Clyde SSB

On 28/02/2022 at 20:13, Hoose Rice said:

Andy Halliday was on discussing his new Hearts contract and the time he won the Scottish Cup with his beloved The Rangers.  Even called them "we"

Here's a picture of him celebrating the winning goal to make it 2-1 TRFC.

2.26399260-700x394.jpg

Pretty sure Paul Hartley would have referred to Celtic as “we” when he was asked about them in interviews whilst being the living embodiment of a Hearts legend too.

Same as how Stokes, Commons or Hughes would have whilst at Hibs. Or if you want to balance it further Thomson asked about Rangers whilst at Hibs … or virtually everything Miller has ever said whilst employed by a club that wasn’t Rangers. 😄

I mean in actual fact, I am struggling to understand your point here. 🤷‍♂️

11 minutes ago, Kyle Reese said:

Pretty sure Paul Hartley would have referred to Celtic as “we” when he was asked about them in interviews whilst being the living embodiment of a Hearts legend too.

Same as how Stokes, Commons or Hughes would have whilst at Hibs. Or if you want to balance it further Thomson asked about Rangers whilst at Hibs … or virtually everything Miller has ever said whilst employed by a club that wasn’t Rangers. 😄

I mean in actual fact, I am struggling to understand your point here. 🤷‍♂️

Stokes and Commons played on loan from them.  Yogi would never have called Celtc "we" when playing or managing Hibs.  Thomson would never have called the **** "we" when playing for Hibernian and Miller was a wee laddie who played a season and a bit at us.

The point is that it's pretty unprofessional and disrespectful to call another side in the same league as "we".  "we" should be the team they represent at the time and at the very worst if it was in a different league.  Hartley would never have been interviewed calling Celtc "we" whilst at Hearts neither. 

21 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Stokes and Commons played on loan from them.  Yogi would never have called Celtc "we" when playing or managing Hibs.  Thomson would never have called the **** "we" when playing for Hibernian and Miller was a wee laddie who played a season and a bit at us.

The point is that it's pretty unprofessional and disrespectful to call another side in the same league as "we".  "we" should be the team they represent at the time and at the very worst if it was in a different league.  Hartley would never have been interviewed calling Celtc "we" whilst at Hearts neither. 

John Hughes is and always has been a Celtic supporter. On a works night out with his wee cousin, I spoke to him in an Edinburgh pub. John Hughes refers to Celtic as “we”.

Whilst at Hibs in his second term, Thompson was interviewed about old firm matters and made his views quite clear to the best of my memory. I would have to do some googling to confirm with quotes though.

Hartley was literally, monetarily and physically supporting Celtic whilst employed by HMFC. He was standing and sitting in the crowd when they played in Europe. Every Hearts supporter knows this and could not have given less fucks. The reason? Because when he pulled on that Hearts jersey, he played like a demon and only left the pitch if his body let him down.

Still struggling to make sense of what you are insinuating here.

Edited by Kyle Reese

Do you not refer to a club you played for at the time as 'we' in retrospect.

For example, would Michael Gardyne not refer to The Caley as 'we' when discussing winning the first 5 league games this season if asked about it?

Just now, TheScarf said:

Do you not refer to a club you played for at the time as 'we' in retrospect.

For example, would Michael Gardyne not refer to The Caley as 'we' when discussing winning the first 5 league games this season if asked about it?

Aye. 

it would be weird if they spoke about something they achieved in a team and didn’t include themselves within it. 

1 minute ago, Dons_1988 said:

Aye. 

it would be weird if they spoke about something they achieved in a team and didn’t include themselves within it. 

Non-Hibs fan John McGinn on winning the SC in 2016 with Hibs 'Aye they were brilliant that day, what a feeling when Gray popped up at the end'.

2 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

Non-Hibs fan John McGinn on winning the SC in 2016 with Hibs 'Aye they were brilliant that day, what a feeling when Gray popped up at the end'.

In fairness, fully expect in a few weeks time mark McGhee to be asked about dundees relegation and for him to say ‘aye they were shite’ 

6 hours ago, Kyle Reese said:

John Hughes is and always has been a Celtic supporter. On a works night out with his wee cousin, I spoke to him in an Edinburgh pub. John Hughes refers to Celtic as “we”.

Whilst at Hibs in his second term, Thompson was interviewed about old firm matters and made his views quite clear to the best of my memory. I would have to do some googling to confirm with quotes though.

Hartley was literally, monetarily and physically supporting Celtic whilst employed by HMFC. He was standing and sitting in the crowd when they played in Europe. Every Hearts supporter knows this and could not have given less fucks. The reason? Because when he pulled on that Hearts jersey, he played like a demon and only left the pitch if his body let him down.

Still struggling to make sense of what you are insinuating here.

John Hughes supported Celtc as a wee laddie until high school.  Even if so he would still and has never called Celtc "we" in any interview or on any podcast while with any other club.  The fact you have to tell your pub story to hear him call celtc that(i wouldn't doubt you as I like you) shows that.

KT when he came back always said he's a hibee, his sons a hibee and his dads a hibee.  He calls the **** "we" on *** tv if it helps him professionally bash on.

Halliday, as a hearts player, calls Rangers "we".  That's unprofessional and not good for the club employing him.  If you're happy with it fair do's and even though he actually seems quite sound I wouldn't be happy other way about. 

Now if you don't mind, my clubs getting pumped off the crappest side in the league.  

Edited by Hoose Rice

• 2 months later...
23 minutes ago, elvis said:

What the Celtic and rangers phone in .

Aye, no games yet so it’s - our signings that we’ve never heard off are better than your signings that we’ve never heard off

• 8 months later...
23 minutes ago, ropy said:

If this weekend’s results had happened earlier in the season this would be must-listen radio tonight, but in the circumstances will it be a tamer affair?

It'll be the exact same shite it always is. The usual suspects will always find something to get worked up about, no matter how mundane things seem to any normal, level headed person.

Rab fae Dennistoun will be on to go radge about Celtic not achieving the 100% home record they all so craved due to Motherwell's gamesmanship, totally ignoring the fact that, on the day, Celtic were just too shite to break them down and only have themselves to blame.

Tam fae Brigton's blood pressure will be off the chart when he's up next to slaughter Michael Beale,  who'll have gone from the new messiah to muppet overnight following an away loss to Aberdeen, ignoring the fact they're the league's form side at the moment and it was a surprise to absolutely no one else in the country  as Rangers, when pressed, are actually kinda pish.

2 hours of the usual blinkered nonsense from either side of Glasgow, interspersed with a shite quiz and Hugh Keevins slavering pish. Teams like ours don't get a look in. It's a pass from me.

4 hours ago, 'WellDel said:

It'll be the exact same shite it always is. The usual suspects will always find something to get worked up about, no matter how mundane things seem to any normal, level headed person.

Rab fae Dennistoun will be on to go radge about Celtic not achieving the 100% home record they all so craved due to Motherwell's gamesmanship, totally ignoring the fact that, on the day, Celtic were just too shite to break them down and only have themselves to blame.

Tam fae Brigton's blood pressure will be off the chart when he's up next to slaughter Michael Beale,  who'll have gone from the new messiah to muppet overnight following an away loss to Aberdeen, ignoring the fact they're the league's form side at the moment and it was a surprise to absolutely no one else in the country  as Rangers, when pressed, are actually kinda pish.

2 hours of the usual blinkered nonsense from either side of Glasgow, interspersed with a shite quiz and Hugh Keevins slavering pish. Teams like ours don't get a look in. It's a pass from me.

Not forgetting Lawrie (also from Dennistoun) calling in for his nightly read out of a page of his thesaurus.