Curling Thread

Caledonian1

Apologies if this has been done before - a quick search didnt reveal anything in recent times.  Has there been a Curling thread before?

Whilst I play a bit, I am by no means an expert and not that great.  It is a sport I really enjoy and I like to think it fills a void in the winter after the golf season (only got 5 matches this year before lock-down though)

I really believe that Curling is almost the perfect sport for watching on TV - at the top level the tactics and the execution of shots is astonishing.  I was going to say that it's an easy sport for broadcasters to cover but we currently have the situation at the Ladies World Championship where there is no TV coverage for 4 or 5 days due to reports of Covid-19 affecting some of the broadcasting team. Unfortunately  matches are only on youtube curling channel and with the tournament being played in Calgary it is often the middle of the night here.

Scotland are currently in fourth equal place in the World Champs league format (13 teams so 12 matches in 7 days before the play-offs and final this Sunday) We had a poor defeat to Korea but recovered to beat Italy last night.  The Russians (RCF) are currently top with Switzerland and the fantastic Swedes are just behind them. Top 6 qualify for the Olympics so lets hope Eve and her team can remain near the top so that they can join the Mouat mens team in Bejing.

Anyone else play or love watching it on TV?

• 6 months later...

For those interested Scotlands men and women both topped the group stage of the European Championships - meaning both top seeds going into the semi finals.

Eve Muirheads rink are playing Germany in 5 minutes time and its shown on the BBC website

The men (have won 9 out of 9) will play their semi tomorrow and finals are on Saturday.

Scotland play Norway in the semi-final at 12:30 today - live on BBC website.  Winner plays Sweden in final tomorrow evening