Tier 4 - Restrictions.

Following on from the announcement of funding support for semi-pro clubs in England today it has been announced that £750,000 of National Lottery funds is going to the 44 clubs in the Welsh Cymru League.

“The financial package – established by the FAW and The National Lottery and facilitated by the UK Government – will see clubs in the JD Cymru Premier, JD Cymru North and the JD Cymru South receive funding while matches continue to be played behind closed doors, owing to the current COVID-19 restrictions. “

“Nigel Railton, Chief Executive of National Lottery operator Camelot, said, “The National Lottery and its players have been making a massive difference to communities across the UK for the past 26 years, so we’re thrilled to be able to partner with the Football Association of Wales to provide vital funding for these incredibly important clubs in the Cymru Leagues. As a huge football fan myself, I know what this will mean to fans of these community clubs, and I’m sure they’ll be pleased to hear that their clubs are getting the support they need.” 

The partnership follows a similar National Lottery initiative between the FA and National League in England, which was facilitated by the UK government. Work continues on partnerships with the Scottish and Northern Ireland FAs. “

20 minutes ago, Dev said:

Following on from the announcement of funding support for semi-pro clubs in England today it has been announced that £750,000 of National Lottery funds is going to the 44 clubs in the Welsh Cymru League.

“The financial package – established by the FAW and The National Lottery and facilitated by the UK Government – will see clubs in the JD Cymru Premier, JD Cymru North and the JD Cymru South receive funding while matches continue to be played behind closed doors, owing to the current COVID-19 restrictions. “

“Nigel Railton, Chief Executive of National Lottery operator Camelot, said, “The National Lottery and its players have been making a massive difference to communities across the UK for the past 26 years, so we’re thrilled to be able to partner with the Football Association of Wales to provide vital funding for these incredibly important clubs in the Cymru Leagues. As a huge football fan myself, I know what this will mean to fans of these community clubs, and I’m sure they’ll be pleased to hear that their clubs are getting the support they need.” 

The partnership follows a similar National Lottery initiative between the FA and National League in England, which was facilitated by the UK government. Work continues on partnerships with the Scottish and Northern Ireland FAs. “

Looks like we will just have to be patient until a deal is done

26 minutes ago, Burmah Oil said:

Right decision for me and all AlanCamelonfan. No teams spoke up to say pause the league or stop it.

Teams gotten three weeks to pull out. Pull out you just go down you dont get punished. Feels fair league comittee had there plan ready and the rules how it works.

Personally I thought a pause would have been the right way to go without putting pressure on clubs to make a decision to withdraw.  A pause allows all clubs to remain where they are whilst a proper assessment of the situation is made.  There is plenty of room in the match calendar to allow this to happen.

However, if no clubs spoke up then they must all be happy (which I know some are not!)

Personally I thought a pause would have been the right way to go without putting pressure on clubs to make a decision to withdraw.  A pause allows all clubs to remain where they are whilst a proper assessment of the situation is made.  There is plenty of room in the match calendar to allow this to happen.
However, if no clubs spoke up then they must all be happy (which I know some are not!)
I agree with you on this.

On a personal level, I always felt starting was incorrect on many levels.

8/9 weeks into the season things haven't improved. Yet we continue gung ho trying to complete almost a full programme.

A pause until early January could have been beneficial on many levels on and off the field.

But hey ho the decision has been made and fingers crossed it's not one the EoS come to regret.

2 minutes ago, Auld Heid said:

I agree with you on this.

On a personal level, I always felt starting was incorrect on many levels.

8/9 weeks into the season things haven't improved. Yet we continue gung ho trying to complete almost a full programme.

A pause until early January could have been beneficial on many levels on and off the field.

But hey ho the decision has been made and fingers crossed it's not one the EoS come to regret.

Aye but you would still want your scottish money which will keep a lo of teams going

Clubs have until Friday 11th December to withdraw. Any club who withdraws will be relegated. Clubs who withdraw using this mechanism won't be sanctioned (e.g. no multiple demotions, financial penalty, or points deduction next season). If any club withdraw their results will be expunged.

There are some technical fixes on null & void/PPG threshold and not withdrawing just before an upcoming game.

So if club from Premier Division withdraw they drop into First Division/if club from First Division withdraw they drop into Second Division. No demotion to Second Division/or any theoretical division under it, respectively. Amount of relegation places reduce corresponding to any withdrawals; in an unlikely event more Premier Division clubs withdraw than are relegation places, additional clubs will be promoted from the First Division.

Clubs must withdraw immediately on intimating such i.e. cannot announce "we will withdraw in 3 weeks" and play literally pointless games.

35 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

Clubs have until Friday 11th December to withdraw. Any club who withdraws will be relegated. Clubs who withdraw using this mechanism won't be sanctioned (e.g. no multiple demotions, financial penalty, or points deduction next season). If any club withdraw their results will be expunged.

There are some technical fixes on null & void/PPG threshold and not withdrawing just before an upcoming game.

So if club from Premier Division withdraw they drop into First Division/if club from First Division withdraw they drop into Second Division. No demotion to Second Division/or any theoretical division under it, respectively. Amount of relegation places reduce corresponding to any withdrawals; in an unlikely event more Premier Division clubs withdraw than are relegation places, additional clubs will be promoted from the First Division.

Clubs must withdraw immediately on intimating such i.e. cannot announce "we will withdraw in 3 weeks" and play literally pointless games.

You must be up there HJ as one of the most knowledgeable posters on here! 

Don’t want to, or need to know who you are, but where do you get your info from? Within a club or within the League itself, or just a guy who people trust to give info to?  Obviously, no need to answer if you chose not to 👍

51 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

What if they withdraw after 12th?

I think it's a clever date as the scottish cup is on the 12th so u dont have someone taking advantage of cup money

4 hours ago, Burnieman said:

Completely agree with you on this - it puts real pressure on individual clubs who now have a very difficult decision to make. 

Pausing the season would have harmed NOBODY, but this was not a choice on offer.  The moral compass is swayed in favor of 'it would be wrong not to promote or relegate a club' .  that seems more important than preserving the season for everyone, instead of making an informed decision based on moral, financial and public health grounds.  There is no option other than a 'survival of the fittest' scenario being put forward by those in authority.  So, realistically, who is going to go against that?  

There are indeed penalties for withdrawing, and also a subtle suggestion that there may be sanctions against clubs who fail to meet changing room requirements (but not if a landlord decides not to make changing rooms available on behalf of a club).  

Bizarre thought process, with priorities skewed - so very disappointing.

That sounds really promising re monies from the government to keep teams afloat.

it should be pretty easy for them to check back the paye payments made by each club to give an idea of the wages that need subsidised. Then a flat energy/utility fee to each club. I wonder how they’ll do it.

26 minutes ago, Che Dail said:

Completely agree with you on this - it puts real pressure on individual clubs who now have a very difficult decision to make. 

Pausing the season would have harmed NOBODY, but this was not a choice on offer.  The moral compass is swayed in favor of 'it would be wrong not to promote or relegate a club' .  that seems more important than preserving the season for everyone, instead of making an informed decision based on moral, financial and public health grounds.  There is no option other than a 'survival of the fittest' scenario being put forward by those in authority.  So, realistically, who is going to go against that?  

There are indeed penalties for withdrawing, and also a subtle suggestion that there may be sanctions against clubs who fail to meet changing room requirements (but not if a landlord decides not to make changing rooms available on behalf of a club).  

Bizarre thought process, with priorities skewed - so very disappointing.

Pausing the season does harm those who have started the season well. They have invested in their being a season. So you are completely wrong.

1 hour ago, Casey Jones said:

You must be up there HJ as one of the most knowledgeable posters on here! 

Don’t want to, or need to know who you are, but where do you get your info from? Within a club or within the League itself, or just a guy who people trust to give info to?  Obviously, no need to answer if you chose not to 👍

Hes a walking EoSFL LL all things football  encyclopedia.

7 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

Pausing the season does harm those who have started the season well. They have invested in their being a season. So you are completely wrong.

Do you not get what pause means? 

The non leagues in England have paused for the lockdown?

Ffs Alan there would still be a season what part of that have I got wrong or are you not getting? 

Considering the amount of work committees are putting in to meet covid regulations, amend changing rooms and raise funds why would you look to pause the season? All that work and money will be wasted if we don't finish the season.

And Che Dail I am not aware of any potential sanctions for teams who aren't able to adapt their changing rooms.

33 minutes ago, grinderbrokeyourhearts said:

That sounds really promising re monies from the government to keep teams afloat.

it should be pretty easy for them to check back the paye payments made by each club to give an idea of the wages that need subsidised. Then a flat energy/utility fee to each club. I wonder how they’ll do it.

Clubs were asked to submit details of their outgoings and lost income to the league to help build the case for financial support. If any support is upcoming I would expect everyone in each tier to receive the same amount.

14 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Do you not get what pause means? 

The non leagues in England have paused for the lockdown?

Ffs Alan there would still be a season what part of that have I got wrong or are you not getting? 

It starts with a pause and then ppl cave in to a pause then its cancel the season