Tier 4 - Restrictions.

1 hour ago, Auld Heid said:

Pish.

Nobody was forecasting we would be regressing to a virtual lockdown situation.

Most clubs were looking towards some sort of return of supporters and that's not happened.

Of course they were! Have you been living in a vacuum these past 8 months! They did say there would be a 2nd wave of the pandemic and with normal winter viruses and flu, COVID would be worse in winter! 

Do any brain cells exist in your wee heid?

11 hours ago, Andy groundhopper said:

If the professional game continues, as it should do, clubs should have a fair idea if they can carry on financially - without fans, until the end of the season. All clubs at this 'pro' level should be getting tested regularly, with those above, picking up the costs if possible. Interesting times ahead 

That's the thing - there's no testing going on at this level at all. It's fantasy to think, as some seem to, that there have been all these cases in the community but football players, managers, coaches and committees are all somehow immune.

There is undoubtedly a conversation to be had at the next meeting to review the season so far, and what it looks like going forward.  

I think most clubs were prepared to give the season a chance with the hope that dressing room access and fans would be allowed by the end of the year. If no fans, then at least some prospect of Govt support.  It was the right thing to do IMO.

We've made progress on the first point ie dressing room access (but still no showers), on the second point of fans it has been clarified that unless your area is Level 0 or 1 there wont be any however some areas are at Level 3 with some having moved to Level 4 for at least three weeks. On Govt monetary support, clubs have heard very little.

There wont be fans this year.  Will there be Govt support? it doesn't seem like it, certainly not imminently.

It does seem wrong somehow that clubs at our level can travel here, there and everywhere, from Level 2 to Level 4 areas whilst people are being asked to largely stay at home and not travel in Level 3 and 4 areas.

Some big decisions to be made.

Excellent post by Burnieman!

We all want football back but there comes a point where you have to look at it and say is it really worth it?

Clubs could end up in serious trouble through continuing to play and fast forward to the end of season and if ur Clubs been relegated playing through crisis, there will be a few unhappy campers!!

36 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

There is undoubtedly a conversation to be had at the next meeting to review the season so far, and what it looks like going forward.  

I think most clubs were prepared to give the season a chance with the hope that dressing room access and fans would be allowed by the end of the year. If no fans, then at least some prospect of Govt support.  It was the right thing to do IMO.

We've made progress on the first point ie dressing room access (but still no showers), on the second point of fans it has been clarified that unless your area is Level 0 or 1 there wont be any however some areas are at Level 3 with some having moved to Level 4 for at least three weeks. On Govt monetary support, clubs have heard very little.

There wont be fans this year.  Will there be Govt support? it doesn't seem like it, certainly not imminently.

It does seem wrong somehow that clubs at our level can travel here, there and everywhere, from Level 2 to Level 4 areas whilst people are being asked to largely stay at home and not travel in Level 3 and 4 areas.

Some big decisions to be made.

Season should never have been allowed to started without full use of the changing rooms including showers ….and more importantly fans.  Even the clubs with the lowest fanbase get enough through the gate to pay the ref most weeks.  But  football matches must be played eh - doesn't matter about the financial implications or the safety of players moving from Covid hotspots to lower transmission areas - cos footballers, coaches and committee's are all immune cos they are "elite" sport...Gies a break

1 minute ago, kleptomaniac said:

Season should never have been allowed to started without full use of the changing rooms including showers ….and more importantly fans.  Even the clubs with the lowest fanbase get enough through the gate to pay the ref most weeks.  But  football matches must be played eh - doesn't matter about the financial implications or the safety of players moving from Covid hotspots to lower transmission areas - cos footballers, coaches and committee's are all immune cos they are "elite" sport...Gies a break

WoSFL leadership has been a disaster from day one.

57 minutes ago, Tutankhamen said:

WoSFL leadership has been a disaster from day one.

In what way?  If you mean the decision to allow clubs to withdraw from the league without penalty then this, to me,  is showing leadership.  Listen to members, hear their financial and public health concerns, and act in the best interests of the League (and the country) collectively and individually.

That's what leaders are appointed to do on a board - to make the big decisions.  Not palming off responsibility onto a vote and going along with the smallest majority, to the detriment of  half of the membership, potentially forcing clubs to the wall.

11 minutes ago, Che Dail said:

In what way?  If you mean the decision to allow clubs to withdraw from the league without penalty then this, to me,  is showing leadership.  Listen to members, hear their financial and public health concerns, and act in the best interests of the League (and the country) collectively and individually.

That's what leaders are appointed to do on a board - to make the big decisions.  Not palming off responsibility onto a vote and going along with the smallest majority, to the detriment of  half of the membership, potentially forcing clubs to the wall.

Your arse it shows they are protecting the elite with their junior mentality. If the giants like talbot wanted to play but lugar and new mains were desperate to withdraw yous wouldnt be bothering your arse. Wosfl is a farce and the lot of them should have been left in the juniors outwith the pyramid except those who wanted to come.

1 hour ago, Redondo said:

Excellent post by Burnieman!

We all want football back but there comes a point where you have to look at it and say is it really worth it?

Clubs could end up in serious trouble through continuing to play and fast forward to the end of season and if ur Clubs been relegated playing through crisis, there will be a few unhappy campers!!

My own personal opinion was that starting the season was absolutely the right thing to do, give it a chance and see how the Covid landscape looked 6-8 weeks down the line.

Well we're at that point, from my perspective it looks fairly bleak and perhaps a suspension whilst many areas remain at Level 3 and 4 would be sensible.

6 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

My own personal opinion was that starting the season was absolutely the right thing to do, give it a chance and see how the Covid landscape looked 6-8 weeks down the line.

Well we're at that point, from my perspective it looks fairly bleak and perhaps a suspension whilst many areas remain at Level 3 and 4 would be sensible.

But that's because you are in a tier 4 area. 15 of the 18 premier clubs arent. I just think cancelling the season because of a minority is just wrong. The country needs to move forward not back.

1 hour ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

But that's because you are in a tier 4 area. 15 of the 18 premier clubs arent. I just think cancelling the season because of a minority is just wrong. The country needs to move forward not back.

I didn't say cancel the season, I said suspend it whilst areas of the EoS are in Level 3 and 4.

Is it wrong that committee and players from a Level 3 and 4 area are allowed to travel into a Level 2 area despite restrictions on everyone else? Neither is there any prospect of fans or Govt help.  I'd love the game to continue, but it needs to be viewed objectively and responsibly.

Edited by Burnieman

22 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

Your arse it shows they are protecting the elite with their junior mentality. If the giants like talbot wanted to play but lugar and new mains were desperate to withdraw yous wouldnt be bothering your arse. Wosfl is a farce and the lot of them should have been left in the juniors outwith the pyramid except those who wanted to come.

No, they are protecting the clubs and the league organization - basically saying, "If you're daft enough to run your business giving away the product for free, and put your members at risk of contracting and / or spreading a deadly virus, knock yerself out, we certainly won't be held responsible for killing your club or your members". 

Same with the South of Scotland League and the SJFA, to an extent.

43 minutes ago, Che Dail said:

The WoSFL in acting how they did saw a couple of clubs withdraw since the lack of promotion & relegation made their season at Conference level meaningless. Then there were a few clubs that said they didn't agree with the decision but would play with one saying they were starting under protest. For the sake of 20 clubs 47 others were disadvantaged.

The same would have been true in the EoSFL if 18 had been allowed to withdraw without worrying relegation as it would deny 31 other clubs promotion opportunities.

Both to me should have said Conferences again at Tier 7 in 2021-22 so that Premier Division teams withdrawing only drop one level. Especially as both Premier Divisions were already artificially inflated by the compromise earlier this year.

So far the only league body that I think have got most things right in the pyramid were the Highland League who cut their league season to a single round robin to allow for greater flexibility in scheduling and minimise matchday costs if they had to start BCD.

7 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

The WoSFL in acting how they did saw a couple of clubs withdraw since the lack of promotion & relegation made their season at Conference level meaningless. Then there were a few clubs that said they didn't agree with the decision but would play with one saying they were starting under protest. For the sake of 20 clubs 47 others were disadvantaged.

The same would have been true in the EoSFL if 18 had been allowed to withdraw without worrying relegation as it would deny 31 other clubs promotion opportunities.

Both to me should have said Conferences again at Tier 7 in 2021-22 so that Premier Division teams withdrawing only drop one level. Especially as both Premier Divisions were already artificially inflated by the compromise earlier this year.

So far the only league body that I think have got most things right in the pyramid were the Highland League who cut their league season to a single round robin to allow for greater flexibility in scheduling and minimise matchday costs if they had to start BCD.

They quite simply should not have started back when they did.  What harm would it have done by waiting until the New Year? 

But no, all giddy with excitement at playing football as if life depends on it, but with no income, no supporters, no changing rooms and putting people at risk.  Totally senseless and reckless. 

2 minutes ago, Che Dail said:

They quite simply should not have started back when they did.  What harm would it have done by waiting until the New Year? 

But no, all giddy with excitement at playing football as if life depends on it, but with no income, no supporters, no changing rooms and putting people at risk.  Totally senseless and reckless. 

Maybe for you in the west. It's not the same through here. I actually stopped reading wosfl forum because of clowns like you. They are no more putting people at risk than  u going to the shops so f**k off back to ur wee covid hut and let the rest of us get on with it

1 minute ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

Maybe for you in the west. It's not the same through here. I actually stopped reading wosfl forum because of clowns like you. They are no more putting people at risk than  u going to the shops so f**k off back to ur wee covid hut and let the rest of us get on with it

Are you Donald Trump?