Have you been annoyed by the attendance of a 'famous' person at one of your games?

On 29/12/2020 at 11:39, Archie McSquackle said:

I see Deep Impact is on Channel 4 this afternoon which reminds me of Robert Duvall's appearance at Rugby Park. I think it was 0-0 at half-time and he was involved in the film Ally McCoist was working on. He came out, waved and said something along the lines of wanting Kilmarnock to score and win in the second half which resulted in booing and chants of "Baldy, Baldy" from the Motherwell support.

It was just all a bit odd and you were left thinking did he not have better things to do with his time.

Ah yes, A Shot At Glory. About the closest thing you'll get to a Scottish version of The Room.

That's a compliment tbh, the bit where Michael Keaton threatens to relocate the Kilnockie franchise to Ireland my personal highlight. Or maybe Ian McCall getting headbutted off McCoist.

Rod Stewart, every time he rocks up at a big Celtic match in his limo, escorted straight through by club officials to his seat for life he was inexplicably given for cutting a bit of ribbon twenty odd fucking years ago.

Doubt the c**t has ever bought so much as a burnt on the outside cold on the inside rank rotten pie at Celtic Park yet feels he has the right to criticise regular supporters who go all over Scotland and Europe spending most of their disposable income on supporting the team.

He can f**k off, the gravely voiced, wrinkly faced, pish stained Tory fucking c**t.

On 28/12/2020 at 15:47, BFTD said:

Was Sean Connery not another one who flitted about between teams depending on who was winning titles at the time? And, of course, Billy Connolly was always a huge Celtic fan.

It's almost like none of them give a shit about football, but know a nice wee photo opportunity when it presents itself.

Like most OF fans.

3 minutes ago, Archie McSquackle said:
11 hours ago, ropy said:
John Peel but I was happy, not annoyed.  Might have had Kid Jensen with him.  Seem to remember singing Mike Read, Mike Read, 275 & 285 at them so might be getting this confused.

You must be going back a bit for this- when and where was this?

Peel went to a few Meadowbank games in the 80s (maybe late 70s). So did Rick Wakeman but they don't brag about that as much.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

On 29/12/2020 at 23:36, Bert Raccoon said:

Between that fateful day, a square go in Cowdenbeath and Martin Cannings dad offering me out for a fight I've had my fair share of infamy over the last few years. Thankfully I'm a respectable gentleman nowadays.

Get the stories telt

2 hours ago, Archie McSquackle said:
13 hours ago, ropy said:
John Peel but I was happy, not annoyed.  Might have had Kid Jensen with him.  Seem to remember singing Mike Read, Mike Read, 275 & 285 at them so might be getting this confused.

You must be going back a bit for this- when and where was this?

It was back in the day, on the terracing, behind the goals, with the lead piping.

17 hours ago, ropy said:

https://peel.fandom.com/wiki/Meadowbank_Thistle

Entirely because a group of extremely droll supporters invited me to join them for a match and subsequently took me to Hampden Park where 300 benighted souls - and that 300 includes the Queens Park enthusiasts - huddled together on the open terraces across which snow stormed and the wind shrieked in a manner that would have had Amundsen sucking his teeth apprehensively. "Give us an F," they roared. "Give us an I, give us an S, give us a U, give us an L," they continued. "What does that spell?" they wanted to know. "Fisul!" they concluded. How could I have doubted, even for a moment, but I stood and suffered with the very cream of mankind?

Edited by davidmcc

15 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Peel went to a few Meadowbank games in the 80s (maybe late 70s). So did Rick Wakeman but they don't brag about that as much.

I did hear Wakeman got fucking pissed with the fans in the Golden Gates after a game

On 30/12/2020 at 23:17, ropy said:

Brilliant !

16 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Rick Wakeman

His tale of his being a board member of some football club needs to be told.

When driving away from a game, his guts were about to give out, he stopped his car and pleaded with a nearby householder to use their toilet.

After being granted permission and while sat knocking out type 7 on the Bristol stool chart, someone shoved some of his LP's and a pen under the bathroom door and asked 'do you think you could autograph these for me?'

3 minutes ago, Zen Archer Esq. said:

His tale of his being a board member of some football club needs to be told.

When driving away from a game, his guts were about to give out, he stopped his car and pleaded with a nearby householder to use their toilet.

After being granted permission and while sat knocking out type 7 on the Bristol stool chart, someone shoved some of his LP's and a pen under the bathroom door and asked 'do you think you could autograph these for me?'

I think Wakeman was on the board at Brentford at some point, and he definitely used to attend Meadowbank Thistle games - his Mrs had dropped a bairn at Elsie Inglis hospital, and they lived in East Lothian for a while.

That guy has made and lost more money than I can dream about, and he's aye good for a story - most of them revolve around bowel movements, tbf. 

On 30/12/2020 at 23:17, ropy said:

I would have hoped he would have brought about the carcass of your team via napalm death. Metaphorically of course.

Now that this thread has basically descended into celebrities who have been at your ground, I remember seeing Tim Booth from James outside the main stand at Rugby Park before we played Celtic. He was doing a gig in Glasgow that night and is good friends with Gordon Strachan, who was their manager at the time.