Aberdeen Mcinnes what would you do thread.

This season has seen pressure on Mcinnes mount.

So we can't afford to sack him or can we?

Perhaps extend his contract and give him more funds for players?

Do nothing go as we are and run his contract down with no more funding?

Thoughts?

3 minutes ago, ken es said:

This season has seen pressure on Mcinnes mount.

So we can't afford to sack him or can we?

Perhaps extend his contract and give him more funds for players?

Do nothing go as we are and run his contract down with no more funding?

Thoughts?

Force him to do jumping jacks for 9 hours solid 

Their fans have made the rods for their own back by singing "oh Derek McInnes" every time he shitfests another win at Easter Road/Rugby Park/Fir Park/wherever else.

Tommy Wright, Gary Holt and Steven Robinson all had the class to know when their race was run at their respective clubs.

You've fed McInnes' arrogance by giving him near-Ferguson levels of deifying for finishing best of the rest and winning 1 (one) wee cup.

Looks like you'll now have to pay the price for it by seeing him stick around for the rest of the season, like a fart in a lift. Wee shame.RossWithIt.png.8554c4a8b9b44087adb992d6820aae7f.png

15 minutes ago, HibsFan said:

Their fans have made the rods for their own back by singing "oh Derek McInnes" every time he shitfests another win at Easter Road/Rugby Park/Fir Park/wherever else.

Tommy Wright, Gary Holt and Steven Robinson all had the class to know when their race was run at their respective clubs.

You've fed McInnes' arrogance by giving him near-Ferguson levels of deifying for finishing best of the rest and winning 1 (one) wee cup.

Looks like you'll now have to pay the price for it by seeing him stick around for the rest of the season, like a fart in a lift. Wee shame.RossWithIt.png.8554c4a8b9b44087adb992d6820aae7f.png

200.gif

Edited by Merkland Red

20 minutes ago, HibsFan said:

Their fans have made the rods for their own back by singing "oh Derek McInnes" every time he shitfests another win at Easter Road/ Rugby Park /Fir Park/wherever else.

said no football fan ...... ever

says the mighty hibs who are in front of us by a point,but we have 2 games in hand,how this could come back and blow all over your junkie face

Aye, shows how far we've fallen that we are mixing it with shite like Hibs.

McInnes did a very good job lifting Aberdeen as a club when he came in. He's got them finishing up near the top regularly instead of pretty much anywhere else the previous lot did. He has taken his team to the latter stages of the cups often, including a few finals, and even won Aberdeen their first cup in about 20 years. They definitely got unlucky on a couple of occasions by coming up against an imperious Celtic, but on other occasions shat the bed massively. 

However, he has a limit, and I feel he's very much reached it. He, like so many other Scottish managers, had a huge shitebag streak, especially away from home and especially in Europe. It's the sort of pish attitude that won't take a club past a certain point. He's had some great results in Europe (Gronigen and Rijeka) but obviously there's a ceiling a club like Aberdeen have. The teams who have put them out in the last few years have been decent, but if anyone can take Aberdeen further, I doubt McInnes is that person.

Anyway, Aberdeen should let McInnes go at the end of the season. They should be looking now for a successor.

Edited by DA Baracus

4 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

McInnes did a very good job lifting Aberdeen as a club when he came in. He's got them finishing up near the top regularly instead of pretty much anywhere else the previous lot did. He has taken his team to the latter stages of the cups often, including a few finals, and even won Aberdeen their first cup in about 20 years. They definitely got unlucky on a couple of occasions by coming up against an imperious Celtic, but on other occasions shat the bed massively. 

However, he has a limit, and I feel he's very much reached it. He, like so many other Scottish managers, had a huge shitebag streak, especially away from and especially in Europe. It's the sort of pish attitude that won't take a club past a certain point. He's had some great results in Europe (Gronigen and Rijeka) but obviously there's a ceiling a club like Aberdeen have. The teams who have put them out in the last few years have been decent, but if anyone can take Aberdeen further, I doubt McInnes is that person.

Anyway, Aberdeen should let McInnes go at the end of the season. They should be looking now for a successor.

Nailed it.

Close thread.

It looks like it's going stale for McInnes. It happens to most successful managers in Scotland and he's had a decent tenure. As much as Aberdeen have humped us in recent seasons, the only players that the opposition had to be genuinely fearful of were Jonny Hayes & Niall McGinn. Previously there were others, but they two have been constant (Hayes obviously left and came back) and now they're both past their peak. They've a donkey of a striker that has the occasional purple patch and some of their other mainstay quality players are also aging in Shay Logan & Andrew Considine,

The attempts to freshen up the squad haven't usually worked either and the likes of Hernandez, Ojo & Main haven't delivered near enough.

The squad needs an overhaul built around the likes of Lewis Ferguson.

They'll still be fine for another season or so, but McInnes arguably hasn't really solved issues that have plagued Aberdeen for a few year now.

Agree with the last couple of posts. McInnes has done a decent job over the years, and has done, in the league at least, more or less exactly what you’d expect him to. He hasn’t overachieved or underachieved, but it does seem to have gone a bit stale. It would still seem harsh to me to sack him though. And the million dollar question would then be who comes in to replace him? No outstanding candidates as far as I can see. 

Edited by Junior_Arab

McInnes has basically turned Aberdeen into flat-track bullies. Capable of beating poor and ordinary teams regularly. I'd wager his win percentage against non-OF teams in the Premiership will be pretty outstanding.

However, the trade-off is that his system is far too easy to pick apart when you have better players than him. Aggressively going man-to-man across your team the whole time is a bad philosophy when your men are less talented than the other team. It's why his record against better teams (Celtic, Gerrard's Rangers, European sides) is so awful.

He still has value as a manager when he's dominating weaker teams. Now that he's started to stop doing that, he's probably not worth sticking with. All managers have a shelf life, except the truly great ones. If you don't turn over your team quickly enough, then your message becomes stale. It looks like that's whats happened. He'll still be quite well thought of when he departs I think.

Talk about sliding doors moments though eh. Three years ago, he turns down the chance to join Rangers and sticks with Aberdeen, which leads to Rangers eventually appointing Gerrard. Two teams have gone in different directions since.

16 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

It looks like it's going stale for McInnes. It happens to most successful managers in Scotland and he's had a decent tenure. As much as Aberdeen have humped us in recent seasons, the only players that the opposition had to be genuinely fearful of were Jonny Hayes & Niall McGinn. Previously there were others, but they two have been constant (Hayes obviously left and came back) and now they're both past their peak. They've a donkey of a striker that has the occasional purple patch and some of their other mainstay quality players are also aging in Shay Logan & Andrew Considine,

The attempts to freshen up the squad haven't usually worked either and the likes of Hernandez, Ojo & Main haven't delivered near enough.

The squad needs an overhaul built around the likes of Lewis Ferguson.

They'll still be fine for another season or so, but McInnes arguably hasn't really solved issues that have plagued Aberdeen for a few year now.

Dundee fan kidding on he isn’t genuinely fearful of considine. 

Is Cormack going to open the kitty and fund major signings? 

Are there any talented youths coming through?

Is there anybody better to take Aberdeen forward?

If the answer to all three is "Naw" then you're as well to stick with him. There's many a club got rid of a long serving manager, brought in the new flavour of the month whizzkid and ended up backwards as a result.