The Scottish Cup 21-22

2 hours ago, Malty Guy said:

Anybody have any idea which EOS club has made the most appearances in the Scottish Cup. Or maybe putting a different question, which EOS Club has won the most Scottish Cup games??

Just wondering, thats all.

Scottish Cup matches played
55     Whitehill
49     Peebles
38     Hawick
35     Coldstream
34     Linlithgow
30     Burntisland
28     Preston
21     LTHV
12     Penicuik
   9     Broxburn
   5     Hill of Beath
   4     Camelon, Dundonald, Jeanfield, Leith
   3     Tranent, Tynecastle
   2     Blackburn, Easthouses, Haddington, Musselburgh
   1     Bathgate, Dunipace, Newtongrange

Scottish Cup matches won
20     Linlithgow
15     Peebles
13     Whitehill
11     LTHV
   8     Hawick, Preston
   6     Broxburn
   5     Burntisland, Coldstream, Penicuik
   3     Hill of Beath
   2     Camelon, Jeanfield, Leith, Tranent
   1     Dundonald, Haddington, Musselburgh
   0     Bathgate, Blackburn, Dunipace, Easthouses, Newtongrange, Tynecastle

Scottish Cup season appearances
29     Whitehill
27     Coldstream
24     Hawick
23     Burntisland
22     Peebles
17     Preston
10     Linlithgow
   6     LTHV, Penicuik
   3     Tynecastle
   2     Blackburn, Broxburn, Camelon, Dundonald, Easthouses, Hill of Beath, Jeanfield
   1     Bathgate, Dunipace, Haddington, Leith, Musselburgh, Newtongrange, Tranent

Scottish Cup victories over Scottish League opponents
   2     Linlithgow, LTHV
   1     Broxburn, Hawick, Peebles, Penicuik, Preston, Whitehill
30 Jan 1954     Montrose 0-1 Peebles
04 Feb 1987     Albion Rovers 1-2 Whitehill
18 Nov 2006     Preston 2-0 Stenhousemuir
03 Nov 2015     Montrose 1-2 LTHV
26 Jan 2016     Forfar 0-1 Linlithgow
22 Oct 2016     Berwick 2-3 Hawick
14 Oct 2017     Stirling Albion 3-5 LTHV
26 Oct 2019     Broxburn 3-0 Cowdenbeath
26 Oct 2019     Penicuik 3-0 Stenhousemuir
26 Dec 2020     Brechin 2-3 Linlithgow

5 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

55     Whitehill
49     Peebles
38     Hawick
35     Coldstream
34     Linlithgow
30     Burntisland
28     Preston
21     LTHV
12     Penicuik
   9     Broxburn
   5     Hill of Beath

Scottish Cup matches won
20     Linlithgow
15     Peebles
13     Whitehill
11     LTHV
   8     Hawick, Preston
   6     Broxburn
   3     Hill of Beath

29     Whitehill
27     Coldstream
24     Hawick
23     Burntisland
22     Peebles
17     Preston
10     Linlithgow
   6     LTHV, Penicuik
   3     Tynecastle
   2     Blackburn, Broxburn, Camelon, Dundonald, Easthouses, Hill of Beath, Jeanfield

2     Linlithgow, LTHV

Stunning respone !!!!

Gala have 12 wins in 45 matches over 28 appearances. 

Spartans have 25 wins, 12 draws and 29 defeats. That's over 28 appearances -  they lost 2-1 to Elgin in 2007-08 but the match was ordered to be replayed as Elgin fielded an ineligible player. Spartans won the rearranged match. It later emerged Spartans had fielded an ineligible player too!

However, many/most? of these were while they were LL clubs rather than EOS.

9 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

55     Whitehill
49     Peebles
38     Hawick
35     Coldstream
34     Linlithgow
30     Burntisland
28     Preston
21     LTHV
12     Penicuik
   9     Broxburn
   5     Hill of Beath

Scottish Cup matches won
20     Linlithgow
15     Peebles
13     Whitehill
11     LTHV
   8     Hawick, Preston
   6     Broxburn
   3     Hill of Beath

29     Whitehill
27     Coldstream
24     Hawick
23     Burntisland
22     Peebles
17     Preston
10     Linlithgow
   6     LTHV, Penicuik
   3     Tynecastle

2     Linlithgow, LTHV

downvoted for not providing scorers and attendances.

10 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

55     Whitehill

29     Whitehill

I make this 56 and 30 (including 11 and 6 as a LL club). I wonder if you've included the game at Hill o'Beath last December.

9 hours ago, GordonS said:

Gala have 12 wins in 45 matches over 28 appearances. 

Spartans have 25 wins, 12 draws and 29 defeats. That's over 28 appearances -  they lost 2-1 to Elgin in 2007-08 but the match was ordered to be replayed as Elgin fielded an ineligible player. Spartans won the rearranged match. It later emerged Spartans had fielded an ineligible player too!

However, many/most? of these were while they were LL clubs rather than EOS.

As LL clubs I make it:

Spartans 8 app, 21 games, 10 wins

Gala 8 app, 16 games, 7 wins.

(wondering where you sourced these - for anybody else the official SFA site allows you to search the archives by club)

Edited by The Mantis

34 minutes ago, The Mantis said:

(wondering where you sourced these - for anybody else the official SFA site allows you to search the archives by club)

That's where I sourced them. I checked wiki for the season in which Spartans lost twice.

ETA Although I was surprised to beat the Oracle of Berwick to it... 

Edited by GordonS

Probably the only stick to beat whitehill with in the 80s and 90s was a poor Scottish cup record..i genuinely think if they had held out in the Stranraer game it would have been a monkey iff the back and led to a few more results in the seasons that followed 

23 hours ago, The Mantis said:

1996 - won 2-1 at Fraserburgh after a 2-2 draw and lost 3-0 to Celtic at Easter Road in Round 3.
1996-7 - Won 3-0 away to HL Elgin before losing a thriller at home to QoS 2-3 when the pitch had to be cleared of snow by volunteers including some of the players.
1999 - Drew 1-1 at home to Stenny. Kenny Miller was on loan from Hibs who weren't wanting him cup tied (or whatever). The winners were drawn away to Rangers so apparently Hibs were paid a decent sum (£8k?) to allow him to play. He scored both goals in a 2-0 win with WW missing a penalty (at 1-0 IIRC).

Remember these games growing up. Why I still have a soft spot for WW and tried to get through to watch them when it was possible.

Half of Bonnyrigg went to Easter Road for the Celtic game, it was a healthy crowd. I’m gutted I wasn’t there, was offered tickets for it but was too young to to understand the importance and didn’t bother asking my parents to take me 

8 hours ago, GordonS said:

That's where I sourced them. I checked wiki for the season in which Spartans lost twice.

ETA Although I was surprised to beat the Oracle of Berwick to it... 

Aye but you could have got their LL record while you were there and saved me the bother 😉

35 minutes ago, Spyro said:

Remember these games growing up. Why I still have a soft spot for WW and tried to get through to watch them when it was possible.

Half of Bonnyrigg went to Easter Road for the Celtic game, it was a healthy crowd. I’m gutted I wasn’t there, was offered tickets for it but was too young to to understand the importance and didn’t bother asking my parents to take me 

9 buses from the village that day. There was a wee lad on the bus with his dad, wearing a Celtic scarf. I told him Whitehill had won because they had got 4 goals of a start, being 4 leagues below, and the wee bugger started greetin 😱

On 09/08/2021 at 18:46, The Mantis said:

Had a quick look at Whitehill's record. 30 appearances, 43 ties (excluding replays) since their first in 1980. Only 13 wins though, and 13 draws, and only one win against SPFL opposition, 2-1 away to Albion Rovers in 1987.
Before 2007, clubs had to qualify for the Scottish by reaching the last 4 of the Qualifying Cup. After 2007 SFA members qualified automatically.

The great WW team of the mid 90s had some amazing ties as well as some cruel luck.
1993 - 3-1 up at Stranraer with 10 mins to go, drew 3-3, before losing the replay 4-0.
1995 - drew 0-0 with Montrose and lost the replay 5-2.
1996 - won 2-1 at Fraserburgh after a 2-2 draw and lost 3-0 to Celtic at Easter Road in Round 3.
1996-7 - Won 3-0 away to HL Elgin before losing a thriller at home to QoS 2-3 when the pitch had to be cleared of snow by volunteers including some of the players.
1999 - Drew 1-1 at home to Stenny. Kenny Miller was on loan from Hibs who weren't wanting him cup tied (or whatever). The winners were drawn away to Rangers so apparently Hibs were paid a decent sum (£8k?) to allow him to play. He scored both goals in a 2-0 win with WW missing a penalty (at 1-0 IIRC).

Some teams such as Spartans may have more wins. Appearances, maybe Gala.

I was at the Stenny v Whitehill game and can confirm that if it wasn't for Kenny Miller Whitehill probably would have beaten Stenny.

I used to enjoy it when Whitehill and Spartans put out Highland League teams, especially away from home, as the HFL looked down a bit on the EOSFL. Having said that HFL hospitality was fantastic. Others occasionally managed it- Edinburgh Uni put out Keith one year.

I think people quite enjoyed Edinburgh City knocking out then Junior Cup holders Shotts and also Auchinleck Talbot. 

On 09/08/2021 at 21:58, YoungSouthcroft said:

20 out of 34 not a bad win record at all. Almost 60% win rate. Well done LR

Just thought about it and I was at 29 of those 34 games. Three were behind closed doors because of Covid, I missed one due to illness (Wick away) and one due to being on holiday (Clach away).

After the five Junior Cup finals, the Scottish Cup games have provided most of my highlights following the Rose. The pinnacle was our second goal away at Ross County, to bring it back to 3-2. Doing olés against a side that won the League Cup a month later and finished 6th in the Premiership.

2 hours ago, Deanburn Dave said:
4 hours ago, platform 19 said:
THURSDAY 1300 with some live streaming

The draw is to be streamed live on YouTube and Facebook.....just search for "The Scottish Cup" on YouTube or Facebook just before 1pm.

IIs a bit like waiting on Santa Claus,,,,, but that was a very long time ago. Just cant wait.