Immigrants of P&B

Torpar

I know I’m far from the only person on here who no longer has the, ahem, pleasure of living in Scotland.

What brought you to your current country?

What’s the best and worst thing about it?

What do you miss about Scotland and what do you not miss?

Moved to Wales for work.

Best thing was the fact that I found someone to pay me money to do what I do.

Worst thing was the racism, the backwardness, the proximity to England, the lack of touring bands, and the dining options.

I didn’t realise how good Glasgow was till I had left. Moved back after four years to be closer to Killie Mrs Mathematics.

I’ve been playing ice hockey since I was 8 years old and so always had an interest in Canada, I visited Toronto for the first time with my brother in January 2009 and liked it so much I visited again on my own in November the same year. I used to play for an ice hockey team in Edinburgh that usually had a good number of international students playing for them, became good friends with a Native Canadian who invited me to visit his reserve when he went back for the summer, I remember being gutted when I had to come back to Scotland, I kept telling anyone that would listen that I was done with Scotland and was moving to Canada, f**k off then, was their usual response. I learned in 2013 that being under 30 I could apply for a 12 month working holiday work permit, got one and moved in May 2014 with the intention of seeing how I liked living there and hoping I could apply for one more 12 month work permit, thankfully for me they changed the UK working holiday work permits to 24 months to be in line with other countries. I met my now wife two months after getting my second work permit and when it was about to run out she said she would sponsor me for permanent residency which I got in 2018, I may apply for citizenship soon but I’m in no hurry. Working on getting my Ontario drivers license so I can move out of the city.