St Johnstone v Livingston, League Cup Final 2020-21

PauloPerth

They moved the date of the league cup final down south to a few months later in the hope that fans will be allowed in, can we start a campaign to put this back 6 weeks in the same hope?

Even if you let in all the season ticket holders from the two finalists, it’ll be less than 5000 in a 50,000 capacity stadium.

Anyway, a cup final like this is what Scottish football dreams are made of.

Edited by PauloPerth

This century, only 2 clubs outwith the cash-laden old firm have won more than one major honour in Scottish football; Hearts and Hibs with 2 cups apiece.  

After the two Edinburgh sides, there's a list of 8 clubs on one trophy each.  This includes St Johnstone and Livingston (and St Mirren who are technically still in the tournament at the time of writing).  So whoever wins this year's glorious Diddy cup would have a rightful claim at being Scottish football's third force this century.

The chances of fans being allowed into Scottish football matches before the kick off to next season are about the same as me scoring a date with Christina Trevanion fae’ the Antiques shows, or Kate Bryan fae’ Portrait Artist of the Year. None. Sadly.

They moved the date of the league cup final down south to a few months later in the hope that fans will be allowed in, can we start a campaign to put this back 6 weeks in the same hope?
Even if you let in all the season ticket holders from the two finalists, it’ll be less than 5000 in a 50,000 capacity stadium.
You sold 1000 STs this season ?

48 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
2 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

You sold 1000 STs this season ?

I was kind of hoping Livi had sold around 4500 tbh.

The Diddy Alliance Final, what everyone was hoping for.

If we time this well, it'll coincidence perfectly with the dip in form that's headed Livingstons way...

As expected, the weakest team left in the competition have been knocked out - well done Livi lads. Great final for Scottish football, and big chance for one of two new managers to make themselves legends forever in their first seasons in charge of the club. Though I guess Livi fans may already see Davy M in that way for all his backroom work?

Defo agree if this could be pushed back even to May I expect fans could go in the numbers Saints and Livi would probably bring for a final. Somewhere between 5000-7000 each? My (fairly) educated reading on the vaccine rollout is that optimistically Scot govt will be able to ease things enough for social distanced fans at football by around late April if things go as well as Scot govt plan for them to go. Less optimistically, July/August league cup battle?