The Dubai Select XI's U23s vs Hibernian

That was a frustrating night.

We started off really well in both halves, in the first for some reason we stopped playing after 20 minutes, in the 2nd I felt we really struggled when Newell went off, felt a goal was coming before that.

Frustrating cause it was totally there for the taking tonight however it was absolutely not a Celtic reserve team, 8 of the players starting played in the Scottish Cup Final, Shane Duffy will be on more per week than the remainder of our starting XI.

In the end a point was acceptable but no doubt Livi will pap them and put pressure on us, would be really surprised if they don’t finish above us in the end.

The problem is, that we have a solid base but so many players that just aren’t good enough. Hallberg, Wright, Stephen McGinn, Stevenson (apologies but he’s had his time), Gogic and the likes of Gray, McGregor etc are in that category too, I know we have a few players out but we’re relying on some of our weak players more than we should be.

Hopefully we get Irvine and Cadden in sooner rather than later, Stuart Findlay too please Ron the Con.

have watched it back half a dozen times. "here should we closely mark their most dangerous player?" "na it's a set piece in the last minute of play he's done nothing all night why bother?"
Let's show how pish he is by "clearing" the ball right to his feet, 5 yards from goal.

27 minutes ago, Les Cabbage said:

In the end a point was acceptable but no doubt Livi will pap them and put pressure on us, would be really surprised if they don’t finish above us in the end.

The problem is, that we have a solid base but so many players that just aren’t good enough. Hallberg, Wright, Stephen McGinn, Stevenson (apologies but he’s had his time), Gogic and the likes of Gray, McGregor etc are in that category too, I know we have a few players out but we’re relying on some of our weak players more than we should be.

Hopefully we get Irvine and Cadden in sooner rather than later, Stuart Findlay too please Ron the Con.

It actually reminds me of the first half of Lennon's best season. Solid but ponderous, good forwards forwards covering up a lack of creativity. I think there's space for Gogic in the squad but wouldn't mind any of the others you mentioned being given a thank you but you're free to leave. Don't think we can really get rid of many or bring many in this window though. 

Edited by Genuine Hibs Fan

16 minutes ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

It actually reminds me of the first half of Lennon's best season. Solid but ponderous, good forwards forwards covering up a lack of creativity. I think there's space for Gogic in the squad but wouldn't mind any of the others you mentioned being given a thank you but you're free to leave. Don't think we can really get rid of many or bring many in this window though. 

Yeah that’s a fair point, I feel we’re okay at winning the ball back and even when we win it high up the park we’re good at creating chances but when we have the ball it seems like as you say we are ponderous and unimaginative in terms of getting the ball forward, also a lot of teams are wise to this and happy for us to pass the ball about our defence knowing we won’t create anything.

He’s made me look like an absolute fud with his turnaround cause I used to think he was dreadful and his political leanings really don’t help but Joe Newell is basically the only player that, when he has the ball deep, I feel we might do something, hopefully he’s not gonna be out for any period of time after he went off.

1 hour ago, TonyFerrino said:

Youse should be in Rangers position even if you played your 3rd string every week.  

Screenshot_20210112-091619_Chrome.jpg

£15m? How are they getting a max players salary of £140k per year and a total of £15m?

There's no way that's our max players salary but there's also no chance our wage bill is anything like that.

46 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Yes, we are definitely spending more on wages than Hibs, that seems entirely accurate.

I verified the figures myself.  It's totally accurate and not just the first post on Google that suits my agenda. 

Edited by TonyFerrino

49 minutes ago, Les Cabbage said:

Yeah that’s a fair point, I feel we’re okay at winning the ball back and even when we win it high up the park we’re good at creating chances but when we have the ball it seems like as you say we are ponderous and unimaginative in terms of getting the ball forward, also a lot of teams are wise to this and happy for us to pass the ball about our defence knowing we won’t create anything.

He’s made me look like an absolute fud with his turnaround cause I used to think he was dreadful and his political leanings really don’t help but Joe Newell is basically the only player that, when he has the ball deep, I feel we might do something, hopefully he’s not gonna be out for any period of time after he went off.

It looked like Doig has had a hard season plus missing Boyle last night didn't help, Newell is a better player than Hallberg.

18 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

It looked like Doig has had a hard season plus missing Boyle last night didn't help, Newell is a better player than Hallberg.

Doig is only 18 and it’s first season playing regularly and has been okay largely, felt he was good last night before he went off.

Aye, Hallberg for me is rubbish, guy just doesn’t have any attributes whatsoever, I’ve said it already but if we can get Irvine in and punt him or at least stop playing him I’ll be relieved.

2 minutes ago, Les Cabbage said:

Doig is only 18 and it’s first season playing regularly and has been okay largely, felt he was good last night before he went off.

Aye, Hallberg for me is rubbish, guy just doesn’t have any attributes whatsoever, I’ve said it already but if we can get Irvine in and punt him or at least stop playing him I’ll be relieved.

Yes, Doig does well against Frimpong both players have got the best years in front of them,it's good to have Stevenson to help him when he needs a rest.
Jack is building a good team at Hibs, Gogic has stopped Hibs losing goals,Newell is the play maker,Boyle has the pace and Nisbet is the goalscorer.

1 hour ago, TonyFerrino said:

I verified the figures myself.  It's totally accurate and not just the first post on Google that suits my agenda. 

You do realise, looking at our stated figures, that even if every player we had was being paid the maximum quoted salary we would have a squad of 86 players?