Heads Gone - The Peppino Impastato Memorial Thread

1 minute ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Dont worry mate, i’ll let you into a secret, everyone just hated that guy pep, he was a complete arsehole who basically ruined several threads and made up the most fantastical stories. He was essentially the biggest walter mitty on the site and constantly made an arse of himself. But dont worry you dont have a dog in this fight and you joined after he was punted so you won’t have been subjected to it. 

He's still better than the vast majority of our Rangers supporting brethren who are continuing to make a spectacular arse of themselves by defending bigotry on that thread. I don't know or even care if anyone sang it in that clip (my wee JB jibe aside) but the rush to guard the walls has been quite the eye opener.

1 minute ago, Perkin Flump said:

He's still better than the vast majority of our Rangers supporting brethren who are continuing to make a spectacular arse of themselves by defending bigotry on that thread. I don't know or even care if anyone sang it in that clip (my wee JB jibe aside) but the rush to guard the walls has been quite the eye opener.

I stay away from the line up formerly known as the old firm sections. Agreed pep was better than some of the more craven folks there. 

2 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

I stay away from the line up formerly known as the old firm sections. Agreed pep was better than some of the more craven folks there. 

That is the best course of action tbf.

37 minutes ago, HalfCutNinja said:

Not that I have a dog in this fight, but qualifications in statistics would be no use in analyising the 
R rate, qualifications in virology or epidemiology are what is relevant there. Also, a Phd in Statistics would also be of zero use without access to the relevant data anyway.  

When you publish papers in medical fields you do so as a team. The lead author or study co-ordinator will often use some of the budget to bring in a stats specialist. They are usually just BSc. Even at under grad you will cover stats in a few courses and you have many joyous hours in the library teaching yourself more stats. 

My ex has been lead author on a few medical research papers even getting into the BMJ. 

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

Is saying you'd rather be dead than a Celtic fan not quite offensive to Celtic fans? Maybe its not, I figured that was the main aim of the song though, to offend/annoy the other side.

When I was at primary school someone said to me "If I was English I'd kill myself" and at the age of 5 or 6 I just thought what a moron, if he was English he'd be saying the exact same dumb stuff about Scottish people. Always an insult I've found amusing (f**k you HTD)

2 hours ago, The Moonster said:

The Rangers fans in my year at school used to religiously chant "Am blue if I wis green a wid die" to the dance classic "Blue" by Eiffel 65, which is still quite offensive but doesn't bring race or religion into it. Why can't they just be like every body else and call the other side a bunch of c***s?

I remember when I was a kid we used to sing "I'm blue and Aberdeen's going down, Aberdeen's going down!". Sadly, Falkirk being Falkirk scuppered this becoming reality. 

40 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

When you publish papers in medical fields you do so as a team. The lead author or study co-ordinator will often use some of the budget to bring in a stats specialist. They are usually just BSc. Even at under grad you will cover stats in a few courses and you have many joyous hours in the library teaching yourself more stats. 

My ex has been lead author on a few medical research papers even getting into the BMJ. 

Aye no doubt, but when you don't have access to the data from which the R number was arrived at you can have forty Phd's in statistics and they mean diddly squat. You are absolutely a layman in that scenario.

48 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

Wait, I get confused over some of the aliases but who is the "pep" that's been posting in the Rangers thread? 

Edit - I think I've misunderstood you're just generally slagging off Rangers fans l, my bad.

Edited by Stormzy

1 minute ago, Stormzy said:

Wait, I get confused over some of the aliases but who is the "pep" that's been posting in the Rangers thread? 

Pepp is Half Cut Ninja now, he is good fun when he's behaving himself.

54 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Dont worry mate, i’ll let you into a secret, everyone just hated that guy pep, he was a complete arsehole who basically ruined several threads and made up the most fantastical stories. He was essentially the biggest walter mitty on the site and constantly made an arse of himself. But dont worry you dont have a dog in this fight and you joined after he was punted so you won’t have been subjected to it. 

He sounds absolute box-office tbh. I'm sorry I missed him, though I can experience it vicariously now given he clearly lives rent-free in your head.

9 minutes ago, HalfCutNinja said:

He sounds absolute box-office tbh. I'm sorry I missed him, though I can experience it vicariously now given he clearly lives rent-free in your head.

Oh god no, his posts were borderline psychotic, im glad he was punted. Was just giving you a new poster a wee flavour of what he was like. Im sure you’ll agree anyone who takes the position that you’re transphobic if you refuse to perform oral sex on a trans person is beyond madness. 

Edited by Inanimate Carbon Rod

5 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Oh god no, his posts were borderline psychotic, im glad he was punted. Was just giving you a new poster a wee flavour of what he was like. Im sure you’ll agree anyone who takes the position that you’re transphobic if you refuse to perform oral sex on a trans person is beyond madness. 

I definitely remember him now... 😂

37 minutes ago, Stormzy said:

When I was at primary school someone said to me "If I was English I'd kill myself" and at the age of 5 or 6 I just thought what a moron, if he was English he'd be saying the exact same dumb stuff about Scottish people. Always an insult I've found amusing (f**k you HTD)

Going by the chat on here I expected you to have a proper Yorkshire accent not the Teuchter nonsense you actually hit out with

13 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Funnily enough that is 100% a position taken by the trans lobby right now who have the ear of government. 'Genital preference' they call it. If you have a genital preference you are transphobic, a bigot who needs cancelled and should lose your job.

The thinking is if trans women are women and you are sexually attracted to women why would you not be attracted to a trans woman, given they are women?  It has to be because you're transphobic.

So I completely agree that's a position beyond madness, but it is their opinion.

Anyway I tend to veer away from that topic now as its proponents are quite frankly mental and those defending it almost always have no idea what they're defending, as evidenced here.

Funnily enough that is 100% a position taken by the trans lobby right now who have the ear of government. 'Genital preference' they call it. If you have a genital preference you are transphobic, a bigot who needs cancelled and should lose your job.
The thinking is if trans women are women and you are sexually attracted to women why would you not be attracted to a trans woman, given they are women?  It has to be because you're transphobic.

That is quite comfortably the biggest load of shite I have ever read on this site. The trans lobby are 100% way off the mark with such nonsense.*

* If they have in fact spouted such pish.

1 minute ago, 19QOS19 said:

That is quite comfortably the biggest load of shite I have ever read on this site. The trans lobby are 100% way off the mark with such nonsense.*

I give Pepp a positive comment & that is how he repaid me.

4 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

I completely agree. Its the craziest thing I've ever heard in my life, but it is absolutely a mainstream view among the trans lobby. 

And if you extrapolate it out it has a logic to it. If trans women are women why wouldn't you be sexually attracted to a trans woman? It could only be cause you're transphobic.

That's why things like this have to be addressed in an adult manner and objective discussion of them should not be shut down by hysterical cries of "bigot". But sadly it is. 

I completely agree. Its the craziest thing I've ever heard in my life, but it is absolutely a mainstream view among the trans lobby. 
And if you extrapolate it out it has a logic to it. If trans women are women why wouldn't you be sexually attracted to a trans woman? It could only be cause you're transphobic.
That's why things like this have to be addressed in an adult manner and objective discussion of them should not be shut down by hysterical cries of "bigot". But sadly it is. 
Well no. I'm not attracted to every single woman I see so how on earth can I be a bigot if I don't find a trans woman attractive? An utter nonsense as I say.