Tier 4 - Restrictions.

2 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

You must be up there HJ as one of the most knowledgeable posters on here! 

Don’t want to, or need to know who you are, but where do you get your info from? Within a club or within the League itself, or just a guy who people trust to give info to?  Obviously, no need to answer if you chose not to 👍

He's the EoSFL Fixture Secretary isn't he?

2 hours ago, patriot1 said:

Clubs were asked to submit details of their outgoings and lost income to the league to help build the case for financial support. If any support is upcoming I would expect everyone in each tier to receive the same amount.

Really? I doubt it’ll be the same for everyone. No club should get a windfall for this. Imo it should be based on what’s been paid to the state in the past as a marker for what you receive in support from the state. Much like the self employed grants in place.

9 hours ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

Pausing the season does harm those who have started the season well. They have invested in their being a season. So you are completely wrong.

No it doesn't.  

So your justification is that the league must proceed because some clubs have spent money to improve their changing rooms? Nobody forced them to do that, it was their own choice,  presumably because they could afford to.

The whole country is being asked to make sacrifices right now, but you say 'no', because some clubs have already won games of football?  And that's more important than anything else.  Very good.

Edited by Che Dail

21 hours ago, newcastle broon said:

Plenty time to finish the season with a few weeks break. 

Games are called off by the weather at this time of the year. 

That's how it starts, first it'll be rain, then snow, before you know it we'll be in a permanent nuclear winter. You can't give in to it!

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

1 hour ago, Che Dail said:

...The whole country is being asked to make sacrifices right now, but you say 'no', because some clubs have already won games of football?...

The SG gave professional football an exemption even at Level 4. The EoS forms part of professional football. The SG is not asking for what you appear to be advocating.

Edited by LongTimeLurker

1 hour ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

That's how it starts, fist it'll be rain, then snow, before you know it we'll be in a permanent nuclear winter. You can't give in to it!

Isnt harming any of the lower leagues in England taking a break. They're just extending the season a few weeks. 🤷‍♂️

3 hours ago, Che Dail said:

No it doesn't.  

So your justification is that the league must proceed because some clubs have spent money to improve their changing rooms? Nobody forced them to do that, it was their own choice,  presumably because they could afford to.

The whole country is being asked to make sacrifices right now, but you say 'no', because some clubs have already won games of football?  And that's more important than anything else.  Very good.

No my justification is that we arent  going to hide away from life. We want to get on with life. Not all areas are level 4 as I said Falkirk is only level 3 because of Stirling and they use forth valley hospital in larbert. Which is also bailing out Lanarkshire. 

You say noone forced the clubs to upgrade changing rooms. Noone forces players to play as evidence by the lithgae players who left because of the money.

You are trying to force ur ideas on others possibly to justify the wosfl decision 

2 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Aye the main income for the sport.

The feckn fans.

Well im certainly missing no getting to a match on a Saturday!

I'm sure there will be 1000s of others!

I'm missing not getting to games aswell but the show must go on. I'd rather watch a livestream than nothing at all

4 hours ago, LongTimeLurker said:

The SG gave professional football an exemption even at Level 4. The EoS forms part of professional football. The SG is not asking for what you appear to be advocating.

...based on a spurious definition of 'professional' put forward by the League who lobbied for it. 

There was an opportunity to say, 'c'mon guys, nobody really thinks this is professional sport - we've told a wee white lie here to push it through.  Some clubs are struggling and players are still getting changed outside in the wet and the cold.  Let's take a break for a couple of months and hopefully the supporters are allowed back in, and the regions are at safe levels."  But no.

Edited by Che Dail

Isnt harming any of the lower leagues in England taking a break. They're just extending the season a few weeks. [emoji2369]
That's the difference though throughout.

The English FA and Associations have made informed decisions. Whilst in Scotland we make it up as we go.

In March we ended our season in double quick time and not in a joined up manner.

We sat twiddled our thumbs and watched as most other countries completed their seasons.

We started our new season full of uncertainty - no changing facilities or fans allowed.

Whilst changing facilities are now available for some - players still can't even wash their hands - a fundamental part of the fight against Covid.

Given opportunity to pause we continue regardless.

3 minutes ago, Che Dail said:

...based on a spurious definition of 'professional' put forward by the League who lobbied for it. 

There was an opportunity to say, 'c'mon guys, nobody really thinks this is professional sport - we've told a wee white lie here to push it through.  Some clubs are struggling and players are still getting changed outside in the wet and the cold.  Let's take a break for a couple of months and hopefully the supporters are allowed back in, and the regions are at safe levels."  But no.

What difference does it make to you? You dont live in the east. You don't support or play for an eosfl team

1 minute ago, Auld Heid said:

That's the difference though throughout.

The English FA and Associations have made informed decisions. Whilst in Scotland we make it up as we go.

In March we ended our season in double quick time and not in a joined up manner.

We sat twiddled our thumbs and watched as most other countries completed their seasons.

We started our new season full of uncertainty - no changing facilities or fans allowed.

Whilst changing facilities are now available for some - players still can't even wash their hands - a fundamental part of the fight against Covid.

Given opportunity to pause we continue regardless.

Because their isnt a need to stop that's why.

Just now, LongTimeLurker said:

There was no wee whte lie involved. EoS players sign the same professional registration forms that SPFL players do.

The vast majority of players in the East of Scotland League will be Amateur or Non-Contract, and none of them will be professional in the true sense of the meaning, i.e. engaged in a specified activity as one's main paid occupation rather than as a pastime. 

I'd be surprised if many of the EoS Premier clubs with players on pro-contracts can keep up with minimum wage requirements, seeing as there are no gate receipts, season tickets, sponsor income down etc.