Tier 4 - Restrictions.

5 minutes ago, John S said:

Meanwhile. Any word on when the leagues will decide on the outcome of this year's competition?

There's meant to be a meeting tomorrow. Unless the SFA say the season is over for non-league teams, I imagine it will drag out a little while longer. There are ways to wrap up the season in some way still, so there won't be the rush to null & void.

2 hours ago, GordonS said:

Everything Alan writes is wrong and he doesn't change his views whenever he's corrected, so I think it's a waste of time trying. The only value in it is making sure nobody else is tempted by his opinions.

Reality - apart from London, the average Scot lives in a place about as densely populated as the average English person. And a far smaller proportion of people in Scotland have had Covid than in Wales and Northern Ireland too, so I wonder how the people who don't like the implications of the numbers try to explain that one away.

Getting back to something more relevant to the thread, in much of the EoS area cases are bloody high. There's a feeling going around that things are getting better, but that's premature and we've been here before. In West Lothian they've been rising and are only just below their highest point in this whole thing so far. The seven-day rolling average doubled between 11 and 18 of February. Cases here are far higher than when we stopped playing.

I don't think anyone can hope to be making any sort of predictions about where we'll be three weeks from now, never mind in April. There's nothing to be gained from looking too far ahead, we just need to stay focussed on the here-and-now, though it is useful (and fun) to think about how we might restart once we can do so.

GordonS F.W.I.W. I respect your concerns and your points of view but sometimes people see things differently. Sometimes you're right and sometimes the other poster(s) may be right. That's why we're here, partly, anyway.

.... but my point is one of concern that Scotland, Wales and NI shouldn't go gung-ho into independence only to find that they're looking for a replacement for England/UK. There wouldn't be a lot of point in that would there? Just consider the mess there would be right now if Scotland were inside the EU (for example) or subject to any other country or group of countries which could appear. The participation in the Covid vaccine project at Oxford would be down the proverbial pan. There would be very low % levels of vaccinations. Just how many people would have died as a consequence of that. How many more would be maimed for life by Long Covid? Please come up with stats for that as I am sure you could and then report to us here.

Next challenge. Listen to NS (who someone-else christened her Wee Nippy or similar). When she gave her speech at the SP yesterday I listened to it. She spoke really well and was on top of what she was saying. She even thought she could get away with an admission of failure last summer about people being allowed to travel to Scotland and/or returning to Scotland. There was momentary remorse for the cameras. Yet she doesn't or won't take on board the bleedin' obvious about travel. That is it is how journeys are done that is important. People travelling in a bubble won't affect anyone except themselves (possibly) while those stopping off and having contact with people outside their bubble can be a hazard. What would be wrong about driving 500 miles if your in a bubble? Answer: Nothing. (there must be a joke there somewhere?) . What is wrong with walking to the local shop, pub, school, etc if you're not in that bubble. Answer: Potentially passing on or contracting covid. Sadly, even if you keep to social distancing you can still get unlucky there.

The point about travel is some bleat about travel being a risk when it's how it is done that is the potential for concern. The SP/SFA agreed protocols for hosting football matches and for training. All enforcible. Now the unquantified rise of covid variants is used to block the return of football yet kids can go back to school and play outdoors! This comparative risk assessment is nothing about football. It's about kids having parents who are p....d off with being home with them and want them back at school. The same parents who have one or two votes in May.

..... so what happens next is a decision to send kids back to school with the much desired and needed approval for outdoor activities. It's a risk but, at least the SG has done the calculation. 

Then save for Hibs and their mates in the top professional league - who are, of course, different from, and the same as, all the other "professional" clubs in Scotland at the same time - what doesn't happen next? That is a controlled return of organised outdoor activities for adults (17 yrs plus). Yet ALL main sporting organisations in charge of outdoor activities register every participant. That's not just footballers and other team sport players, but all organisers, coaches, managers, committee folk, etc etc ad finitum. These are people who have bent over backwards so that they are fit to take part and to organise these activities. They are completely traceable. Yet they get treated like lepers in their own country. There is a complete lack of understanding in the SNP and their team of Advisers about organised outdoor activities and they hope that no-one will notice.

If NS and the SNP wanted to show that they were different they should have come up with some practical proposals which could have helped so many people but they took the "Let's be different but not radical and original" approach, with politics, rather than the good of Scotland, at the front of their thinking. (It's not just Scotland where this is going on).

Why couldn't they decide to get all school transmitters (kids) of covid vaccinated? Not just tested ! These kids have really suffered for the last year. They are terrified of catching covid and equally terrified of passing it on to anyone, let alone their family and friends, but this is not part of the understanding with the SNP, its' Advisers team and NS. The same applies to participants in organised outdoor activities - get them vaccinated at the same time. Take this risk and show  understanding rather than remote highly paid detachment in cosy SP.

SP show the evidence to support the approach to covid policy. Publish the advice from the Medical Advisers.

51 minutes ago, John S said:

Meanwhile. Any word on when the leagues will decide on the outcome of this year's competition?

As FWF said, there is a meeting tomorrow.

My gut feel is that L1 and L2 might get the go ahead at some point in March if they test, but beyond that - unless the SG's attitude has moved significantly - that it will be difficult for anyone else to start before May.

2 hours ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

I think you should change the first part to gordon.

Nonsense  to your 2and paragraph england is full of massive cities we have 3 real big cities Glasgow edinburgh and Aberdeen. England have london manchester Birmingham newcastle, liverpool all with great populations

It's not the absolute size of the cities that matters, but the density of population. I.e. how closely we're all crammed in together coughing and sneezing. As Gordon has said, Scotland and England are not much different.

47 minutes ago, Whitburn Vale said:

I get the concern over travelling on your own,say to go hillwalking,but for every person you allow to travel,you'll hav 20 minters,ripping the pish oot of it. 

Unfortunately this island is full of absolute clowns..........

And that's just the whitburn committee lol

22 hours ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

The people who defend her to the hilt like you are doing just make it worse for her. Time for snp to go. They wont but the problem is the rest of the parties in scotland are shite. Labour in scotland miles off it. Tories changing their leader again up here. If ruth had been staying theyd be ok. Willie rennie is.about as much use as nicola sturgeon at a tory conference. That is one of the main factors against independence is the politicians in the parliament are absolutely awful. 

I hate the snp but one of the few msps I do like is snp is my msp michael Matheson. Dont agree with his political belief but he doesnt seem to ram it down ur throat like most of them do.

If ruth had been staying theyd be ok.

You've got to laugh haven't you?

That is one of the main factors against independence is the politicians in the parliament are absolutely awful.

And the ones down south are brilliant I suppose?

If non contact sport is allowed for some and people are allowed to meet others for outdoor exercise from march 15 then that's a reasonable date for training to resume.

April 5 is when stay at home is lifted so that's a reasonable date for matches to begin. I'LL hang my hat there.

10 minutes ago, theboke said:

If non contact sport is allowed for some and people are allowed to meet others for outdoor exercise from march 15 then that's a reasonable date for training to resume.

April 5 is when stay at home is lifted so that's a reasonable date for matches to begin. I'LL hang my hat there.

I agree. 

Communal indoor worship is far more risky virus-wise than outdoor contact sport, yet it's allowed from 5th April. 

Also - if indoor retail, hospitality, etc are deemed safe from 26th April, then surely outdoor contact sport must be 3 weeks/one phase ahead of those more risky activities.

11 hours ago, rockson said:

If ruth had been staying theyd be ok.

You've got to laugh haven't you?

That is one of the main factors against independence is the politicians in the parliament are absolutely awful.

And the ones down south are brilliant I suppose?

They're all shite but most of the stronger politicians are sent to Westminster always have always will

GordonS F.W.I.W. I respect your concerns and your points of view but sometimes people see things differently. Sometimes you're right and sometimes the other poster(s) may be right. That's why we're here, partly, anyway.
.... but my point is one of concern that Scotland, Wales and NI shouldn't go gung-ho into independence only to find that they're looking for a replacement for England/UK. There wouldn't be a lot of point in that would there? Just consider the mess there would be right now if Scotland were inside the EU (for example) or subject to any other country or group of countries which could appear. The participation in the Covid vaccine project at Oxford would be down the proverbial pan. There would be very low % levels of vaccinations. Just how many people would have died as a consequence of that. How many more would be maimed for life by Long Covid? Please come up with stats for that as I am sure you could and then report to us here.
Next challenge. Listen to NS (who someone-else christened her Wee Nippy or similar). When she gave her speech at the SP yesterday I listened to it. She spoke really well and was on top of what she was saying. She even thought she could get away with an admission of failure last summer about people being allowed to travel to Scotland and/or returning to Scotland. There was momentary remorse for the cameras. Yet she doesn't or won't take on board the bleedin' obvious about travel. That is it is how journeys are done that is important. People travelling in a bubble won't affect anyone except themselves (possibly) while those stopping off and having contact with people outside their bubble can be a hazard. What would be wrong about driving 500 miles if your in a bubble? Answer: Nothing. (there must be a joke there somewhere?) . What is wrong with walking to the local shop, pub, school, etc if you're not in that bubble. Answer: Potentially passing on or contracting covid. Sadly, even if you keep to social distancing you can still get unlucky there.
The point about travel is some bleat about travel being a risk when it's how it is done that is the potential for concern. The SP/SFA agreed protocols for hosting football matches and for training. All enforcible. Now the unquantified rise of covid variants is used to block the return of football yet kids can go back to school and play outdoors! This comparative risk assessment is nothing about football. It's about kids having parents who are p....d off with being home with them and want them back at school. The same parents who have one or two votes in May.
..... so what happens next is a decision to send kids back to school with the much desired and needed approval for outdoor activities. It's a risk but, at least the SG has done the calculation. 
Then save for Hibs and their mates in the top professional league - who are, of course, different from, and the same as, all the other "professional" clubs in Scotland at the same time - what doesn't happen next? That is a controlled return of organised outdoor activities for adults (17 yrs plus). Yet ALL main sporting organisations in charge of outdoor activities register every participant. That's not just footballers and other team sport players, but all organisers, coaches, managers, committee folk, etc etc ad finitum. These are people who have bent over backwards so that they are fit to take part and to organise these activities. They are completely traceable. Yet they get treated like lepers in their own country. There is a complete lack of understanding in the SNP and their team of Advisers about organised outdoor activities and they hope that no-one will notice.
If NS and the SNP wanted to show that they were different they should have come up with some practical proposals which could have helped so many people but they took the "Let's be different but not radical and original" approach, with politics, rather than the good of Scotland, at the front of their thinking. (It's not just Scotland where this is going on).
Why couldn't they decide to get all school transmitters (kids) of covid vaccinated? Not just tested ! These kids have really suffered for the last year. They are terrified of catching covid and equally terrified of passing it on to anyone, let alone their family and friends, but this is not part of the understanding with the SNP, its' Advisers team and NS. The same applies to participants in organised outdoor activities - get them vaccinated at the same time. Take this risk and show  understanding rather than remote highly paid detachment in cosy SP.
SP show the evidence to support the approach to covid policy. Publish the advice from the Medical Advisers.
It's quite simple, follow the money and that gives the best indication on direction. (Budget next week)

SG can't afford not to follow if come April the furlough for example ends.

Support to business is already lower than the rest of the UK. So faced with mass redundancies - you may find the SG suddenly has more encouragement to follow suit.