Celtic and Rangers B Teams in League Two?

1 minute ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Most of that is in the proposal.

I must admit, I haven't seen the detail but I would have no issue with it if the criteria I have mentioned were part of it.

I can't see it being a gamechanger in any shape or form but I can't really see the harm in it either tbh.

3 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

I must admit, I haven't seen the detail but I would have no issue with it if the criteria I have mentioned were part of it.

I can't see it being a gamechanger in any shape or form but I can't really see the harm in it either tbh.

You can get it online if you want to read it.

7 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

It's naive to think there would be no harm to it. Once they have their foot in the door that's it.

2 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

It's naive to think there would be no harm to it. Once they have their foot in the door that's it.

Can't imagine why they'd want a team in the lower leagues while they battle it out in this new fancy Atlantic/British/whatever League they're trying to set up.

Oh wait.

Edited by Merkland Red

1 minute ago, DA Baracus said:

Quite probably, I would only be happy if the criteria I mentioned was always adhered to. If the goalposts started to shift it would be a no from me.

4 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

Quite probably, I would only be happy if the criteria I mentioned was always adhered to. If the goalposts started to shift it would be a no from me.

Included in the proposals:

• Clubs in Leagues One and Two to benefit by at least £100,000 over five-year period
  • Loans of under-21 players between clubs can be increased from two (current) to five
  • B teams will be able to play in Challenge Cup but not the Scottish Cup or League Cup
  • B teams will have no voting rights and no rights to any distribution money
  • The only change to the financial model would be teams in first and second place in the Premiership, who would forego £290,000 for the first five seasons.

10 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Included in the proposals:

• Clubs in Leagues One and Two to benefit by at least £100,000 over five-year period
  • Loans of under-21 players between clubs can be increased from two (current) to five
  • B teams will be able to play in Challenge Cup but not the Scottish Cup or League Cup
  • B teams will have no voting rights and no rights to any distribution money
  • The only change to the financial model would be teams in first and second place in the Premiership, who would forego £290,000 for the first five seasons.

Is this your summary or from the proposal? 

"Clubs in Leagues One and Two to benefit by at least £100,000 over five-year period".  Each, or collectively?  Two significantly different figures, one utterly derisory.  

"The only change to the financial model would be teams in first and second place in the Premiership, who would forego £290,000 for the first five seasons". Each per season or what?  As unlikely as it is, what if Aberdeen or Hibs get their finger out and come 2nd in that period?  They should lose prize money to pay for your fucking colt teams?  

It's as vague, ambiguous and presumptuous as it is pish.  Bolt.  

7 minutes ago, TonyFerrino said:

Is this your summary or from the proposal? 

"Clubs in Leagues One and Two to benefit by at least £100,000 over five-year period".  Each, or collectively?  Two significantly different figures, one utterly derisory.  

"The only change to the financial model would be teams in first and second place in the Premiership, who would forego £290,000 for the first five seasons". Each per season or what?  As unlikely as it is, what if Aberdeen or Hibs get their finger out and come 2nd in that period?  They should lose prize money to pay for your fucking colt teams?  

It's as vague, ambiguous and presumptuous as it is pish.  Bolt.  

It was from the BBC website some of the key points.

This being the Premiership section, we are possibly ignoring the impact upon the supports of teams in League Two. It's  near impossible to find a fan at that level who would welcome the Old Firm, as they were and as they are now, planting colt/B sides into their league. Many have stated they will give up supporting football at that level should the two find a way to pressure themselves into that league.

10 minutes ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

This being the Premiership section, we are possibly ignoring the impact upon the supports of teams in League Two. It's  near impossible to find a fan at that level who would welcome the Old Firm, as they were and as they are now, planting colt/B sides into their league. Many have stated they will give up supporting football at that level should the two find a way to pressure themselves into that league.

The League 2 fans were over twice as likely to favour it compared to the Premiership fans in Supporter Direct Scotland's poll (17.6% versus 8%). I know it's joked about sometimes, but these teams are more likely to have at least a few fans who would welcome the chance to see their big team.

Edited by craigkillie

54 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

[fucking massive OOFT.gif]

2 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

[fucking massive OOFT.gif]

I knew it wouldn't be a popular opinion, I am against them being parachuted in at any level other than the very bottom rung, but let's be honest they could do that at any time by taking over or starting two teams.

If they don't want to start at the very bottom then tough, I would be against it.

20 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

The League 2 fans were over twice as likely to favour it compared to the Premiership fans in Supporter Direct Scotland's poll (17.6% versus 8%). I know it's joked about sometimes, but these teams are more likely to have at least a few fans who would welcome the chance to see their big team.

I support my local team because they are my team and have done so for 50 +years. Like many other fans of "Diddy" teams we do not have a big team out team is our big team, we are football fans not glory hunters or bigots. 

Introduce Colts into the leagues and that is me finished with football.  All because 2 clubs think they can dictate terms and use this as a foothold in case they get a better offer elsewhere.

Edited by Elric
addition

I'm not saying it's most fans, or even many fans, but there are definitely some fans at some of the League 1 and League 2 clubs for whom that rings true. I'm thinking particularly of Stranraer, Peterhead and Albion Rovers, but there will be others.

18 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

I knew it wouldn't be a popular opinion, I am against them being parachuted in at any level other than the very bottom rung, but let's be honest they could do that at any time by taking over or starting two teams.

If they don't want to start at the very bottom then tough, I would be against it.

I'm sorry but this is a red line for such a huge majority of people.

If they want to start two teams, let them.

And who cares where they start? It's where they are in 5 or 6 years that's the problem! Every year they would moan and hence get allowed players 1 year older. Every year they are allowed more experienced players "to assist". And initially they are only allowed into L2, say. The argument would be they would develop more against better players, so let's let them into L1. The following year "oh, they'd develop better by..." and on and on it would go.

No, this idea has ZERO benefits and many many drawbacks. An absolute no. I mean how fucking DARE THEY consider their youth players, swilling around academies, unable to get near their 1st team squads, as being of a comparable status to venerable and respectable clubs like those currently inhabiting the lower leagues. NO.

15 minutes ago, Elric said:

I support my local team because they are my team and have done so for 50 +years. Like many other fans of "Diddy" teams we do not have a big team out team is our big team, we are football fans not glory hunters or bigots. 

Introduce Colts into the leagues and that is me finished with football.  All because 2 clubs think they can dictate terms and use this as a foothold in case they get a better offer elsewhere.

I don't believe that,fans that support diddy clubs will always go to their games.Colts don't change that.