Scottish Parliamentary Elections May 2021

2 hours ago, ayrmad said:

Anyone that thinks Alba was a stupid idea is an imbecile, leaving aside those involved in Alba, having 80 or 90 Pro Indy seats would have made a mockery of our current set up, that's probably the best way of winning over the large chunk of soft NO's in Scotland. 

70 to 59 or similar still looks close enough for most folk to swallow the Unionist bullshit. 

Salmond being in Holyrood would have turned the soft No’s into harder No’s. 

Guest Bob Mahelp

One of the most pleasing aspects so far is that the SNP share of the vote has actually increased since 2016, and the share for Unionist parties has decreased. 

That's actually a pretty remarkable statistic, given the relentless attacks on the SNP from all sides....but mainly the MSM...over recent months. 

3 minutes ago, MP_MFC said:

Apparently he was also voted in by his constituents based on his record over the last term.

Couldnae mark the c***s neck wae a blowtorch.

Presumably the record of being the slimiest blow hard in the parliament?

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

Disembarking after a ship has been scuttled would be an eminently sensible thing to do.  You’d probably be standing on board with Wee Eck convincing yourself that everything was going to turn out differently.

Tbf, disembarking a ship before or during scuttling would be preferable to waiting until it was on the sea floor.

19 minutes ago, HTG said:

Likely to increase in the aftermath of Hartlepool. 

Literally 5 minutes ago  the BBC had a young voter from Gourock ( or Gurrock according to Naga) who voted Labour due to their education policy but is 100% an independence supporter.

Just saw this utter bollocks from Daniel Johnson - SLab have been the Tory's stooge in all this.

Tories created 'toxic environment' for pro-Union side claims Johnson

Labour MSP Daniel Johnson has hit out at the Scottish Conservatives' anti-independence messaging.

The Edinburgh Southern MSP claimed the party had "created quite a toxic environment" for those on the pro-Union side.

He told the BBC's Good Morning Scotland: "Right through the last few years they’ve been very quick to accuse others of betrayal or weakness when actually we were just trying to draw out the complexities of issues."

Mr Johnson, re-elected to Holyrood with an increased majority, said those against independence had to "re-examine the way we make our arguments".

15 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

It's utter desperation by the unionists.

From a man from a party sitting on 8.3% of the vote.

You couldn't make it up.

A total fanny who only got in due to tactical voting as SNP biggest party in his seat in regional vote.

3 minutes ago, 101 said:

Presumably the record of being the slimiest blow hard in the parliament?

Aye, he uses the finest democratic principles available to Scottish Liberal Democrats to arrive at the rather startling conclusion that the wishes of a Parliament elected by PR (and therefore more democratic) should have its wishes denied by a Parliament elected by FPTP (and therefore less democratic). 

With the greatest possible respect to any P&B forumites who are LibDems, or voted LibDem, I detest the very atoms that mae up your cowardly, feeble-minded, anti-democratic, Tory-loving, waste of skin bodies and I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire. 

Don't tempt me into saying what I really think. 

Yes twitter seemingly seething at the voters of Dumbarton for having the audacity to reject a shite SNP candidate. Seen people referring to a place that voted overwhelmingly for yes in 2014 calling Dumbarton residents ‘traitors’ etc. Thats hardly going to win anyone over is it? 
If you look at it, Dumbarton and Clydebank, overwhelming for yes in 2014, snp MP since Doyle got punted, The voters didnt fail the SNP there, the SNP failed to inspire the voters.

The Yes side has gamed the system by having some SNP voters use the Greens as a disguised alter ego party on the list to turn 48% or so into a solid majority that likely ensures near permanent SNP control of Holyrood governance. That is something Donald Dewar and co thought they had prevented as a possibility by implementing the d'Hondt system. Labour-Lib Dem was expected to be the permanent axis of power instead.

If the three Unionist parties had selected a unified slate on the constituencies then stood seperately on the list to game the system in a similar sort of way we would be staring down the barrel of Douglas Ross as first minister pushing Sewell motion after Sewell motion. The Yes side gaming the system further with Alba actually taking a significant number of seats this time around would probably have prompted that response next time around from the No side.

1 minute ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Yes twitter seemingly seething at the voters of Dumbarton for having the audacity to reject a shite SNP candidate. Seen people referring to a place that voted overwhelmingly for yes in 2014 calling Dumbarton residents ‘traitors’ etc. Thats hardly going to win anyone over is it? 
If you look at it, Dumbarton and Clydebank, overwhelming for yes in 2014, snp MP since Doyle got punted, The voters didnt fail the SNP there, the SNP failed to inspire the voters.

^^^ trying way too hard.

4 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Agree with you on the point about arseholes on twitter but can't say that the SNP failed when they increased their vote. it looked to me like the Jabba Baillie won due to the Tories switching votes.

Edit: Obviously they 'failed' to win the seat. 😄

image.png

Edited by Suspect Device

3 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Yes twitter seemingly seething at the voters of Dumbarton for having the audacity to reject a shite SNP candidate. 

You elected Jackie fucking Baillie.

DB46B0A0-EBBD-4647-848D-4FBB216816F0.png.f06261953792899bb6bce53b6ac3a64c.png

3 minutes ago, LongTimeLurker said:

The Yes side has gamed the system by having some SNP voters use the Greens as a disguised alter ego party on the list to turn 48% or so into a solid majority that likely ensures near permanent SNP control of Holyrood governance. That is something Donald Dewar and co thought they had prevented as a possibility by implementing the d'Hondt system. Labour-Lib Dem was expected to be the permanent axis of power instead.

^^^ idiot found

The reason why the SNP have near permanent control is their vote share alone, which guarantees either sweeping the lion's share constituencies under FPTP or (in 2011) getting a significant number of list seats instead. 

Hopefully we will have[mention=72281]Donathan[/mention] back in the hot seat today.

Sorry heading out on a pub crawl around Southend at 12pm.... but one nugget for you. Hearing Aberdeenshire West looking good for the SNP, and that probably means majority