WoSFL Friendlies

12 minutes ago, Yogi said:

Always the victims

Remember Pollok

Remember Meadow

Could go on but think I’ve made my point

Where did I say were the victims?  Far from it yesterday, 1 person injured that I know of  which is 1 too many going  to a fitba match,

Fortunately I've never witnessed any trouble in Scotland, guess it only needs a spark to see people react. Don't need these problems at this level, think of the few volunteers who run the clubs, not fair on them. Good luck with the new season around the corner,enjoy the beer and enjoy the games.

10 hours ago, Andy groundhopper said:

Fortunately I've never witnessed any trouble in Scotland, guess it only needs a spark to see people react. Don't need these problems at this level, think of the few volunteers who run the clubs, not fair on them. Good luck with the new season around the corner,enjoy the beer and enjoy the games.

There seems to have been a visible rise in guys behaving like rockets in the name of football affiliation. As an out of of touch middle aged man I'm reluctant to blame Ultra culture, but that's exactly what I intend to do anyway. The main consideration has shifted focus from enjoying and supporting your own team to asking how best can the opponent be bamned up. 

Banter, needle and rivalry are all great but folk also need to realise that they don't need to act the pie because they've bought a couple of packs of green brigade or union bears stickers of painted a grammatically dubious message on a pish stained bedsheet. 

1 hour ago, Shanner said:

There seems to have been a visible rise in guys behaving like rockets in the name of football affiliation. As an out of of touch middle aged man I'm reluctant to blame Ultra culture, but that's exactly what I intend to do anyway. The main consideration has shifted focus from enjoying and supporting your own team to asking how best can the opponent be bamned up. 

Banter, needle and rivalry are all great but folk also need to realise that they don't need to act the pie because they've bought a couple of packs of green brigade or union bears stickers of painted a grammatically dubious message on a pish stained bedsheet. 

There's probably an element of that - some fan groups seem to have deluded themselves into thinking that the crowd is there to see them rather than the actual game. The ultra thing looks great on the Curva Nord, but translated into Scottish terms all too often just looks like a few dozen trying-too-hard wee fuds screaming "Look at meeee..."

40 minutes ago, paul-r-cfc said:

Any friendlies tomorrow? League website not showing anything for me.

Lochee Utd v Dundee or Forres Mechanics v Burghead look like the only friendlies tomorrow!

Preseason basically over - except clubs in Europe, odd teams, and Highland who start 1 week 'late'.

There's probably an element of that - some fan groups seem to have deluded themselves into thinking that the crowd is there to see them rather than the actual game. The ultra thing looks great on the Curva Nord, but translated into Scottish terms all too often just looks like a few dozen trying-too-hard wee fuds screaming "Look at meeee..."
Agree and its cringey as f**k when you see these wee neds trying to act hard