The Pie and Bovril Dead Pool 2021

1 minute ago, Karpaty Lviv said:

If the Queen dies before midnight I think Miguel will have a meltdown :lol: 

The first year I ran the Dead Pool was the year Prince Phillip flipped his Range Rover a few days into January. Him as the first death of the year in an accident would have been an interesting one. 

9 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

The first year I ran the Dead Pool was the year Prince Phillip flipped his Range Rover a few days into January. Him as the first death of the year in an accident would have been an interesting one. 

Aye, you've ironed out all the wee pressure errors now.

32 minutes ago, Ned Nederlander said:

Looks promising but I reckon there's still time for a very late solo, captain, last-gasp, deadly December pick to be announced that'll pip me.

Nah., you're about as mathematically safe as anyone can be in this game. Of the folks above 400 points, their captains are either dead or Tom Parker, and Tom Parker will net you enough points to keep ahead of them.

31 minutes ago, Willie adie said:

I was sitting in the top 32 of the rankings, when will final positions be confirmed

Usually the updates are on Sunday, which is tomorrow.

I estimate you're 34th as at the close of play, though, if you can't wait.

Week 52 and a half update

One death this week, old woman Betty White: Golden Girls star Betty White dies aged 99 | Television | The Guardian

Betty White, the actor best known for roles in sitcoms The Mary Tyler Moore Show and The Golden Girls, has died aged 99.

White died at her home on Friday morning, just two weeks before she would have turned 100. Her agent Jeff Witjas told People magazine: “Even though Betty was about to be 100, I thought she would live for ever.” Joe Biden led tributes, praising the star as a “cultural icon”.

White enjoyed an illustrious career of more than eight decades, receiving eight Emmys, one Grammy and three Screen Actors Guild Awards. Considered a television pioneer, she pushed doors open not only for herself, but for many other women who dreamed of entering the broadcast industry.

Born in Oak Park, Illinois, in 1922, White began her career in 1939 singing an abridged version of Franz Lehár’s The Merry Widow on an experimental television transmission. After the second world war, during which she worked with the American Women’s Voluntary Service, White found work appearing on radio shows such as The Great Gildersleeve, and provided voiceovers for radio commercials.

She's been in just about everything. I'd love to offer something profound but I have too much stuff to do today.

White died at 99 so she's worth 26 Base Points. She's also worth a Deadly December and a Last Gasp bonus resulting in 77 points for @Busta Nut, @El Guapo, @GTG_03, @Ludo*1 and @Mark Connolly.

===============

Since it's the last update of the year I've gone through the list to see if I missed any deaths. I did. Since there are quite a few I'm just posting links and points.

Geoffrey Chater: Geoffrey Chater obituary | Television | The Guardian - a Solo Shot for @Amandajoan for 75 points.

Julie Strain didn't turn up an obituary. Sorry lads.

Chris Chilton: Chris Chilton: Hull City's record goalscorer dies aged 77 - BBC Sport - a Solo Shot for @qos_75 for 98 points.

Kim Yong-Ju: Kim Yong Ju: Younger brother of North Korea founder Kim Il Sung dies | World News | Sky News - a Solo Shot and Deadly December bonus for @The Master for 98 points.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti: Lawrence Ferlinghetti obituary | Poetry | The Guardian - a Solo Shot for @theportman for 74 points.

As a result, the standings look like this:

1. Ned Nederlander 713
2. Bishop Briggs 481
3. psv_killie 459
4. Arch Stanton 436

5. Savage Henry 429
6. Fuctifano 420
7. Ludo*1 386
8. chomp my root 346

9. Indale Winton 332
10. Arbroathlegend36-0 325
11. pub car king 301
12. Cardinal Richlieu 275

13. sparky88 267
14. qos_75 260

15. Aim Here 255
16. Lofarl 243
17. choirbairn 240
18. senorsoupe 236
19. JustOneCornetto 233
20. Salvo Montalbano 229
21. Arabdownunder 226

22. buddiepaul 223
23. El Guapo 218

24. expatowner 217
25. ICTJohnboy 216
26. theportman 213
27. peasy23 210
28. Raidernation 209
29. 101 206

30. gkneil 203
31. sleazy 202

32. Sherrif John Bunnell 198
33. Mark Connoly 197

34. Sweaty Morph 196
35. D.V.T. 194

36. Willie adie 180
37. Bert Raccoon 179
38. Amandajoan 178
39. jimbaxters 172

40. BillyAnchor, cdhafc1874, lichtgilphead 167
43. thistledo 165

44. doulikefish 163
45. ThomCat 161
46. HI HAT 160
47. speckled tangerine 158

48. stanton 149
49. The DA 146
50. Moomintroll, ToBeSomeone 140
52. weejack 138
53. weirdcal, CountyFan 137
55. Busta Nut 129

56. Billy Jean King 128
57. The_Craig 127
58. The Master 124

59. lolls 120
60. Curmudgeon 118
61. Enigma 112
62. TxRover 109

63. 10menwent2mow, Ben Twilly 107
65. GTG_03 103
66. Bold Rover 102
67. dee_62 101
68. Empty It 94
69. amnarab 91
70. Lex, The Hologram 89
72. mathematics, tamthebam 86
74. nessies long lost ghost 84
75. Karpaty Lviv 76
76. Blootoon87, Sergeant Wilson 70
78. LoonsYouthTeam 62
79. cambozpar, djchapsticks, Duszek 52
82. Bulbasaur, coprolite 51
84. dagane 42
85. Eednud, gingette, Melanius Mullarkey, microdave, mozam76, paulathame, Shotgun, The Naitch, thisal 26
94. ZERO POINTERS: @alta-pete, @get_the_subbies_on, @Hamish's Passenger, @HK Hibee, @Mr. Alli, @Miguel Sanchez, @pawpar, @Raven, @wellinwigan

The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-OTo44wF_W7A4Q0NFnd1sX3qEDdxTLDobvjhhSgnzkg/edit?usp=sharing