League Cup 21/22 - Group F

59 minutes ago, bridgeofweirdo said:

QP deserved something from the game tonight.
Played some very attractive football and matched Motherwell in every department.
If we can maintain this level of fitness and ability then not only should we progress in this competition but also do very well in League 1.
Great to be back btw.

Agree. Queens Park were the better side for first half and played some nice football.

A draw was the least the Spiders deserved.

Still we did improve 2nd half and the team that starts v Hibs will have a different look. We we missing a few key players due to Covid and injury and need desperately to sign a few more.  I would expect Kelly, O'Donnell, Watt, Lawless and perhaps Lamie to start. I would be surprised and worried of any of the midfield 3 started the 1st game. 

Was pleasantly surprised by the young Irish CB. He looked quite assured and made very few if any mistakes. Hopefully a good signing. 

9 hours ago, welldaft said:

Agree. Queens Park were the better side for first half and played some nice football.

A draw was the least the Spiders deserved.

Still we did improve 2nd half and the team that starts v Hibs will have a different look. We we missing a few key players due to Covid and injury and need desperately to sign a few more.  I would expect Kelly, O'Donnell, Watt, Lawless and perhaps Lamie to start. I would be surprised and worried of any of the midfield 3 started the 1st game. 

Was pleasantly surprised by the young Irish CB. He looked quite assured and made very few if any mistakes. Hopefully a good signing.

Aye, I've seen a few "Motherwell will struggle this season" hot takes based on last night.

It's understandable and I'm sure QP were very good and we were very bad but that starting XI was missing half a dozen players who are already at the club and Alexander has acknowledged that we still need to add another 4 or 5 at least so the idea that XI is representative of Motherwell's side for the season is pretty wide of the mark.

That's not to take anything away from QP who were probably missing players as well and are a very different team now compared to the one we beat 5-1 at Hampden in 17/18 but it's definitely the risk we're running in treating these games as pre-season compared with Robinson's approach of getting as many "in the door" as possible for the start of the group stages.

2 hours ago, capt_oats said:

Aye, I've seen a few "Motherwell will struggle this season" hot takes based on last night.

It's understandable and I'm sure QP were very good and we were very bad but that starting XI was missing half a dozen players who are already at the club and Alexander has acknowledged that we still need to add another 4 or 5 at least so the idea that XI is representative of Motherwell's side for the season is pretty wide of the mark.

That's not to take anything away from QP who were probably missing players as well and are a very different team now compared to the one we beat 5-1 at Hampden in 17/18 but it's definitely the risk we're running in treating these games as pre-season compared with Robinson's approach of getting as many "in the door" as possible for the start of the group stages.

Yep, we had a massively depleted squad last night. We've had to call up 4 or 5 youth players over the past week just make up the numbers, and I think with a completely fit squad there's a good chance at least 5 of that starting 11 from last night wouldn't have played - although a couple of them are definitely going to be giving the manager something to think about, which is great.

Don't really have much to add to the comments that people have already made, other than that if Liam Brown manages to keep up that standard of play all season he will run riot in league one. A very exciting young talent.

8 minutes ago, Zanetti said:

Yep, we had a massively depleted squad last night. We've had to call up 4 or 5 youth players over the past week just make up the numbers, and I think with a completely fit squad there's a good chance at least 5 of that starting 11 from last night wouldn't have played - although a couple of them are definitely going to be giving the manager something to think about, which is great.

Don't really have much to add to the comments that people have already made, other than that if Liam Brown manages to keep up that standard of play all season he will run riot in league one. A very exciting young talent.

I was a fan of Brown when he was in our 20s when we signed him from you guys.

A bit of a shame he only got one token first team appearance. I kind of saw him as a potential successor to Allan Campbell but as it was Campbell ended up sticking around for another couple of seasons so ultimately Brown moving and getting regular first team football has probably been a smart choice.

He has the potential to be a smashing player.

Edited by capt_oats

Apologies if this is mentioned earlier in the thread or elsewhere but are Motherwell streaming the game V QoS on Saturday?  If so is there a link to the stream,  how much is it and what's the quality like? Hopefully not only available through Premiers Sports. 

1 hour ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Apologies if this is mentioned earlier in the thread or elsewhere but are Motherwell streaming the game V QoS on Saturday?  If so is there a link to the stream,  how much is it and what's the quality like? Hopefully not only available through Premiers Sports. 

Motherwell are streaming it on their own PPV channel for £10. You will need to sign up for an account but once you have done that you can login,purchase a pass and watch the stream when it goes live (usually between 15-30mins before kick off).

Link: https://ppv.motherwellfc.co.uk/login

The quality is a bit mixed. Last season was a bit of a mess at the start due to it only being introduced (the wee "we'll be back" Lady still gives me nightmares some nights) but it has progressed to meh or alright quality. Not as well produced as sky or even Premier Sports but it is mostly viewable. Sometimes, if the away team chooses, there can be an away team link that would have thier own commentators commentating on the stream.

33 minutes ago, Phillips455 said:

Motherwell are streaming it on their own PPV channel for £10. You will need to sign up for an account but once you have done that you can login,purchase a pass and watch the stream when it goes live (usually between 15-30mins before kick off).

The quality is a bit mixed. Last season was a bit of a mess at the start due to it only being introduced (the wee "we'll be back" Lady still gives me nightmares some nights) but it has progressed to meh or alright quality. Not as well produced as sky or even Premier Sports but it is mostly viewable. Sometimes, if the away team chooses, there can be an away team link that would have thier own commentators commentating on the stream.

Thanks for that.  Not expecting super duper quality and as long as it's not as bad as Pixellot should be worth a tenner.  As for commentary,  can always mute that,  and after the commentators at the Euros anything will be an improvement. 

5 hours ago, capt_oats said:

I was a fan of Brown when he was in our 20s when we signed him from you guys.

A bit of a shame he only got one token first team appearance. I kind of saw him as a potential successor to Allan Campbell but as it was Campbell ended up sticking around for another couple of seasons so ultimately Brown moving and getting regular first team football has probably been a smart choice.

He has the potential to be a smashing player.

That might explain why he looked like a man on a mission last night.  And he looks like a man now. When he started with us he had legs like Bambi.

Looking forward to tommorow. Hopefully we can sneak a draw and get a win on pens but realistically need to win to have a chabce to progress. Cant remember the last time we actually beat motherwell.

Do you think that they will be streaming the Motherwell v Annan Ath game a week on Saturday.

1 hour ago, QosLoyal said:

Looking forward to tommorow. Hopefully we can sneak a draw and get a win on pens but realistically need to win to have a chabce to progress. Cant remember the last time we actually beat motherwell.

1980, a 2-0 home win in the third round of the cup.

5 hours ago, marco44 said:

Do you think that they will be streaming the Motherwell v Annan Ath game a week on Saturday.

Yep. Both home games have streams confirmed. If you want to watch it then I would suggest signing up some point before it so everything is set-up correctly.