Dumbarton vs Montrose

2 hours ago, The Gable Endie said:

Ouch, hopefully it’s worth getting up for!

Ha, ha! I am so rubbish at arithmetic. 7+6=13 (1.00 am)

Got up to discover I had missed the first half. With the score 0-0, six quid down and an extra hour's sleep doesn't seem so bad. 

9 minutes ago, super-son said:
11 minutes ago, squeezeboxson said:
Has Jaime Wilson done anything here?

He really hasn't offered anything tonight. Don't think he works well out wide.

He isn't playing wide is he? Looks like he is up top with PJ to me. Just not offering enough.

Despite the criticism I expect to get, I'd put on Jones and take him off.

That was, hands down, one of the worst games of football I've ever seen. Between the woeful football and the biting cold I even got bored trying to string sentences together.

The only positives are that we didn't lose and that I now have the use of my hands back. 

6 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

That was, hands down, one of the worst games of football I've ever seen. Between the woeful football and the biting cold I even got bored trying to string sentences together.

The only positives are that we didn't lose and that I now have the use of my hands back. 

BBC Sport said you had a shot on target, is this true!? Our next game is against the Sons at Balmoral. Hopefully we have Mitch back in action.

We were disappointing tonight and decided to play 90 minutes of sideways passes. 

Good luck against East Fife 👌

Edited by CoveRangers1922

Just now, FifeSons said:

Could've copied and pasted that from the last three home games.

That is true. Maybe them being warmer made me feel better. But that was an absolutely shocking game. I mentioned it during the commentary, but both sets of players looked so slack shattered. It was brutal to watch.

Honourable mention to No-Nonsense Nick McAllister though. He was the exception. An excellent showing. Looked one of our main attacking threats too...

1 minute ago, CoveRangers1922 said:

BBC Sport said you had a shot on target, is this true!? Our next game is against the Sons at Balmoral. Hopefully we have Mitch back in action.

We were disappointing tonight and decided to play 90 minutes of sideways passes. 

Ehm. I vaguely remember Nat Wedderburn having a header saved. That could've been it?

Spend 90 minutes playing sideways passes on Saturday and you'll leave with a comfortable point.

2 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

That is true. Maybe them being warmer made me feel better. But that was an absolutely shocking game. I mentioned it during the commentary, but both sets of players looked so slack shattered. It was brutal to watch.

Honourable mention to No-Nonsense Nick McAllister though. He was the exception. An excellent showing. Looked one of our main attacking threats too...

Ehm. I vaguely remember Nat Wedderburn having a header saved. That could've been it?

Spend 90 minutes playing sideways passes on Saturday and you'll leave with a comfortable point.

Our games are basically unwatchable now. I had the City Dortmund game on in the background. Shocker of a disallowed goal for Bellingham in the first half.

Another really tough watch and another massively uninspired performance from Duffy’s gang. We just have absolutely nothing going forward whatsoever. Wilson makes the wrong decision everytime he gets the ball and he’s starting to look like a guy who’s out his depth at this level. PJ Crossan just looks miles off the pace. Jones was back to his usual pishy self. Omar at least looks like he’s capable of doing something with the ball but unfortunately he’s the only one. Carswell and Wedderburn just doesn’t work, Wedderburn is tidy enough on the ball, every second touch from Carswell is a tackle, he’s pish. Pass marks to young McCallister who was the only real standout for us.

There was a moment in the last ten minutes where Omar did really well to fizz a wee pass into the 6 yard box and we had absolutely not a soul fucking near it. I actually just laughed and thought that sums us up.

We’re doon and it looks like the players and the gaffer know it. The board aren’t punting Duffy so it looks like we just need to put up with this nonsense until League 2 football is confirmed at the very least. A seriously sad state of affairs all round and my confidence in both the board and the management team couldn’t be any lower, the lot of them are stinking the place right out. 

8 hours ago, Jan Vojáček said:

Nah, the shot at goal was in the second-half when Jones managed to slip his marker and drifted rightwards across the box.  The reason I'm so certain is that it is a long time since I've sat up in anticipation of something happening in the opposition penalty box; unfortunately his shot on the turn was like a bullet leaving an elastic band.

5 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

Another really tough watch and another massively uninspired performance from Duffy’s gang. We just have absolutely nothing going forward whatsoever. Wilson makes the wrong decision everytime he gets the ball and he’s starting to look like a guy who’s out his depth at this level. PJ Crossan just looks miles off the pace. Jones was back to his usual pishy self. Omar at least looks like he’s capable of doing something with the ball but unfortunately he’s the only one. Carswell and Wedderburn just doesn’t work, Wedderburn is tidy enough on the ball, every second touch from Carswell is a tackle, he’s pish. Pass marks to young McCallister who was the only real standout for us.

There was a moment in the last ten minutes where Omar did really well to fizz a wee pass into the 6 yard box and we had absolutely not a soul fucking near it. I actually just laughed and thought that sums us up.

We’re doon and it looks like the players and the gaffer know it. The board aren’t punting Duffy so it looks like we just need to put up with this nonsense until League 2 football is confirmed at the very least. A seriously sad state of affairs all round and my confidence in both the board and the management team couldn’t be any lower, the lot of them are stinking the place right out. 

I wouldn't argue with a word of that, and it's refreshing to see some honesty.  Our situation has nothing to do with bad luck, bumpy pitches, injuries, suspensions, the sun in our eyes, a hectic fixture list (and wasn't it the clubs who PROPOSED this batshit crazy schedule ?) or anything else.  Even before the season started the signs were ominous with guys who should have been let go - eg Jones, Langan, McLuskey - retained and a very hopeful punt taken on Denny Johnstone.  From day one at Forfar we've looked like a struggling team and so it has turned out with a revolving door in the dressing room.  We've had everything but quality and no-one should be surprised.