FIFA 22

mrpaddyx

39 minutes ago, Dave said:

Seeing as I can't complain in my WhatsApp chat I'm going to have to vent here.

Folk not doing golden goal any more in friendlies is incredibly disappointing. But not as disappointing as realising that red cards now count in friendlies. Genuinely what's the point in that?? 

Red cards which earned in friendlies but don't appear to be removed by benching the sent off player for a game in friendlies. So stupid.

3 hours ago, Dave said:

Red cards which earned in friendlies but don't appear to be removed by benching the sent off player for a game in friendlies. So stupid.

Madness. Also incredibly annoying that you can still use loan cards in friendlies (I believe), which will once again render any future objectives based there very very tedious.

I've gone on a few mad win streaks and quickly shot up to Division 2 in UT, and the squads are becoming absolutely ridiculous. I've picked up a few half decent players in packs recently, and my team atm has cost about 150k all-in (most of that being IF Barella), but I've just played a guy with a 5.5m coin team including Neymar, Mbappe and Ronaldo. This is on the PS4 version as well, not even the most relevant iteration of the game. Crazy. Rather deliciously, I won 2-0.

Up to division 4 now and finally got enough points for a crack at the champs play offs tomorrow night. Anyone played them yet? 

Using a 4231 with Benzema up top but the higher i go up the divisions the more he feels like a big diddy! Not found a formation i really like yet either.

15 hours ago, robosaintee said:

Up to division 4 now and finally got enough points for a crack at the champs play offs tomorrow night. Anyone played them yet? 

Using a 4231 with Benzema up top but the higher i go up the divisions the more he feels like a big diddy! Not found a formation i really like yet either.

I played mine over the weekend there (can't mind when I started) and it was a bit of a sweatfest, but I would imagine I was quite early to the party and therefore the quality was a tad skewed. Managed to win 6/8 which left one dead rubber, and my two losses were a result of Mbappe/Pele loans being brought on. I've primarily been rocking the 4-4-2 and counter-attacking on folk which has been working well for me, also gives you enough out wide that you can stretch a defence if someone's packing it and you have to be more patient. It's not quite as defensively stable as I'd like though, even with both CMs set to stay back (which they seldom do, mostly due to how I play). That Correa card is annoyingly good, I've not used him myself yet but he's a more meta option than Benzema if you're toiling.

2 hours ago, deej said:

Got this the other day. 

How in the f**k does rivals work now?

It's complicated and has taken me a while to understand what's going on; their in-game guide is absolutely horrendous. Basically, you start off in Division 10 and it is a step forward/hold/step back situation for a W/D/L, however once you reach certain checkpoints *I think* you can't then take a step back from it. Winning a streak of games will give you a x2 multiplier and propel you forward two steps for each consecutive win. In each Division, there are Rank III, II and I stages which define how many coins you get with that division's pack rewards. If you win 3 games in your current division during a week, you get what they are calling "weekly rewards", while 7 wins will grant you "upgrade rewards". If you get up to Division 1 and then progress from it, you then enter the Elite Division (not got much of a clue about that) from which you're apparently unable to get relegated until the next season begins and all of the ranks reset. I'm not sure how brutal the rank reset will be each season; I'd imagine everyone will get knocked down a few divisions or something. Much of this could be very wrong but that's what I've made of it all.

10 minutes ago, Robin.Hood said:

I want this for the ps5 however son has ps4... which one do I get? I'm reading I should get ps5 ultimate edition ? 

Yep, unfortunately the only way to get dual entitlement this year is to fork out at least 80 quid for the ultimate edition. A bit of a disgrace when there are so many people, through no fault of their own, unable to get PS5s and who will be looking to get them during the game's cycle. I'm fortunate enough to have one but all my pals are marooned on PS4, so I just bought the PS4 standard edition.

Posted on here that I wouldn't bother with this since PES was free to play. Found out I was wrong and any career mode on PES is still paid every year, and it's fucking shite anyway.

Enjoying this so far, defending took me a good while to get used to. Usually spend most of the time on career mode, and do a player career when I can't be arsed with subs and transfers. Big plus point for me so far is that your player doesn't always start, and you can come on as a sub. Very small thing that most will probably hate but it's a feature/detail I'm a fan of.

29 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

I played mine over the weekend there (can't mind when I started) and it was a bit of a sweatfest, but I would imagine I was quite early to the party and therefore the quality was a tad skewed. Managed to win 6/8 which left one dead rubber, and my two losses were a result of Mbappe/Pele loans being brought on. I've primarily been rocking the 4-4-2 and counter-attacking on folk which has been working well for me, also gives you enough out wide that you can stretch a defence if someone's packing it and you have to be more patient. It's not quite as defensively stable as I'd like though, even with both CMs set to stay back (which they seldom do, mostly due to how I play). That Correa card is annoyingly good, I've not used him myself yet but he's a more meta option than Benzema if you're toiling.

It's complicated and has taken me a while to understand what's going on; their in-game guide is absolutely horrendous. Basically, you start off in Division 10 and it is a step forward/hold/step back situation for a W/D/L, however once you reach certain checkpoints *I think* you can't then take a step back from it. Winning a streak of games will give you a x2 multiplier and propel you forward two steps for each consecutive win. In each Division, there are Rank III, II and I stages which define how many coins you get with that division's pack rewards. If you win 3 games in your current division during a week, you get what they are calling "weekly rewards", while 7 wins will grant you "upgrade rewards". If you get up to Division 1 and then progress from it, you then enter the Elite Division (not got much of a clue about that) from which you're apparently unable to get relegated until the next season begins and all of the ranks reset. I'm not sure how brutal the rank reset will be each season; I'd imagine everyone will get knocked down a few divisions or something. Much of this could be very wrong but that's what I've made of it all.

Yep, unfortunately the only way to get dual entitlement this year is to fork out at least 80 quid for the ultimate edition. A bit of a disgrace when there are so many people, through no fault of their own, unable to get PS5s and who will be looking to get them during the game's cycle. I'm fortunate enough to have one but all my pals are marooned on PS4, so I just bought the PS4 standard edition.

89.99 for this. Struggling to find it in any supermarket etc.

If I'm playing it on my ps5... can my son play it on his ps4 at same time?

Struggling to justify paying this. Is there a pay version that can play on both consoles? 

2 minutes ago, Robin.Hood said:

89.99 for this. Struggling to find it in any supermarket etc.

If I'm playing it on my ps5... can my son play it on his ps4 at same time?

Struggling to justify paying this. Is there a pay version that can play on both consoles? 

If you buy it digitally then yes - you couldn't do it with a physical copy as you'd need a disc to launch the game and resultantly only one of you could play at any given time. To concurrently play the same version of a digital game, you'll have to create a new user and set the 'foreign' PSN account which the game was bought from as the primary account on the other console, which will then allow other users on said console to play digital games from the primary account's library (ie. FIFA 22 Ultimate Edition). The entire thing is a mess, tbh. If you go ahead with splashing out 90 sheets then I'd recommend at least buying a wallet top-up to shave some cash off that (click).

19 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

If you buy it digitally then yes - you couldn't do it with a physical copy as you'd need a disc to launch the game and resultantly only one of you could play at any given time. To concurrently play the same version of a digital game, you'll have to create a new user and set the 'foreign' PSN account which the game was bought from as the primary account on the other console, which will then allow other users on said console to play digital games from the primary account's library (ie. FIFA 22 Ultimate Edition). The entire thing is a mess, tbh. If you go ahead with splashing out 90 sheets then I'd recommend at least buying a wallet top-up to shave some cash off that (click).

Yup that price is not happening. Talked self out of it. Can I get a ps4 version and play it on the ps5? At same time wouldn't matter 

11 minutes ago, Robin.Hood said:

Yup that price is not happening. Talked self out of it. Can I get a ps4 version and play it on the ps5? At same time wouldn't matter 

Aye, maybe worth double-checking elsewhere but I'm pretty certain you could play the PS4 standard edition simultaneously by undertaking the same steps I outlined above. Not missing out on a great deal anyway - it's pretty much just aesthetics, and definitely not ones worth almost double the price.

25 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

Aye, maybe worth double-checking elsewhere but I'm pretty certain you could play the PS4 standard edition simultaneously by undertaking the same steps I outlined above. Not missing out on a great deal anyway - it's pretty much just aesthetics, and definitely not ones worth almost double the price.

Cheers. Will pay the 49.99 instead for the bairn and take a shot of his  

This year it seems to be a lot harder to generate coins, but I’ve not played for a few years so maybe it’s normally like this? Pack weight seems to be alright, but it’s a tad annoying they’re all untradeable rewards for the most part. 

First year I vowed not to spend a single penny over and above the price of the game and I've only gone and got Mbappe from a preview pack in the first couple of weeks...

received_233696368781779.jpeg.2d1ab4443d90d73331b897603da559b4.jpeg

Have literally no idea what to do with the come just now though. The likes of Kante Neymar Messi I feel like I'd be throwing away coins as their price will surely only go one way.

2 hours ago, #Gary said:

First year I vowed not to spend a single penny over and above the price of the game and I've only gone and got Mbappe from a preview pack in the first couple of weeks...

received_233696368781779.jpeg.2d1ab4443d90d73331b897603da559b4.jpeg

Have literally no idea what to do with the come just now though. The likes of Kante Neymar Messi I feel like I'd be throwing away coins as their price will surely only go one way.

I can barely manage a rare gold player in these preview packs so far. Thats outrageous.

Thread has nothing to persuade me to buy this game tbh, last year was the first FIFA I'd not bothered with in like a decade.

Career mode is, presumably still a buggy mess than implodes after a season or two, while UT is clearly headed towards the stage where everyone have 90+ squads after the first week, with those chucking £100+ the ones getting the best players (with a couple of exceptions), while anyone who either doesn't buy the game instantly, or spend money on it, having a pointless grind of weeks to just reach that stage, by which point there will already be 300+ overpowered special cards which have killed gameplay.