Kelty Hearts Thread

Really enjoyed the game through in Stenhousemuir. There was a spell in the first half where it looked like Stenhousemuir were edging it and we looked particularly exposed down our right hand side. The home side had some chances but Kelty emerged as the better team, particularly in the second half. 

There were some good performances today. Delighted to see Alfredo adding to his tally, his best game to date for me. Cardle again was tremendous, I didn't mind that he was willing to take a chance to sneak a goal rather than play the pass on this occasion, I've seen enough of him to know that in a tighter game with few chances his decision making would ensure were not wasting opportunities and he'd maybe look to retain possession rather than going for glory. McNab again showed his versatility and he didn't look at all out of place. He was our best performer at the back today and he looked especially committed and hard working. Given how little we've seen of him prior to this season and due to the fact all his appearances were in midfield last season, his flexible performances in defence have been the most welcome surprise so far this year. Looking back, there's no record of any competitive appearances at left back prior to this season so he deserves credit. 

The "ultras" were excellent today. Usually if you give bairns a drum and get them all hopped up on fizzy juice and put them in a football ground with their pals it's just a tiresome din. Notwithstanding a couple of songs that maybe weren't age appropriate they were a credit to the club and you could see from how the stewards interacted with them it was all good natured fun. 

A good day for Kelty all round, especially as given our respective trajectories a big Fife derby against Dunfermline could be on the cards sooner rather than later. 15 years ago Kelty were in the Fife District League while Dunfermline were in the Premier League, appearing in a cup final and playing in Europe. A decade and a half later and Kelty visiting East End Park in the league is a distinct possibility. 

Edited by KH4
Grammatical error

7 hours ago, KH4 said:

Really enjoyed the game through in Stenhousemuir. There was a spell in the first half where it looked like Stenhousemuir were edging it and we looked particularly exposed down our right hand side. The home side had some chances but Kelty emerged as the better team, particularly in the second half. 

There were some good performances today. Delighted to see Alfredo adding to his tally, his best game to date for me. Cardle again was tremendous, I didn't mind that he was willing to take a chance to sneak a goal rather than play the pass on this occasion, I've seen enough of him to know that in a tighter game with few chances his decision making would ensure were not wasting opportunities and he'd maybe look to retain possession rather than going for glory. McNab again showed his versatility and he didn't look at all out of place. He was our best performer at the back today and he looked especially committed and hard working. Given how little we've seen of him prior to this season and due to the fact all his appearances were in midfield last season, his flexible performances in defence have been the most welcome surprise so far this year. Looking back, there's no record of any competitive appearances at left back prior to this season so he deserves credit. 

The "ultras" were excellent today. Usually if you give bairns a drum and get them all hopped up on fizzy juice and put them in a football ground with their pals it's just a tiresome din. Notwithstanding a couple of songs that maybe weren't age appropriate they were a credit to the club and you could see from how the stewards interacted with them it was all good natured fun. 

A good day for Kelty all round, especially as given our respective trajectories a big Fife derby against Dunfermline could be on the cards sooner rather than later. 15 years ago Kelty were in the Fife District League while Dunfermline were in the Premier League, appearing in a cup final and playing in Europe. A decade and a half later and Kelty visiting East End Park in the league is a distinct possibility. 

A bit early for Dunfermline and predicted doom but that would be some story! Thought we were excellent yesterday despite a makeshift squad. Gives real confidence for the rest of the season.

On 29/08/2021 at 02:29, KH4 said:

....A good day for Kelty all round, especially as given our respective trajectories a big Fife derby against Dunfermline could be on the cards sooner rather than later. 15 years ago Kelty were in the Fife District League while Dunfermline were in the Premier League, appearing in a cup final and playing in Europe. A decade and a half later and Kelty visiting East End Park in the league is a distinct possibility. 

Not really disagreeing with you on this in any way but expanding on that it's worth bearing in mind that in 2006-07 Kelty lost a junior cup final at East End Park in front of 9000+ (the identity of the opponents escapes me for some reason) and were promoted to the east superleague. They probably would have got to where things are now more quickly if a full pyramid had always been in place. Where Glenrothes would be now if there had been a pyramid in the 1970s and who their main rivals would be in the present day under different circumstances points to how football in Fife was kept frozen where it had been pre-WWII by the prevailing league structure.

1 hour ago, LongTimeLurker said:

Not really disagreeing with you on this in any way but expanding on that it's worth bearing in mind that in 2006-07 Kelty lost a junior cup final at East End Park in front of 9000+ (the identity of the opponents escapes me for some reason) and were promoted to the east superleague. They probably would have got to where things are now more quickly if a full pyramid had always been in place. Where Glenrothes would be now if there had been a pyramid in the 1970s and who their main rivals would be in the present day under different circumstances points to how football in Fife was kept frozen where it had been pre-WWII by the prevailing league structure.

Cracking post. The Glen's could well have marched up the leagues back then from what my old man tells me. The Haws also had a golden era in the 90s which could have given rise to a lift up the leagues. With the size of Glenrothes though it would have been more likely.

Edit: it was Linlithgow at East end that day....

Edited by leomessi1984

Now we are on the international break thought I’d give my assessment of footy seen so far imo 

The appointment of KT looks to be an absolute master stroke by the committee as feel we are playing a much better style of football than under Ferguson and we also don’t have all the baggage that came with him.

Joe Cardle is an absolute beauty of a signing and a pleasure to watch on the pitch , links up play brilliantly with Higgy , reminds me of Adam Moffat senior 

Barjonas is starting to look way too good for this level now as finding his feet in the team 

For me  though O ware has been absolutely outstanding at the back and going forward 

All the new guys bedding in well in fact and once Austin gets up to speed it’s hopefully going to be a good season for  us

So looking forward to Elgin next week rocking up at Kelty in what should be a cracker as they will be looking for a wee bit payback from cup game 

1 minute ago, Kelheart said:

Now we are on the international break thought I’d give my assessment of footy seen so far imo 

The appointment of KT looks to be an absolute master stroke by the committee as feel we are playing a much better style of football than under Ferguson and we also don’t have all the baggage that came with him.

Joe Cardle is an absolute beauty of a signing and a pleasure to watch on the pitch , links up play brilliantly with Higgy , reminds me of Adam Moffat senior 

Barjonas is starting to look way too good for this level now as finding his feet in the team 

For me  though O ware has been absolutely outstanding at the back and going forward 

All the new guys bedding in well in fact and once Austin gets up to speed it’s hopefully going to be a good season for  us

So looking forward to Elgin next week rocking up at Kelty in what should be a cracker as they will be looking for a wee bit payback from cup game 

Aye I would agree re Thomson think he will be a better appointment in the long term.

Guest mr_malcolm

Thomson can’t really fail though with the budget he’s got

Left back Kieran Ngwenya from Aberdeen set to join Kelty on loan. He was on loan at us last season and played a fair bit in Harry Milne's absence.

Impressed. Positionally quite astute for his age and got bags of pace. Needed to develop his delivery in the final third was the only negative I could think of at the time. Should be a strong signing.

Thought he go to a L1 side tbh but high flying Kelty should aid his progression.

Screenshot_20210906-204814.jpg

Edited by CoveRangers1922

15 hours ago, CoveRangers1922 said:

Left back Kieran Ngwenya from Aberdeen set to join Kelty on loan. He was on loan at us last season and played a fair bit in Harry Milne's absence.

Impressed. Positionally quite astute for his age and got bags of pace. Needed to develop his delivery in the final third was the only negative I could think of at the time. Should be a strong signing.

Thought he go to a L1 side tbh but high flying Kelty should aid his progression.

Interesting one if it happens. Peggie has been excellent for us there and Philp can deputise although it's not his natural position. More competition and pace never a bad thing.

On 06/09/2021 at 20:51, CoveRangers1922 said:

He is a decent prospect. Came on against Celtic and looked good. 

Evening all.  Planning on taking in the match on Saturday - tick off the new ground in the leagues.  I presume I need to buy tickets in advance (ie, no cash gate).  If so, does anyone have a link as there’s nothing obvious on the website.

6 hours ago, Disco Duck said:

Evening all.  Planning on taking in the match on Saturday - tick off the new ground in the leagues.  I presume I need to buy tickets in advance (ie, no cash gate).  If so, does anyone have a link as there’s nothing obvious on the website.

Hi

Website article says fanbase tickets available, but normally a pay at gate is available also.

have fun on Saturday, great ground to visit!