Brechin, Kelty or Brora?

Brechin City, Kelty Hearts or Brora Rangers?  

278 members have voted

1. 1. Who do you prefer to win the L2 play offs

• The Glebe Park Massive
    • The Kelty Clippies
    • Brora Ra Ra

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 31/05/21 at 21:05

Kelty or Brora, Brechin finished bottom and should be relegated get the playoff nonsense in the sea. Nothing against Brechin and I wish them every luck great club and great fans. I’m totally against play off spots for 9th too. Every division should relegate 2 and every leagues Champion should be promoted automatically.

I can't see any way Brechin will come through the tie. The winner of the semi-final will be playing L2 football next season. In terms of who I want to win, Brechin are utter dug meat and and absolutely deserve to go down. I'm a big fan of the pyramid so from that point of view, feel like I want them down. On the other hand, I'm not particularly enthusiastic about either of the alternatives. Neither of them really won their league so I don't see them as being properly deserving of the opportunity, particularly Brora. Brora and Kelty are just clubs some guy's pumped money into. No real interest in that and don't buy into any of the "ambitious", "fairy tale" birthday caird pish that gets spouted about these sorts of teams. Kelty may well be able to sustain themselves as an SPFL club without the cash. Brora would be on a fast track right back down to the bottom of the Highland League if this guy pulls out.

So actually, I'm not bothered which one of the three wins it. I'll just sit back and enjoy watching two of the three failing.

Edited by Gordon EF

I can't see any way Brechin will come through the tie. The winner of the semi-final will be playing L2 football next season. In terms of who I want to win, Brechin are utter dug meat and and absolutely deserve to go down. I'm a big fan of the pyramid so from that point of view, feel like I want them down. On the other hand, I'm not particularly enthusiastic about either of the alternatives. Neither of them really won their league so I don't see them as being properly deserving of the opportunity, particularly Brora. Brora and Kelty are just clubs some guy's pumped money into. No real interest in that and don't buy into any of the "ambitious", "fairy tale" birthday caird pish that gets spouted about these sorts of teams. Kelty may well be able to sustain themselves as an SPFL club without the cash. Brora would be on a fast track right back down to the bottom of the Highland League if this guy pulls out.
So actually, I'm not bothered which one of the three wins it. I'll just sit back and enjoy watching two of the three failing.

There will always be teams that are financially doped but get the bottle necks open and let’s allow the best teams in the SPFL and an easy route up and down as teams rise and fall. Brechin are utter dross at the moment but were Championship not long ago (at our expense) the current system will make it very hard to get back up if they’re relegated. I only see the LL getting stronger and winning the playoff most seasons for the next few years.

13 hours ago, tamthebam said:

I've been to Dudgeon Park when City faced Brora in our first play off (the season the Mo just stayed up and look where they are now). I made a weekend of it. It's actually better to drive as the road goes straight across the Firths than the railway which meanders a bit 

It was interesting that the terracing there was still ash at the time and any ground improvements had been funded by the Football Trust according to a plaque in the ground and pre dated the wealthy backer getting involved. Kelty's backers have at least put money into the ground as well as the team although I would imagine Dudgeon Park has been spruced up in the last 5 years. I didn't care for Brora much but maybe that's because the then manager Billy Kirkwood was an ungracious fud. Highland clubs do give you good hospitality so I'm willing to change my mind.

Kelty as a place isn't as bad as you might think. It's no Lochore anyway.

Hmmm...

8 minutes ago, San Starko Rover said:

There will always be teams that are financially doped but get the bottle necks open and let’s allow the best teams in the SPFL and an easy route up and down as teams rise and fall. Brechin are utter dross at the moment but were Championship not long ago (at our expense) the current system will make it very hard to get back up if they’re relegated. I only see the LL getting stronger and winning the playoff most seasons for the next few years.

I'm all in favour of movement up and down and I'm in favour of making it easier to get from tier 5 into L2. There's always just some teams in some scenarios I'd just rather not see go up or not see go down. For example, I'd find it pretty difficult not to want Morton to beat Falkirk in a Championship play off, just cos it'll be a laugh.

But that's because I'm a football supporter and a petty, petty individual. If my team don't have a successful season, I have to get my kicks form schadenfreude.

Edited by Gordon EF

4 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

I'm all in favour of movement up and down and I'm in favour of making it easier to get from tier 5 into L2. There's always just some teams in some scenarios I'd just rather not see go up or not see go down. For example, I'd find it pretty difficult not to want Morton to beat Falkirk in a Championship play off, just cos it'll be a laugh.

Falkirk have to get into the playoffs first.  Not guaranteed yet and that would be funny.

13 hours ago, tamthebam said:

I've been to Dudgeon Park when City faced Brora in our first play off (the season the Mo just stayed up and look where they are now). I made a weekend of it. It's actually better to drive as the road goes straight across the Firths than the railway which meanders a bit 

It was interesting that the terracing there was still ash at the time and any ground improvements had been funded by the Football Trust according to a plaque in the ground and pre dated the wealthy backer getting involved. Kelty's backers have at least put money into the ground as well as the team although I would imagine Dudgeon Park has been spruced up in the last 5 years. I didn't care for Brora much but maybe that's because the then manager Billy Kirkwood was an ungracious fud. Highland clubs do give you good hospitality so I'm willing to change my mind.

Kelty as a place isn't as bad as you might think. It's no Lochore anyway.

Which part of Kelty were you in?

Was always a curiosity that when Brora did their ground up about five years ago, it was the fans that organised it and paid for a large chunk of it, along with grants and the like. The money man wasn’t interested, leading everyone to think he wasn’t really up for a long term stay, but here we are  

1 hour ago, Gordon EF said:

I do have a problem in principle with the Division 2 play offs as presently constituted with  ' new '  clubs  attempting to buy their way into the SPFL..  Kelty,  Brora and recently Cove are rich men's toys. Moneyed ambition  just doesn't seem to square with the regular Scottish football fan's  hopes and dreams for their team. It also leads inexorably to situations like Hearts (Anne Budge and too many diddy teams), Sevco,  the arse cheeks arrogance on eg admission of Colts and now the fiasco of the ' super ' league.

As matters stand, there is little prospect of  a successful vote for any league reconstruction but change is clearly needed.

On 01/05/2021 at 11:52, virginton said:

Brechin have been stinking out Scottish football and should have gone down last season. They absolutely deserve to go this season and have a serious rethink about how they are operating as a club. That's how relegation works at every level, so spare me this birthday caird pish about their soup.

Brora and Dudgeon Park would be a more than acceptable replacement and if they get to the final on merit then hopefully they'll come up. 

Morton might get to play against them soon.

13 minutes ago, Blue Brazil Forever said:

I do have a problem in principle with the Division 2 play offs as presently constituted with  ' new '  clubs  attempting to buy their way into the SPFL..  Kelty,  Brora and recently Cove are rich men's toys. Moneyed ambition  just doesn't seem to square with the regular Scottish football fan's  hopes and dreams for their team. It also leads inexorably to situations like Hearts (Anne Budge and too many diddy teams), Sevco,  the arse cheeks arrogance on eg admission of Colts and now the fiasco of the ' super ' league.

As matters stand, there is little prospect of  a successful vote for any league reconstruction but change is clearly needed.

Who is the rich man at Cove?