team sheets or similar so I’m guessing an issue on Stenny team matching what was submitted before game.