Tier 4 - Restrictions.

There has been remarkably little impact on EoS clubs from Covid and, indeed, across semi-professional football in Scotland generally. So far, there is nothing to suggest any greater risk in continuing. Jason Leitch made it clear that although the new variant of the virus is more transmittable that is only if you don't follow the protocols. The measures that have kept you safe so far will continue to do so. Therefore, so long as you follow them, the risk is no greater now than it was before.
This is not as severe a lockdown as in March. Many things that were closed in March are open now. That is with the support of the Scottish Government. If the experts thought semi-professional football was an unreasonable risk they could tell the SFA to stop it. Of course they would have to shut down all the leagues in which semi-pro teams play - right up to the SPFL Championship. If the SPFL clubs can play then the EoS clubs can play. The risk is no higher at Tranent, Camelon or Rosyth than it is at Alloa, Cove or Brechin. 
If the clubs, as a whole, feel that they should suspend the league that would be disappointing to many but it is their right to do so. However, if the Scottish Government and the SFA are OK with football going ahead, and the EoS clubs decide to continue, they should not, in my view be criticised for it.

Lead to believe there is another team with players who have tested positive and self isolating.

Just because it's not common knowledge doesn't mean it's not happening.

Linlithgow had players self isolating early on this season. This was referenced by Brown Ferguson.

3 minutes ago, Auld Heid said:

Lead to believe there is another team with players who have tested positive and self isolating.

Just because it's not common knowledge doesn't mean it's not happening.

Linlithgow had players self isolating early on this season. This was referenced by Brown Ferguson.

Theirs a difference between isolating and testing positive. Isolate so you dont test positive 

33 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

This paragraph sums it all up. If it was mandatory at all levels then fair enough carry on as you were.

The virus is not under control.Therefore until such time whether it be end this month,next month or a few months surely any part time sport not just fitba has to be looked at. 

Ye canny even play golf in England now ffs. 

Screenshot_20210108-144817_Chrome.thumb.jpg.070a9e92bd428331c3d35f6f27c8aeb9.jpg

11 hours ago, junglehenry said:

I understand why some would want it called, and I am strongly against it. Mental well-being of hundreds if not thousands being affected due to negligence of our current Scottish Cabinet. Any stats on the deaths of people under the age of 45? Where's the flu gone?

People die every day of the big C, and various other illnesses. People are dying due to operations being put on hold because of the ''FEAR'' of covid.

I'm chuffed to be able to get out the house socialise and train, especially given my coaching of a local youth side is on hold due to this.

I'll give you a stat - of those under 60 who have died of Covid and had an underlying condition, 27% had diabetes. Nearly 4 million people in the UK have diabetes.

Here's another stat - if it weren't for the restriction, Covid was expected to kill half a million in the UK. As it is, excess mortality since March is 80,000.

Where's the flu gone? Are you serious with that question? Where do you think the flu has gone? It's not rocket science.

1 hour ago, Dunfermline Jag said:

There has been remarkably little impact on EoS clubs from Covid and, indeed, across semi-professional football in Scotland generally.

Considering how many positives there have been in full-time professional football in the UK, including current outbreaks at Villa, Derby and Shrewsbury, despite all the resources available to protect players and staff, it's likely naive to think that there have not been a greater rate of cases further down the leagues. The only difference will be that those higher up are getting tested regularly and those at our level are not. It's simply not possible that there are communities in our region with positive rates as high as 2,000 per 100,000 in the past week without those involved with semi-pro football clubs being involved.

Some may be concealing positive tests, some clubs may know about them and be keeping it to themselves and there will surely be more than a handful of asymptomatic cases.

Theirs a difference between isolating and testing positive. Isolate so you dont test positive 
Very perceptive of you stating the obvious.

What you fail to mention is that both having Covid and Self Isolating mean you aren't available for either work, training or matches.

5 hours ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

And do you think people are actually doing that.

Those are the regulations for the general public. On what credible basis should 40 adults or more travel and gather outdoors instead, for the purpose of a hobby?

I said to u the last time it ppl want to play let them play. Do I think we should be stopping for january. Yes. But I'm not sitting there everytime something happens shitting myself and expect everyone to be doing what i say.

Should be people be allowed to go to a nightclub right now if they want to do so? If not, why not?

Your a greenock Morton fan so have f**k to do with eosfl teams

It's an open forum champ so I've got as much right to demolish your unhinged, raving nonsense as anyone else. Thanks for playing anyway.

Part of the problem with teams like the ones in England. Is they think because they’re tested it does not affect them. 

semi pro - turn up - temp check - train - go home

training centres in big clubs come in, have a chat, breakfast, train, watch video of last game, train east lunch.

not saying we won’t have had cases in Scotland we don’t know about but if I took celtic and the pics in the press as an example. Is like ah we’re in a bubble so can sit and have a beer by pool, no you get tested and need to follow the procedures. (Not having a go at celtic either just is a good visual example of what will be happening in the big English clubs)

Edited by falkirktv

54 minutes ago, virginton said:

Those are the regulations for the general public. On what credible basis should 40 adults or more travel and gather outdoors instead, for the purpose of a hobby?

Should be people be allowed to go to a nightclub right now if they want to do so? If not, why not?

It's an open forum champ so I've got as much right to demolish your unhinged, raving nonsense as anyone else. Thanks for playing anyway.

1.Professional sport but again I said we should stop for january

2. Because that is indoors people not behaving responsibly 

3. It may be an open forum but it's supposed to be a football forum not the covid forum. All we are seeing in life is covid sometimes you need to get away from it. Football whether it's a game or talking about football on a forum. Not have someone rant because they are sitting in the house shitting themselves which is entirely upto them but uve made your point. Eosfl arent going to listen to someone from greenock or a couple of lithgae fans on a football forum.

If players and teams want to play. Let them play.

3. It may be an open forum but it's supposed to be a football forum not the covid forum. All we are seeing in life is covid sometimes you need to get away from it. Football whether it's a game or talking about football on a forum. Not have someone rant because they are sitting in the house shitting themselves which is entirely upto them but uve made your point. Eosfl arent going to listen to someone from greenock or a couple of lithgae fans on a football forum.
To say that football should be stopped does not mean that somebody is "shitting themselves" to leave the house.

4 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

You on the committee by any chance Alan?

Have you asked all the EoSFL players how they feel on the matter?

If you were a player at this or any above level  why would you want to play on a Saturday afternoon in front of naebody especially wi nae facilities when the whole country is being stopped from doing normal day to day things. 

Have the leagues contacted clubs to find out how the players actually are feeling about playing?

Maybes then you could state players and teams want to play instead of abusing folk who have a different opinion to yourself without knowing the full facts. 

34 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

Brickies and teachers turning out for an East of Scotland team is not 'professional sport' by any credible definition of the term.

The government also has strict restrictions on outdoor gatherings, so if one set of restrictions can be consigned to the bin on the nonsense grounds that people just want to do it then it all falls apart rather quickly.

There are literally dozens of other threads on this forum 'about the fitba'. Nobody is forcing you to comment on this one. 

I can only hope that the EoSFL aren't listening to deluded clowns like yourself as well, who just a few weeks ago was screaming about the injustice of the Falkirk area not getting crowds let inside the grounds. Which has aged well.

Edited by vikingTON

19 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

You on the committee by any chance Alan?

Have you asked all the EoSFL players how they feel on the matter?

If you were a player at this or any above level  why would you want to play on a Saturday afternoon in front of naebody especially wi nae facilities when the whole country is being stopped from doing normal day to day things. 

Have the leagues contacted clubs to find out how the players actually are feeling about playing?

Maybes then you could state players and teams want to play instead of abusing folk who have a different opinion to yourself without knowing the full facts. 

If they didnt want to play they could stop playing. Noone is holding a gun to their head. This isnt an independent scotland

9 minutes ago, virginton said:

Brickies and teachers turning out for an East of Scotland team is not 'professional sport' by any credible definition of the term.

The government also has strict restrictions on outdoor gatherings, so if one set of restrictions can be consigned to the bin on the nonsense grounds that people just want to do it then it all falls apart rather quickly.

There are literally dozens of other threads on this forum 'about the fitba'. Nobody is forcing you to comment on this one. 

I can only hope that the EoSFL aren't listening to deluded clowns like yourself as well, who just a few weeks ago was screaming about the injustice of the Falkirk area not getting crowds let inside the grounds. Which has aged well.

Well if they asked me they should stop so glad u agree with me so you would be a clown aswell then. 

11 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

If they didnt want to play they could stop playing. Noone is holding a gun to their head. This isnt an independent scotland

You haven't answered any of my points 🤷‍♂️

Ok then on your scenario you have a playing squad of 17 players no guns at anybody's heed 7 maybes want to play 10 dont so you're happy for a team to put 7 players on the park. Look at the FA Cup ties this weekend players are dropping like flies  and its becoming farcical. These are at far higher levels than the EOS 🤷‍♂️

4 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

You haven't answered any of my points 🤷‍♂️

Ok then on your scenario you have a playing squad of 17 players no guns at anybody's heed 7 maybes want to play 10 dont so you're happy for a team to put 7 players on the park. Look at the FA Cup ties this weekend players are dropping like flies  and its becoming farcical. These are at far higher levels than the EOS 🤷‍♂️

I answered that yesterday why the likelihood of premier league teams catching it.

Again I stated I believe it should be stopped for January. Your making an argument out of nothing here. 

My point is about people who it has nothing to do with like virginton jumping in. They ve made their point yet continue to unnecessarily ramble on

29 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

I answered that yesterday why the likelihood of premier league teams catching it.

Again I stated I believe it should be stopped for January. Your making an argument out of nothing here. 

My point is about people who it has nothing to do with like virginton jumping in. They ve made their point yet continue to unnecessarily ramble on

I'm not making any argument has the EoSFL been in touch to ask clubs if they want to carry on ?

You seem assured clubs do. 

If they have then there is no real debate here. 

The thread is "tier 4 restrictions" and how it affects "elite" professional football.If I had called my club that before this pandemic kicked off I would have been called all the "Arrogant Talbot Bast__ds"under the sun.

I do thou agree with Alan and Noone that the time has come for a wee break from the fitba.

If only Annie Lennox could save the world.

Just to note-the exception is for professional sport, not elite sport,  there’s quite a lot of sports where athletes previously competing to be British number 1 can’t train or compete. If you are not on Olympic pathway your not exempt.   If you applied an equivalent standard to professional sport virtually nobody would be playing.

Edited by parsforlife